We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay in Blacksburg.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Main Street Inn to your Saves list
Main Street Inn
205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
WINTER WONDERLAND
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Sanibel Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Place to Stay in Blacksburg.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Ideal location - on Main St. in revitalized downtown, very near campus, within walking distance of nearly all that would interest a visitor to Hokieland. Newer, medium-sized with feel of B&B that retains overall feeling of "newness". Rooms are very clean, reasonably sized and tastefully furnished. Hotel is quiet, Wi-Fi equipped, well appointed, with wonderful lobby amenities including 24 hour cartridge coffee maker, biscottis, choc chip cookies in pm, OJ and finger pastries in am, newspapers and computer, I used to print boarding passes. Staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful, as well as knowledgeable about local restaurants and events. Owners are dedicated Hokies and frequent visitors to their hotel. Couldn't imagine a better place to stay in Blacksburg.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    37
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
43
34
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

My husband and I graduated from Va Tech in 1982. Since then, we have spent the following 25+ years scratching and clawing for one of the rumored 563 rooms in Blacksburg during football season. Many of the hotels left much to be desired...until now. A bed and breakfast/Inn type hybrid opened in 2008 and it is incredible. The staff is always friendly, the rooms are quaint, beds are comfortable and it is SPOTLESS!!! The location could not be any more convenient...downtown in the thick of Hokie Nation. On game days, ham biscuits and bloody mary's are served on the house. I shouldn't share this information because it will make it that much more difficult to get a room, but it's one of those places you want to be around for a long time!!! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSIBlacksburg, General Manager at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Dear Anne Coffman Neuville,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding your last stay with us. It was our pleasure to have you and your husband stay with us as our guests. I am so glad to hear that the location, service, and hospitality exceeded your expectations. The quaint size of our property allows for a more personal touch with respect to guest/staff interactions; and as a frequent guest of ours we like to consider you part of the Main Street Inn family when you are in Blacksburg.
We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town.

Rei Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Main Street Inn last October. We were in town to celebrate our birthdays and anniversary, something we plan to do every year. The Main Street Inn staff was extremely friendly and let us check in early so we could park our car in their lot and walk around Blacksburg. We decided to stay at the Inn for a couple reasons. It's right downtown and renting a suite appealed to us. We were not disappointed. The room was very spacious with a great sitting area that included a sofa bed and arm chair, flat screen TV, coffee maker, wet bar with ice bucket, mini refrigerator, and microwave. A very nice bathroom (with oversized shower and vanity with granite counter tops plus thick cotton towels) and closet (with wooden and clip hangers) separated the sitting area from the large bedroom. The queen size bed was extremely comfortable and the room featured another flat screen TV, a radio alarm clock with Ipod docking station, and a personal safe. The Main Street Inn is a first class operation and we're excited to stay there again the end of this month. We highly recommend a stay at the Inn for your next visit to Blacksburg.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSIBlacksburg, General Manager at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Dear Mr. Wicks,

Myself and the entire staff are so pleased that you had such wonderful stay with us. One of our key benefits is being so centrally located in the downtown area so that shopping, dining and the Virginia Tech campus are all within convenient walking distance.
The owners were very contientious when planning the layout of the rooms to create a design that was both luxurious and practical. Main Street Inn prides itself in having great service oriented staff, and I am glad that you were able to enjoy the warmth of our hospitality during your stay.
We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town, and again thank you for your wonderful reveiw.

With warm regards,
Rei Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Main Street Inn on Valentine's Day weekend (we were visiting my brother, then a grad student at Virginia Tech). I loved this charming inn. The lobby is so cozy, with a fireplace, a lounge, and coffee. I wish I had spent more time in it.

The location is perfect for walking anywhere in downtown Blacksburg. It is surrounded by lovely restaurants and in easy walking distance to the campus. If we stay in Blacksburg again, we wil most likely stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSIBlacksburg, General Manager at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Dear 2LoveBirds3,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you left for us on Trip Advisor. Myself and the entire staff here are so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay with us. The lobby is definitely a great place to curl up with a book or a loved one in front of the fireplace during those cold winter months. We hope that you do get the chance to spend some more time in our lobby the next time you are in town.
We look forward to seeing you and your husband again the next time your travels bring you back to Blacksburg.

With warm regards,
Rei Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

The location is great, and the hotel is well decorated. However, those things don't make up for the downsides. The worst thing we encountered was the lack of sound proofing in the walls. We were able to hear people in the rooms on both sides of us...clearly! That was not only bothersome but a little disconcerting! We also had trouble with our door closing unless we slammed it. When we reported it to the front desk, the woman on duty asked if we were in a certain room (which we weren't). They apparently were having this difficulty with other rooms. We would agree with the person who said the people at the front desk were "hit or miss." When we checked in and went to get ice, the machine was not working. My husband went to the front desk only to be told they were aware of the broken machine and we could get ice at 7-11. We were surprised they had not made some sort of effort to have ice available... in a cooler, for example. We could have overlooked that, but the lack of good sound barriers between the rooms is a deal killer for us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSIBlacksburg, General Manager at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Dear 19OnTheRoadAgain75,

We are sorry to hear that your last visit with us did not meet your expectations and that you had some issues during your stay. I am pleased though to have been able to read your comments on both the good and bad and use your comments to continue to improve upon our business.
As we grow as a buisness and continue to make improvements we hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the future.

Rei Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010 via mobile

Great location coupled with rooms designed for entertaining after the Hokies dominate another team makes this place the best in town. You can walk to the stadium, campus, and all the restaurants downtown. Plus it is only 3 blocks from a fantastic trail system for running/walking/biking.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSIBlacksburg, General Manager at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Dear Jabawalkee ,

Thank you so much for the lovely comments you left regarding your last stay wth us. We are so very glad that the location was a benefit to you. There is so much to do within the small area that is downtown Blacksburg, and it sounds as if you took advantage of much of that during your visit.
We like to think of our guests as extended family and look forward to having you come back and visit us soon!

Rei Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Came down with my wife for a wedding and was surprised by what I saw. After looking at their old website I was nervous about what I was getting into with such a small hotel, privately owned.

I was however surprised, both for the good and the bad. The bad: The rooms need more lights. Would have been nice to feel like I could see while I was in the sitting area without have to squint to much. So, with the layout being broken up how it is, makes if difficult for large parties to stay together in one suite. Parking underneath the building was almost impossible for my car, despite driving a sedan. TV need to be bigger if they are going to be place so high on the walls. The people at the front desk appeared to be hit or miss on both intelligence and quality but overall the staff seemed good.

The good: What is better than a hotel within walking distance of the bars? NOTHING. The higher rates were worth no risk of a DUI! Also, made looking at VT so much easier. Beds are among the best I have ever slept on, so much better than what I have at home. The housekeepers have to be top-notch for the rooms stay that clean! It is decorated elegantly and makes you feel that you are staying at an upscale resort, even if you are just in good ol' Blacksburg.

Overall, its a god hotel that I will be back to in my future travels to Blacksburg and would not hesitate to recommend it to couples, not families.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSIBlacksburg, General Manager at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Dear techgrad73,

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are constantly working on ways to improve our business in order to provide maximum satisfaction to our guests. You had mentioned that parking was an issue for you during your last stay with us. Since we are located in the heart of downtown, where parking is limited, we also have complimentary space available to our guests at the Kent Square Garage located directly across the street from our property. We would be more than happy to provide that option to you on your next stay with us.
Again our many thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again soon!

Rei Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Address: 205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#6 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Blacksburg, Main Street Inn is within walking distance to Virginia Tech and all sports facilities. Guests can enjoy dining, music, theater and shopping ... all a short stroll away. Amenities include free WiFi Internet, plasma TVs (2 per suite), refrigerator, microwave and coffee service. When visiting for business or pleasure, the main place to stay is Main Street Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Blacksburg
Main Street Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.