We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Main Street Inn to your Saves list
Main Street Inn
205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

You cannot beat this location for going downtown to all the bars and restaurants. The room I got was a nice suite with a living room (with a couch, a few chairs, a flat screen TV) and a bedroom with a comfortable queen bed an a flat screen TV. The furnishings were pretty nice. The only thing I noticed was some scuff marks on the walls from suitcases rolling around.

There is no breakfast here, but they have nice coffee in the lobby and granola bars in the morning, as well as biscotti.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    37
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
42
33
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

This was my first stay at the Main Street Inn. I was with my teenage daughter who was visiting Virginia Tech. The Inn is centrally located in the main part of town where restaurants are within walking distance. The staff at the front desk were great, and lobby had a nice feel to it. The room was nice with a very comfortable bed. The only downside was that the walls were pretty thin. I had to ask the neighboring room to turn down their TV as we could hear the conversation from the program they were watching, and it made sleeping more difficult.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We love small and family own business.The hotel is run by people which make sure your stay is very pleasant.It was an excellent experience and I would stay there every single time when we are around this area!
Thanks so much!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Great place to stay. Close to all the good things in downtown Blacksburg. Convenient for Virginia Tech too. Suite was very nice with lots of room and a real relaxing atmosphere. Definietly a place to stay in Blacksburg.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

What a great experience. This a beautiful property, right in downtown. Convenient to most anything campus related. Ample easy parking. Comfortable lobby. The desk clerk (and all the employees I encountered) was cordial, helpful and professional.

I was given a third floor room. The corridors look crisp and clean..in fact everything looks brand new and in great repair. Room was attractively decorated (sunflower walls!) and divided into a living room area (with wall mounted flat screen TV, sofas and wet bar) and the bedroom area (another flat screen). The are connected by a hallway of which you find the bathroom. Plenty spacious for one or two people. Might be cramped for a family.

Wifi was free and snappy. Plenty of crystal clear TV channels. Shower was hot and there was a laptop accommodating safe. Bedding was comfortable and the towels were better than average.

There is a Starbucks across the street, but there is one of those single serve pod coffee makers for guest use in the lobby, so you may not need the 'Bucks.

Have read here about "thin walls"...did not experience this on my visit.

A couple of tiny maintenance quibbles (sliding shower door kept "sliding" open, light out above bar area), but nothing to keep me from rating this as an outstanding place to stay. I rarely give "5's" in all categories...but here it is well earned.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2010
Thank you for your kind words about Main Street Inn. It's guests like you that make the hospitality industry a fun and rewarding business to be in. The entire staff looks forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Arrangements were made for me to stay at Main Street Inn through the VA Tech Department where I would be meeting with and speaking to students and faculty. My trip to Blacksburg was very special since I had not returned to the town since I graduated 35 years ago! It was as charming as ever!
The Inn location was ideal, ample parking although all destinations I needed were within walking distance. The lobby was very impressive with comfortable seating, newspapers, CNN on television (I was told I could change channel or volume as I wished). Coffee, teas and fruit available 24 hrs. The front desk staff was professional, pleasant, friendly and helpful at both pm and am shifts, and I followed through on a fabulous dinner meal at one of recommended restaurants.
My room was a suite although I was a solo traveler, plenty of room to relax. Great amenities in the room, plenty of towels, hot water. Very comfortable bedding, quiet setting which provided a restful sleep prior to my busy agenda the next morning. I will definitely recomment to others and look forward to a return visit to the Main Street Inn!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2010
As owner of Main Street Inn, I would like to thank you for your warm remarks. The staff works very hard to ensure each guests experience is a good one. Your are correct, you can walk everywhere. Even to Lane Stadium and Cassell Colisuem. Thank you for choosing Main Street Inn as your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We recently stayed at the Main Street Inn during a Virginia Tech football weekend. Overall, we were very pleased, and I would have awarded them a 5 out of 5 if it weren't for the walls being a bit thin between rooms.

First the pros: The hotel is in a great location. If your stay is centered around the Virginia Tech (VT) campus, this is a great location. You are within walking distance to the campus, stadium, shops, restaurants and bars. They have parking right on site and you don't need to move your car 'til you're ready to leave.

The hotel furnishings are new and modern. The room layout is very nice with the bathroom between the bedroom and a small living area. The sofa in the living area folds out to a bed if needed. The room also is equipped with a microwave, coffee maker and a refrigerator.

The staff was very courteous and welcoming. However, during our stay we did not have any major problems or issues that would have required a service response. One of the best things I enjoyed is the single cup coffee maker in the lobby. They have an assortment of coffee, decaf or tea available 24/7. In addition, there were cookies on the check-in counter and some breakfast treats in the lobby in the morning.

The internet connection was one of the fastest that I have encountered at a hotel. This was especially surprising, since the hotel was totally booked. The bedroom and living rooms had flat screen tv's with ample channel selections.

The one negative experience at Main Street Inn was that the walls seemed a bit thin. I could hear my neighbors talking, and later snoring. Fortunately, they weren't up very late, but if you are especially sensitive you may want to mask noise with your tv or something. For the most part, the hotel was quieter than I expected, despite it being a game weekend and the sold out status.

I would stay here again. However, next time I will try one of the rooms that are in the front of the hotel. They seem to have a little more set back from the others. Normally, you don't want a street side room, but Blacksburg is pretty quiet at night. Go Hokies !!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2010
Main Street Inn just recently celebrated it's two year anniversary. We are very grateful for guests such as you. It is so welcoming to see our guests take the time required to spread such kind words about us and our property. Go Hokies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Address: 205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#6 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Blacksburg, Main Street Inn is within walking distance to Virginia Tech and all sports facilities. Guests can enjoy dining, music, theater and shopping ... all a short stroll away. Amenities include free WiFi Internet, plasma TVs (2 per suite), refrigerator, microwave and coffee service. When visiting for business or pleasure, the main place to stay is Main Street Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Blacksburg
Main Street Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.