We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sal's Italian Restaurant and Pizzeria

Sal's Italian Restaurant and Pizzeria
1440 S. Main Street, First and Main Center, Blacksburg, VA 24060
+1 540-953-4040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 109 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Food fit for a king, with an atmosphere and service to match!Our continuing legacy of family restaurants. Located in the beautiful First and Main shopping center. With exceptional food and superior service we welcome the opportunity to serve you.Our menu is no exception either. We offer the same traditional favorites that you have come to love. Our pizzas, calzones, and subs are a staple here in Blacksburg where you will also find newly added specials of fresh seafood, Mussels Luciano, and hand made raviolis. Our in-house chef can also accommodate even the pickiest eaters. We have something for everyone! Sal’s in Blacksburg is kid-friendly and our menu is loaded with kid’s favorites. We also offer our no-hassle catering service and a huge take-out menu. When it comes to dining Italian style we have it covered. Nothing compares to a Sal’s experience and we look forward to creating a special experience just for you!!
virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were visiting Blacksburg and ate at Sal's. The food was excellent and we didn't have any trouble with our orders. The waiting was not long. The service was pretty good, and the restaurant is very nice. The amount of food was very good. I would definitely go back and eat there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    61
    24
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This place has the BEST tomato sauce and bread! All of their food is great actually! & the service is MUCH better than most places in Blacksburg!

It's a little pricier than other places around, but well worth it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic First Meal in Blacksburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Visiting Blacksburg as a college team. Came in the night before and Sal's had us set up outside on the patio, with food prepped and ready to go. Food was delicious and service was first class. Couldn't have made a better first impression. So good that we are having second meal following game from Sal's and sharing with friends and family. Highly recommend Sal's when visiting Blacksburg.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My experience at Sals wasn't even with the restaurant itself but when I encountered the owner at an event. He was really unpleasant and it definitely set me up to not enjoy his restaurant.

The place itself is nice but the food isn't that great (especially with all of the great places in Bburg). Coming from the north, where Italian food is everything, this restaurant did not live up to any traditions or standards.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“First Rate, From Start to Finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Sal's offers flexibility with a smile. Servers were quick to greet, accommodating and efficient. The menu is extensive and included a "build your own pasta dish". Guests have the option of selecting sauces, noodle types, meats, and vegetables. The kitchen even topped our selection with mozzarella and baked it per our request.

With reasonable prices and large portions, it's easy to see why Sal's receives such high praise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Italian Restaurant and Pizzeria also viewed

 
Blacksburg, VA
 

Been to Sal's Italian Restaurant and Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sal's Italian Restaurant and Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.