We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn

Save Saved
You added Main Street Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Main Street Inn
205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Marshall, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have stayed there three times so far and will be staying a fourth by the end of the month. The rooms are extremely clean and bright. The room layout is great. The staff has always been friendly and accommodating. The location to campus and downtown just make staying at the Main Street Inn an all around pleasurable experience.

Anton Tinnesz Marshall, VA

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
THANK YOU...THANK YOU...THANK YOU. You said it all. We love our repeat guests. Being a small hotel, we love getting to know our repeat guests. You become family. Just to let you know, we are working on a loyalty program. We will keep you posted when it gets in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    37
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
42
33
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We always stay here when we visit, drop off, or pick up our daughter at VT. Main Street Inn is located within walking distance to everything, so once we park the car, we don't need it again until it's time to leave. The parking is convenient and feels like a safe/secure place to leave our car. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, the staff is friendly, and there's always snacks and coffee available in the main lobby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed Main Street Inn, it's great staff, and excellent location. It's nice to be able to park your car and walk everywhere. Parking in Downtown Blacksburg is very limited and can get expensive, so the option of a short stroll to dining, shopping, theater and Virginia Tech is a nice benefit we can offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We always try staying here when visiting our son at VT. The Inn is located within walking distance to everything, so once we park the car, we don't need it again until it's time to leave. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated, the staff is friendly and there's always snacks and coffee available in the main lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Yes, we're all about the snacks. You will aways find biscottis, fresh apples, trail bars, and werther's originals in our lobby. Let's not forget the fresh baked cookies and homemade muffins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My fiancé and I both graduated from Virginia Tech and enjoy visiting occasionally during the year. The Main Street Inn has become the perfect place for a couples getaway! It is convenient to all downtown locations and has very stylish and spacious rooms. The staff is always friendly when we visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The Main Street Inn is the only place my wife and I stay when we visit our alma mater. The inn is located downtown so it's very convenient to walk to all of our favorite places. The suite style rooms are well kept and clean. The staff is always friendly and they have snacks, coffee and tea in the lobby. I would recommend the Main Street Inn to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

First time staying here while in town for a girls weekend. Such a friendly experience! The staff was so gracious and genuine no matter how many times we went through the lobby The room itself was precious, had a separate sitting room to sit and have coffee without being confined to the bed. Also really enjoyed the space outside of the bathroom to get ready. Loved the cupboard space and hidden microwave- felt less like a hotel room and more like a studio. We were there on the weekend so no construction was going on. Only reason I couldn't give 5 stars is upon check in I found leftover food in the fridge which I simply threw away but the rest of the stay was perfect

Room Tip: Even room # are the ones furthest away from temporary construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We thought the Inn on Main street was an outstanding place to stay. The location can't be beat, right in the heart of Blacksburg, in walking distance to restaurants, the Virginia Tech campus, and local shops. The welcoming lobby offers coffee, apples or candy as well as comfy sofa and chairs. Desk staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was really a suite with a small sitting area, good size bath and smallish bedroom. Our only annoyance was how sound traveled through the walls from the room next door. Luckily this was caused by a rambunctious child who went to sleep at an early hour. After a long day of driving, we enjoyed walking to past street musicians to sample restaurants only a few blocks away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Address: 205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#6 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Blacksburg, Main Street Inn is within walking distance to Virginia Tech and all sports facilities. Guests can enjoy dining, music, theater and shopping ... all a short stroll away. Amenities include free WiFi Internet, plasma TVs (2 per suite), refrigerator, microwave and coffee service. When visiting for business or pleasure, the main place to stay is Main Street Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Blacksburg
Main Street Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.