We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, overpriced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bull & Bones Brewhaus & Grill

Bull & Bones Brewhaus & Grill
1470 S Main St, Suite 120, Blacksburg, VA 24060-5571
540-953-2855
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 106 restaurants in Blacksburg
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Hamburgers, Steakhouse, Brew Pub, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bull & Bones is a brewpub with both an upscale dining room and a separate sports bar with a casual dining area. We have a wood-fired grill, on-site smoker, an ice rail integrated into our granite bar, 20 HDTV's, and 7 championship pool tables!
Blacksburg
1 review
“Poor service, overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Have tried this restaurant a number of times and have been amazed at how poorly we were treated. Some of the food is good but the staff is terrible. I really can't believe how consistently bad this place is.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    51
    72
    36
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dugspur, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good brew, food and service too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were looking for a light meal before an evening lecture at Tech. Already shopping next door so this was a good choice.
Enjoyed a tasty ahi wrap with home made fries. Complimentary rolls provided. The ahi was delicious and the wasabi sauce very tasty.
My partner enjoyed a tasty brewhaus chili and Caesar salad. Both well prepared and served promptly.
Enjoyed fine maroon effect ale with the meals. The award winning ale lived up to expectations.
Overall a fine meal. Service was courteous and prompt allowing us to enjoy our meals and meet our schedule.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible , terrible service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I go out every Wednesday for dinner. There are not a lot of places for non students in this college town so we have gravitated to this bar/restaurant. We do like the salmon....matter of fact it is probably the best in Blacksburg. We have a joke between us that we must be invisible. The servers look over us and we have to beg to get a waiter. Really? Waited an additional 30 minutes just to have the bartender take our money. Thought it was just us, but we talked to another of the very few people at the bar and discovered they feel the same. The only reason this establishment is still in business is the lack of options. If you have extra time, aren't very hungry, like to spend $35 for salmon and 1/2 bottle wine than this is a he place for you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Visited this restaurant on a recommendation from a family member who frequents every time she visits Blacksburg. The food was excellent... It only took about an hour for us to receive it. Somehow the kitchen "lost our ticket" and our food was never made. Not sure where to pinpoint blame - the restaurant was busy, but not overcrowded. I would definitely give it another try.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“If I could give it a zero I would”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Based on our experience I cannot understand how this restaurant had a wait on a Thursday night, unless it is that there are simply no other options in Blacksburg. Service was inattentive and indifferent and the servers were clearly not trained. There was no evidence of adult supervision (i.e. management) present. The best thing about the food was the complimentary rolls. It went downhill quickly from there. The ribs were tough and overcooked and what little smoky flavor they had was overshadowed by the sauce that was piled on. The burger was overcooked and had the consistency of a hockey puck. The brisket was also dry, overdone and flavorless.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bull & Bones Brewhaus & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bull & Bones Brewhaus & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bull & Bones Brewhaus & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.