We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a year ago!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Our Daily Bread

Our Daily Bread
1329 South Main Street, Blacksburg, VA 24060
540.953.2815
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 106 restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: American, French, Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better than a year ago!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I really like the remodeling they did - there seems to be more seating and it is a much more appealing atmosphere. There are many choices for lunch, which I like, but I do not like it that they have to warm their quiche in a microwave - the wonderful crust ends up soggy and tasteless - but I'm not sure how you do it otherwise. The choices are amazing in the dessert/pastry cases, but I wish there was a way to know how long things have been in the case. Sometimes I get things that seem less fresh tasting than I think they should be - I have not seen any policy posted with a 'commitment to freshness' or how long things are displayed for sale before they are discounted, etc. Overall, the place seems busy all the time and they have a loyal following for sure. It is off the beaten path from downtown, so it is not frequented by younger students, it seems.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    46
    25
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner now.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our daily bread not only has good brunches and lunches, but they have awesome dinners now. Their food is lovely French cuisine and their menu options are creative and delicious (though a bit on the expensive side). Service is good and the atmosphere is lively. Try brunch on the weekends. They usually have live music and their Eggs Benedict is wonderful!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing artisans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We ordered our wedding cake from Our Daily Bread, and it was divine! We chose a different flavor for each layer, and even had our own custom design pattern on the exterior of the cake. Very much worth the price!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding PIE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My daughter recently ordered a key lime pie from ODB for my birthday. I have to say that it was the best I have ever eaten. The filling was tart as it should be and the sweet, buttery graham cracker crust was a great compliment. The pie was topped with a beautiful meringue that was not only decorative but browned to perfection. I would recommend this bakery for all your future PIE needs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I can never go home without taking 3 loaves of their Cinnamon Apple bread to family. Food is excellent to and reasonable.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Daily Bread also viewed

 

Been to Our Daily Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Our Daily Bread, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.