We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn

Save Saved
You added Main Street Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Main Street Inn
205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Chespeake, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have stayed here twice. It is a very nice hotel, but on the pricey side. I am going to try a couple other local hotels in the future when I travel to Blacksburg. Walking distance to campus and many local restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    37
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
41
32
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Outer Banks
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I checked in on Tuesday 2/18 to a warm greeting from a great staff. The lobby is excellent and furnished extremely well which made it very relaxing and welcoming to someone coming in with a 6 hr drive. The ladies at the front counter were quick to make some recommendations for some great spots to eat within walking distance. The rooms are fine and the beds are great, they even use nice linens on the beds. I hope to stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for parking ahead of time or you will have to spend 15 minutes finding a spot in the parking dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

As a spontaneous weekend trip with friends, we discovered this quaint European style hotel perfectly located in the heart of Blacksburg. Accommodations were a comfortable suite for every couple and a cozy lobby with fireplace. The staff was friendly and welcoming. We could walk to every place we wanted to go on this frigid weekend in February. Kudos....and we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed at the Main Street Inn in Blacksburg for a VT basketball game weekend. The hotel was right downtown and within walking distance to the restaurants, shopping and the Cassell Coliseum. The room was great! The bed was very comfortable and high quality. We liked the suite type design which had lots of room along with privacy. This is our second stay there and we will certainly return. Shannon and Nicole were delightful upon checking in, checking out and answering any questions we might have. They always have some type of fruit, biscotti, and candy available for the guests. A great place to stay in Blacksburg!

Room Tip: Book early - it is a quaint inn with 34 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I was in Blacksburg for meetings at Virginia Tech and thoroughly enjoyed a two-night stay here.
The suite was pleasant and comfortable (bedroom, nice bathroom with plenty of towels and amenities) and a sitting room. And the lobby was very inviting and cozy. It was quite cold outside during my stay and it was nice to step into the lobby and be able to have a cup of hot tea or coffee (available free of charge 24/7, as are biscotti and fruit). A very nice touch, indeed! The hotel is conveniently located right in the town -- near restaurants, shops, and the Lyric Theatre, and right on the fringe of the campus. Also a plus for this hotel is a covered parking garage attached to the building. I highly recommend the Main Street Inn to any visitor to Blacksburg!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Pleasant staff, right in the center of things in the town, nice clean room with a living room, and bedroom. Highly unusual at this price. We will absolutely stay here next time we visit our granddaughter at the college.

Room Tip: Perfect location for visiting the campus of 'Virginia Tech.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice hotel right in the heart of Blacksburg. It's an easy walk to all of the night life in downtown and to the football and basketball venues. We were in Blacksburg for a basketball game and it was perfect. The rooms are spacious and clean...seating area with a TV, good sized bathroom with big shower, and sleeping area with another TV. My only (very minor) complaint is related to service...their policy is that your car has to be moved by 3:00 on the day of checkout. The basketball game was over at 4:00, and we were told we couldn't leave it there the extra hour despite the hotel being mostly empty. We ended up having to move it to the parking garage before the game. Again, not a big deal, but thought it was odd they wouldn't accommodate that request.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Address: 205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Blacksburg, Main Street Inn is within walking distance to Virginia Tech and all sports facilities. Guests can enjoy dining, music, theater and shopping ... all a short stroll away. Amenities include free WiFi Internet, plasma TVs (2 per suite), refrigerator, microwave and coffee service. When visiting for business or pleasure, the main place to stay is Main Street Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Blacksburg
Main Street Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.