We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bull & Bones Brewhaus & Grill

Bull & Bones Brewhaus & Grill
1470 S Main St, Suite 120, Blacksburg, VA 24060-5571
540-953-2855
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 111 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brew Pub, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bull & Bones is a brewpub with both an upscale dining room and a separate sports bar with a casual dining area. We have a wood-fired grill, on-site smoker, an ice rail integrated into our granite bar, 20 HDTV's, and 7 championship pool tables!
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Skip it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I've had better food at an Applebee's - the beer selection is ok, but honestly you're not getting much more than decent beer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    91
    44
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try the BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I had the BBQ ribs for dinner. They were tasty and the portions were generous, a little too much for me. I also tried one of the beers brewed on the premise. It was OK, but I don't think I would try it again. There is plenty of seating, which is nice given the events on the nearby VT campus.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutville, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Way good wings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for lunch yesterday, really loved the wings. We ordered the hot, might even go "hotter" next time, and there will be a next time! Had to drive an hour, but was really worth it. Beers good too!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg
1 review
“Poor service, overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Have tried this restaurant a number of times and have been amazed at how poorly we were treated. Some of the food is good but the staff is terrible. I really can't believe how consistently bad this place is.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dugspur, Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good brew, food and service too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were looking for a light meal before an evening lecture at Tech. Already shopping next door so this was a good choice.
Enjoyed a tasty ahi wrap with home made fries. Complimentary rolls provided. The ahi was delicious and the wasabi sauce very tasty.
My partner enjoyed a tasty brewhaus chili and Caesar salad. Both well prepared and served promptly.
Enjoyed fine maroon effect ale with the meals. The award winning ale lived up to expectations.
Overall a fine meal. Service was courteous and prompt allowing us to enjoy our meals and meet our schedule.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bull & Bones Brewhaus & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bull & Bones Brewhaus & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bull & Bones Brewhaus & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.