We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The Main Street Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn

Save Saved
You added Main Street Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Main Street Inn
205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Falls Church
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love The Main Street Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We've stayed there for games every year since it opened and it's always perfect. It couldn't be closer to downtown, and everyone that works there is incredibly nice and always going the extra mile to make you happy.

I've seen one review that said overpriced but I've paid just about the same amount to stay outside of town and more than made up for the difference by cabbing back and forth after celebrating a win.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    37
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
42
33
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

From the time we checked in until the car was packed to leave the the staff could not have been more friendly and accomodating. Cookies upon arrival and VT cupcakes after the game were perfect for the kids (and dad). Rooms were a bit small but the bed and the pull-out sofa were both very comfortable and the location is PERFECT! We hope to enjoy many more football weekends at the Main Street Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

By far the best hotel in Blacksburg. Great rooms, wonderful staff, and superior locaton. You'd be remiss not to stay here regardless of your reason for visting Virginia Tech. The rooms are all suite style and very luxerious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The staff is wonderful, could not be nicer. The facilities leave something to be desired. I wanted to love it here, the location is perfect. The rooms are hobbit sized, even my 10 year old thought it was claustrophobic. There is no dresser!? I have never stayed anyplace without a dresser and/or a desk but there is just no room. The sitting area is big enough for 2, there is no place to have a bite to eat.

The worst part was the air handling system. We were in room 202 which is next to the balcony. That would be the balcony where everyone goes to smoke. The stinky smoker air was sucked right into our room :-P The a/c unit is in the bedroom section of the room and in order to make the living room section comfortable you froze in the bedroom. With all of the options available we will not be returning.

Not even a continental breakfast was offered. Refreshments consisted of a keurig in the lobby with some store bought biscotti and a basket of apples.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing Main Street Inn for your lodging choice when visiting Blacksburg and Virginia Tech. I agree with your comments on our staff. They are wonderful. We hire the majority of our staff from the School of Hospitality Management from Virginia Tech and love our relationship with the school and its student body. Go Hokies!

I must agree that the particular room you were in is smaller than our other rooms. We only have two rooms of this size and indeed there is not a dresser but custom shelving built into the closet area.

This is the very first complaint we have had in regards to smoke being drawn into the room. Since we are a 100% non-smoking hotel, this concerns me and it will be adressed. I appreciate you bringing it to our attention.

The offerings in the lobby of fresh coffee, biscotti and apples are available 24 hours a day. In the morning we offer the addition of fresh baked muffins with an assortment of trail bars along with fresh orange juice. Home made cookies are at the front desk in the evenings.

Along with our friendly staff, our location cannot be beat. I hope you will reconsider and give us another try on your next visit to Blacksburg and Virginia Tech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Terrible customer service, overpriced, tiny rooms, not clean. Did I say terrible customer service?
Management staff does not return phone calls. Not willing to refund our room, even when calling 2 months in advance.
Overall poor management, lousy rooms, and overpriced. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place is both charming and affordable. Conveniently located in historic downtown this is a great place to stay if you're not looking for amenities. The walls are a little thin but the oops are nicely appointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I was in Blacksburg this week and had the pleasure of staying at the Main Street Inn. Wow, it was nice. The room was split into a living room and bedroom. Although I was there by myself, for two or more people, there is ample room. I went out onto the balcony overlooking Main Street and that provided a nice view of the. Covered parking made it easy to get in and out and the place was spotless. The lobby was a nice place to read the paper and hang out. Taylor was working the desk, and she did a fantastic job. I also appreciated the personalized welcome note from Chris. Great job, everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Address: 205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#6 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Blacksburg, Main Street Inn is within walking distance to Virginia Tech and all sports facilities. Guests can enjoy dining, music, theater and shopping ... all a short stroll away. Amenities include free WiFi Internet, plasma TVs (2 per suite), refrigerator, microwave and coffee service. When visiting for business or pleasure, the main place to stay is Main Street Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Blacksburg
Main Street Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.