We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, lovely stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Main Street Inn to your Saves list
Main Street Inn
205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Charming hotel, lovely stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Main Street Inn on Valentine's Day weekend (we were visiting my brother, then a grad student at Virginia Tech). I loved this charming inn. The lobby is so cozy, with a fireplace, a lounge, and coffee. I wish I had spent more time in it.

The location is perfect for walking anywhere in downtown Blacksburg. It is surrounded by lovely restaurants and in easy walking distance to the campus. If we stay in Blacksburg again, we wil most likely stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSIBlacksburg, General Manager at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Dear 2LoveBirds3,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you left for us on Trip Advisor. Myself and the entire staff here are so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay with us. The lobby is definitely a great place to curl up with a book or a loved one in front of the fireplace during those cold winter months. We hope that you do get the chance to spend some more time in our lobby the next time you are in town.
We look forward to seeing you and your husband again the next time your travels bring you back to Blacksburg.

With warm regards,
Rei Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    37
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
43
33
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

The location is great, and the hotel is well decorated. However, those things don't make up for the downsides. The worst thing we encountered was the lack of sound proofing in the walls. We were able to hear people in the rooms on both sides of us...clearly! That was not only bothersome but a little disconcerting! We also had trouble with our door closing unless we slammed it. When we reported it to the front desk, the woman on duty asked if we were in a certain room (which we weren't). They apparently were having this difficulty with other rooms. We would agree with the person who said the people at the front desk were "hit or miss." When we checked in and went to get ice, the machine was not working. My husband went to the front desk only to be told they were aware of the broken machine and we could get ice at 7-11. We were surprised they had not made some sort of effort to have ice available... in a cooler, for example. We could have overlooked that, but the lack of good sound barriers between the rooms is a deal killer for us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSIBlacksburg, General Manager at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Dear 19OnTheRoadAgain75,

We are sorry to hear that your last visit with us did not meet your expectations and that you had some issues during your stay. I am pleased though to have been able to read your comments on both the good and bad and use your comments to continue to improve upon our business.
As we grow as a buisness and continue to make improvements we hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the future.

Rei Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010 via mobile

Great location coupled with rooms designed for entertaining after the Hokies dominate another team makes this place the best in town. You can walk to the stadium, campus, and all the restaurants downtown. Plus it is only 3 blocks from a fantastic trail system for running/walking/biking.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSIBlacksburg, General Manager at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Dear Jabawalkee ,

Thank you so much for the lovely comments you left regarding your last stay wth us. We are so very glad that the location was a benefit to you. There is so much to do within the small area that is downtown Blacksburg, and it sounds as if you took advantage of much of that during your visit.
We like to think of our guests as extended family and look forward to having you come back and visit us soon!

Rei Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Came down with my wife for a wedding and was surprised by what I saw. After looking at their old website I was nervous about what I was getting into with such a small hotel, privately owned.

I was however surprised, both for the good and the bad. The bad: The rooms need more lights. Would have been nice to feel like I could see while I was in the sitting area without have to squint to much. So, with the layout being broken up how it is, makes if difficult for large parties to stay together in one suite. Parking underneath the building was almost impossible for my car, despite driving a sedan. TV need to be bigger if they are going to be place so high on the walls. The people at the front desk appeared to be hit or miss on both intelligence and quality but overall the staff seemed good.

The good: What is better than a hotel within walking distance of the bars? NOTHING. The higher rates were worth no risk of a DUI! Also, made looking at VT so much easier. Beds are among the best I have ever slept on, so much better than what I have at home. The housekeepers have to be top-notch for the rooms stay that clean! It is decorated elegantly and makes you feel that you are staying at an upscale resort, even if you are just in good ol' Blacksburg.

Overall, its a god hotel that I will be back to in my future travels to Blacksburg and would not hesitate to recommend it to couples, not families.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSIBlacksburg, General Manager at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Dear techgrad73,

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are constantly working on ways to improve our business in order to provide maximum satisfaction to our guests. You had mentioned that parking was an issue for you during your last stay with us. Since we are located in the heart of downtown, where parking is limited, we also have complimentary space available to our guests at the Kent Square Garage located directly across the street from our property. We would be more than happy to provide that option to you on your next stay with us.
Again our many thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again soon!

Rei Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

A small, charming hotel with an unusual and interesting room arrangement. The majority of the rooms are set up as suites with separate bar/lounging areas and sleeping quarters. Unique and works very well for the business traveler, or for couples. Fold out couch for kids or additional guest is in separate area for privacy. Rooms are well furnished, with two flat screen TVs that are wall-mounted. Wet bar is an usual and nice amenity.

The staff is very friendly and service-oriented. They were able to answer my questions and to offer up suggestions.

Aside from the charm of the rooms, the Inn's location is its main advantage. It is located right downtown on Main Street within walking distance of restaurants, shops and all of the attractions and facilities of Virginia Tech. As a VT alum who returns to Blacksburg on business several times a year, the Inn is ideal for making the most of my trip and I plan to make it my regular hotel in Blacksburg.

It is very difficult to come up with a legitimate criticism, but I believe it would be the rates for those who are accustomed to staying in the chain motels while traveling. Main Street Inn is a notch or two above those motels in terms of charm, luxury and location and the rates reflect that.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSIBlacksburg, General Manager at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2010
Dear Mr. Waldman,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our Inn. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We like to think of our guests as family and Main Street Inn as a traveler's "home away from home."
We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you are in Blacksburg. Safe travels!
~The MSI Team
Rei Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Did appreciate the covered parking. Room was huge with 2 flats screens, internet, fridge, etc. Looke like a brand new hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSIBlacksburg, General Manager at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2010
Dear Rhmuir,

Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to host you and your group. With all the rain we have had lately I am glad to hear that our covered parking garage was perk for you. We are still a relatively new property as we opened in November of 2008. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Blacksburg! ~TheMSI Team, Rei Allen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

The Main Street Inn is a wonderful, well-decorated hotel with comfortable beds and lovely rooms. The best part about it is its location: it is located right in the middle of downtown Blacksburg, within walking distance to football and basketball games, and very close to various restaurants and shops.

However, a couple of things happened that have marred our visit, and have made us decide we won't be staying here again--and we make a lot of trips to this area.

One issue was less serious: you may very well end up parking across the street, in a parking garage. There are spaces on-site, but there is a chance you will not get one. We didn't have to pay to park across the street, so that's good, but it's not the most convenient thing in the entire world.

The other issue left a genuinely bad taste in our mouth. This is something that has never happened to either of us before, in our ENTIRE LIVES, and we were both embarrassed and insulted. It occurred on our second night there, and will prevent us from returning.

At around 10:30 p.m., we heard an extremely loud television for about 10 seconds. We thought it was odd, but shrugged it off. At 11:00 p.m. (not 4:00 in the morning), there was a knock at our door. It was a lady from the front desk. There had been a complaint about excessive noise from a television, and she was coming to investigate the source of the noise. I spoke to her, said that we'd also heard the loud tv. She said thank you, and left. My wife checked the volume on our television--it was set at 13. Not wanting to contribute to the noise level, she turned it down to 9.

About 15 minutes later, there was another knock at the door. It was the lady from the front desk again. There was another complaint, from our next-door neighbor, that our television was too loud. Apparently, we'd been the source of the complaint before as well, and we were still a problem.

Now, let me just say, here, that we were not watching a horror movie, or a war movie, or a thriller. We were watching a documentary. On the Holy Grail. So, just so you're clear: we were not watching something with explosions, screaming, gunfire, or loud music. We were watching a documentary. With people talking. Quietly. About a cup.

Furthermore, the volume, as I said, was set on 9. Just to see how loud it would go, my wife paused the dvd we were watching (we'd hooked our laptop up to the TV), and, without ANY sound AT ALL on, raised the volume to see how loud the television COULD play, if someone had the volume on (again, let me reiterate: when we tried this, the volume WAS NOT ON AT ALL; the DVD was paused, and you could not hear ANYTHING). It would go all the way to 100. Ours was set at 13 . . . and then 9. To be clear: this is not 9 out of 18. This is 9 out of 100. The television was not playing half as loud as it could be. It was playing LESS THAN ONE TENTH as loud as it could be. And we were getting complained about. Apparently, the walls at this hotel are extremely, EXTREMELY thin . . . yet they have decided to install televisions that can play at volume levels of 100. When volume levels of 9 cause the front-desk staff to have to tell you that people are complaining about you.

We are thoughtful, considerate hotel guests. We do not have raucous parties. We were not screaming, banging, and thumping around. We were not blasting music or the television at full volume. We know that the hotel has a sign posted: no outside visitors are allowed in the hotel after 11:00 p.m., to keep the noise down. We know that, and we understand. Having been in college, and since this hotel is in a college town, we get that the owners and staff and other guests do not want loud drunk college students throwing keg parties and running through the halls and yelling until 2 in the morning. Had we been doing any of that (yelling, running through the halls, throwing a loud keg party), we would have completely understood being called down like we were 21-year-olds. However, as we were 40-year-olds who were watching a documentary at volume level 9 out of 100 at 11:00 p.m., not throwing a keg party, not even watching "Full Metal Jacket" at volume level 50 at 4:00 in the morning . . . we were angry, put-off, and insulted.

So, therefore, because we want to be considerate hotel guests . . . and because we do not wish to bother future guests . . . and because we do not wish to inconvenience the staff, who have to tell us to stop being so loud and rude, with our thoughtless documentary-watching . . . this will be our last stay here. And we'll make sure our other thoughtless documentary-watching friends also know to stay away, and to stay at other hotels that tolerate such wild partying.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldhokie, owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2009
As owners of Main Street Inn, we take all comments, compliments, and complaints very seriously. Having a new hotel, we are always looking for was to improve our guest services. We loved your first paragraph!! Wish it could have ended there.

We discussed your complaints with both clerks that visited your room. They agreed with you that the noise could not have been coming from your room. They continued to look for the source. Unfortunatly, when staff receives a complaint, they have an obligation to check it out. We regret that this caused you embarrassment and our intentions were not to insult any of our guests. We were attempted to make sure that Main Street Inn was a quiet place of enjoyment and relaxation

Thank you for the time is took to write your review. Main Street Inn will continue to find room for improvement.

Darlene and .Rip McGinnis
Owners
Main Street Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Address: 205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#6 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Blacksburg, Main Street Inn is within walking distance to Virginia Tech and all sports facilities. Guests can enjoy dining, music, theater and shopping ... all a short stroll away. Amenities include free WiFi Internet, plasma TVs (2 per suite), refrigerator, microwave and coffee service. When visiting for business or pleasure, the main place to stay is Main Street Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Blacksburg
Main Street Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.