We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a quiet getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Main Street Inn to your Saves list
Main Street Inn
205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
WINTER WONDERLAND
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
“Great place for a quiet getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My fiancé and I both graduated from Virginia Tech and enjoy visiting occasionally during the year. The Main Street Inn has become the perfect place for a couples getaway! It is convenient to all downtown locations and has very stylish and spacious rooms. The staff is always friendly when we visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    39
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
34
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Main Street Inn is the only place my wife and I stay when we visit our alma mater. The inn is located downtown so it's very convenient to walk to all of our favorite places. The suite style rooms are well kept and clean. The staff is always friendly and they have snacks, coffee and tea in the lobby. I would recommend the Main Street Inn to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

First time staying here while in town for a girls weekend. Such a friendly experience! The staff was so gracious and genuine no matter how many times we went through the lobby The room itself was precious, had a separate sitting room to sit and have coffee without being confined to the bed. Also really enjoyed the space outside of the bathroom to get ready. Loved the cupboard space and hidden microwave- felt less like a hotel room and more like a studio. We were there on the weekend so no construction was going on. Only reason I couldn't give 5 stars is upon check in I found leftover food in the fridge which I simply threw away but the rest of the stay was perfect

Room Tip: Even room # are the ones furthest away from temporary construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We thought the Inn on Main street was an outstanding place to stay. The location can't be beat, right in the heart of Blacksburg, in walking distance to restaurants, the Virginia Tech campus, and local shops. The welcoming lobby offers coffee, apples or candy as well as comfy sofa and chairs. Desk staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was really a suite with a small sitting area, good size bath and smallish bedroom. Our only annoyance was how sound traveled through the walls from the room next door. Luckily this was caused by a rambunctious child who went to sleep at an early hour. After a long day of driving, we enjoyed walking to past street musicians to sample restaurants only a few blocks away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Above and beyond all other - THE PERFECT location. If cost ever comes into consideration, I think of all the cab rides I don't have to make happen. Also, literally the best mattress I have ever slept on.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We arrived for a wedding and was given a room across from a noisy elevator. Even more disappointing was that the room was literally ON a construction site. A dump truck was working so close to the window, I could reach out and touch it. When I called to complain, she told me they stop working at 3 every day. I called her at 7pm. They told us they didn't have another room, but when we said we'd like to leave, they suddenly not only found one, but gave us a small discount for the inconvenience. Once settled into our new room, it was fine. Like others have commented, the walls were thin, but my white noise app took care of that. The bed was comfortable and there's a small extra room with a couch that is a nice touch. The location of the hotel is convenient with the Virginia Tech campus within walking distance and they provide free parking at a garage across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from construction and the noisy elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chespeake, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have stayed here twice. It is a very nice hotel, but on the pricey side. I am going to try a couple other local hotels in the future when I travel to Blacksburg. Walking distance to campus and many local restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Address: 205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#5 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#5 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Blacksburg, Main Street Inn is within walking distance to Virginia Tech and all sports facilities. Guests can enjoy dining, music, theater and shopping ... all a short stroll away. Amenities include free WiFi Internet, plasma TVs (2 per suite), refrigerator, microwave and coffee service. When visiting for business or pleasure, the main place to stay is Main Street Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Blacksburg
Main Street Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.