We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Our Daily Bread

Our Daily Bread
1329 South Main Street, Blacksburg, VA 24060
540.953.2815
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #4 of 103 restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went there for breakfast while in Blacksburg for a wedding and thought, in comparison to where we live, breakfast was a great price. I'm pretty picky about my bagels, and I thought theirs were pretty dry and hard, but the eggs, tomato, cheese, and bacon on the sandwich were good, and we thought $5.50 was cheap for all of that. Cute decor with chandeliers made of wine glasses and bottles. Strip mall location includes a bakery, but we didn't look at it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    39
    19
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, VA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The food is OK, but overpriced for what you get. I've eaten there a few times lately and I am not impressed. The bottom of the bread was also black and it was dry. I think the soups and desserts are best, but there are definitely other better places around.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great pies, cookies, fruit danish, breads. Also sandwiches are very good. Service staff was friendly. Also salads looked great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast AND lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stopped here for breakfast (and then for lunch) on our last day visiting VA Tech.
Fascinating décor (lovely chandelliers: two made with goblets and one with wine bottles). The food displays make you feel hungry right away. The system for ordering food was a bit confusing at 1st (breakfast different from lunch) but still bearable. We LOVED the food!

Breakfast: Our family of 5 ordered a variety of items, and everything came out quickly and as we ordered it. Lovely homemade jam, and everything else was delicious.

Lunch: we came around 2 pm, since breakfast was very fulfilling and kept us going for a long time. We ordered a variety of items, and everything was scrumptious. We had some dessert, and even bought pastries to take home with us. They were soooo good!

Only so-so comment about the place: it was a warm July day, and the inside of the restaurant was warmer than outside. I do not know if they have AC, but the ceiling fans could not keep up. We had breakfast inside and it was ok, but at 2pm, we had lunch outside, and it was much more comfortable.

This was as close as it can get to French bistro, and we loved that we found it here. We'll be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pounding Mill, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“been buying scones here since the 1980's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

when i'm in blacksburg, i always go by here and get a bag of scones - sometimes eat a salad while i'm there.

I remember when this place was SMALL and downtown - it was along the way on my walk from home to campus. I'm still coming back for the scones, but currently their wait staff is not a bit friendly, impatient - act like they are doing you a big favor or something - get a grip on yourselves people!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Daily Bread also viewed

 

Been to Our Daily Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Our Daily Bread, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.