We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ADEQUATE” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Blacksburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Days Inn Blacksburg to your Saves list
Days Inn Blacksburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3503 Holiday Lane, Blacksburg, VA 24060 (Formerly Ramada Limited)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“ADEQUATE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Not awful, but not great. Old decor. Sufficiently clean. Could really use some updating. Stayed here so we could attend Virginia Tech game. 2 night minimum. Didn't really have much more to choose from as most hotels were either booked or much more expensive. Not sure I'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We appreciate guest feedback and though it is difficult to hear that we are just "adequate" we value feedback so that we can improve our product and services for future guests. We do have some improvements planned during early 2014 and hope that you will consider revisiting us during the fall 2014 VT game season. We are confident you will enjoy future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    43
    67
    32
    27
See reviews for
114
22
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband is an alumni of Tech and we decided a few months ago to attend this past weekend's game (10/5). Unfortunately, all the nicer places were taken, so this is what we were left with. I was very apprehensive considering the reviews, especially since our children were traveling with us. I am happy to report that we did not encounter any bedbugs during our visit, but the carpeting was beyond filthy and stained.I don't think I actually saw any areas that were not visibily discolored. We were forced to wear our shoes in the room at all times. The bathroom floors looked like they had recently been retiled, but the shower curtain had mold growing on the back of it (yuck). We asked for extra towels (there were two towels provided for 4 total guests) and when they arrived they reeked of smoke. The breakfast is a cardiologist's nightmare...nothing healthy offered, not even a piece of fruit.

This is never the level of hotel we would stay at and I would have been fine for it to have been old, but a visably dirty room is just beyond unacceptable for $129/night in a rural area.

Stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We would like to apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. We have high standards for the cleanliness and maintenance of our rooms. Unfortunately, we seem to have really missed the mark with your stay with us. We have shared your feedback with our housekeeping staff. Our staff and management take all guest feedback very seriously and we will be reviewing our room inspection procedures to ensure that future guests to not encounter these type of concerns. We strive to ensure that our complimentary breakfast consistently meets both franchise standards and internal hotel standards in its offerings, at all times, for all guests. Most of our guests are pleased with the breakfast as noted in other reviews - we do apologize that the offerings during your stay failed to meet the standards we strive for. Thank you again for your honest feedback - it enables us to improve the experience for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I am an alumni of Virginia Tech and spent 4 years in Blacksburg, VA. The Days Inn has always been there and everyone knows where it is at. 2 weekends ago I went back to Blacksburg for a Virginia Tech home game and had a great experience. We were treated so well at the hotel and were even upgraded to the suite! The suite was absolutely amazing and huge and had a Sauna in it! The staff was very friendly and handled any concerns or requests we had at any time during our stay. The hotel has be upgraded since the last time I was there a couple years ago and looks great! It has VT décor which is always a great thing to see. The General Manager and front desk staff were wonderful and gracious and did their best to make our stay the best! We have a couple more weekends planned to stay at the Days Inn this football season and I highly recommend this hotel for you experiences at Blacksburg/Virginia Tech :)

Sincerely,
Amber

Room Tip: The suite is hands down the best room there! The others rooms are very spacious and very comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful and extensive review of your experience at our Days Inn Blacksburg. It is especially gratifying to know that we have taken such good care of a VT alumni - we appreciate your multiple stays and returning now as a graduate to the VT home games. We really appreciated your kind words with regards to our staff - friendly, wonderful and gracious - how much better can that get? We are very proud of our staff and happy to hear that they took such good care of you! Thank you also for noticing the VT decor - we love supporting VT and are actually owned by VT alumni. We look forward to your returning for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruckersville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Property was average for an establishment of this age but the room was just plain NASTY. I cant think of a time that I have stayed in another room that was this bad. I dont believe there was a spot on the carpet that wasnt stained. The table was falling apart and loose. The two side chairs were as stained as the carpets and GROSS. Dont ever have to worry about me staying in this hotel again even though the next four years will be back in forth to the area with my daughter in college

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We would like to apologize that your guest room did not meet your expectations (or our standards) for cleanliness. We have high standards for cleanliness and preventative maintenance of our guest rooms and the public areas of the hotel. Unfortunately, we seemed to have really missed the mark with your stay with us. Upon receiving your review, we met with our Executive Housekeeper and our Housekeeping and Maintenance teams to review your comments. Our staff and management take all guest feedback very seriously and we will be reviewing our room inspection procedures to ensure that future guests do not encounter these types of concerns.

Again, we truly appreciate your honest and detailed feedback. It is through this process that we are better able to serve our future guests. We sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again on one of your future trips to Blacksburg. We would love the opportunity to earn back your trust in our hotel as a lodging option in Blacksburg that provides a clean, well maintained room along with great Southern hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I reserved three rooms for my boss and two other employees. My boss sent me pictures of mold in the bathroom and white powder all over the carpet and luggage holder. She didn't complain to the management or request another room because she didn't want to leave her room due to the fact that there were several men outside her room being rowdy and drinking. I booked her a room in another hotel for the next night.

The next day she had several bed bug bites. They are disgusting.

I am going to contact the management and let them know about the bed bugs and about a refund.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband, grown daughters and I spent a weekend going back to my older daughter's Alma Mater and attending a VT game. We were offered tickets last minute, and the Days Inn was the only Blacksburg hotel still available. While I was encouraged by reviews from Virginia Tech parents, I was a little concerned because of the previous comments from others, but we were delightfully surprised! The rooms were clean and up to date and we had a wonderful time. It's not the Ritz, but it's not supposed to be.

Upon check out, I had a lovely time talking to Justin at the desk who was very friendly and personable and took the time to make sure we had a good stay. We will return here without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Guest feedback is invaluable to the continued success of our hotel and we appreciate your taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Days Inn Blacksburg. Thank you for complimenting our staff member Justin - he certainly does enjoy interacting with and taking care of our guests! Your comment that you would return for another stay without hesitation is the ultimate goal of our hotel. Thank you for your stay and we hope you do return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Blacksburg

Address: 3503 Holiday Lane, Blacksburg, VA 24060 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Blacksburg 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Days Inn Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.