We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and Quaint” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Main Street Inn to your Saves list
Main Street Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AUGUST VT STUDENTS ARRIVE
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cute and Quaint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place is both charming and affordable. Conveniently located in historic downtown this is a great place to stay if you're not looking for amenities. The walls are a little thin but the oops are nicely appointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    43
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
52
40
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I was in Blacksburg this week and had the pleasure of staying at the Main Street Inn. Wow, it was nice. The room was split into a living room and bedroom. Although I was there by myself, for two or more people, there is ample room. I went out onto the balcony overlooking Main Street and that provided a nice view of the. Covered parking made it easy to get in and out and the place was spotless. The lobby was a nice place to read the paper and hang out. Taylor was working the desk, and she did a fantastic job. I also appreciated the personalized welcome note from Chris. Great job, everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times and both times we were very happy. The location can't be beat; it is an easy walk into town or to the campus. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We love the beds and pillows - didn't want to get up! We have stayed in the "king" suite each time, so I am unsure how small the other suites are, but they seem to make an awkwardly small building feel not so crowded to me. The only complaint I would have is that the shower rod is WAY too low. I am only 5'8" and I have to fully duck to get in and out - ugh. We did not hear any of our neighbors, but we have only really been there when classes are out and it isn't super booked. We will definitely always stay here for the convenience of location, cleanliness and comfort of the rooms and the helpfulness of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Outside this place is quaint, but inside the rooms it feels like a 75/night hotel, not 139. The wireless does not work and I could hear the neighbors television like it was in the same room. I don't think I've ever stayed in a hotel with walls this thin. I will never be back.

Room Tip: Reserve at a different hotel or bring your ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write you review. I am aware that your decision to stay at Main Street Inn was for our excellent location. You were able to walk to your business and enjoy shopping and dining near by. It was unfortunate that you chose to "suffer" in silence with issues of TV noise from your neighbors and a bink in the internet. Both could have been solved so easily with a quick phone call to the front desk. It would have been preferable to have had the opportunity to solve your issues at the time they took place. No one is the winner when you choose to complain publicly rather than give us the opportunity to make your stay a pleasureable one. If we had been made aware of your issues, I can assure you, they would have been addressed immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A wonderful little hotel with the feel of an old time inn. The parking can be challenging if you have a big car or SUV (under the hotel) but the location is superb! Rooms are nicely sized, well equipted and clean. Coffee in the lobby is wonderful. The small balcony (common area balcony) is perfect for parades or a cocktail. The lobby is like home--cozy and warm. Much better than the typical 'box hotel.'

Room Tip: football games and parades book quickly--book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a very lovely inn. We stayed twice at this inn. The first time we stayed in a King Suite; it was very nice. The second visit we stayed in Queen Suite it was small and the bed did not seem as soft. The King Suite we were in the first time we stayed was in better condition; the queen suite seemed to be in need of touch up paint. Disappointed that the fireplace was not on in the lobby; the second time we stayed.
The gals at the front desk are very nice...althought the second time we checked in to the inn we waited for someone to come to the front desk. When we arrived there was no one at the front desk.

We would stay again.

I would recommend that rooms need to be checked to make sure they are in the best condition they can be in.

Room Tip: Choose King Suite; they get booked fast so book in advance if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time necessary to write your review. Trip Advisor is a very helpful tool for my property, The Staff at Main Street Inn works very hard to make your stay is as comfortable as possible. At times we fall short and need to be reminded that every detail is important. We look forward to your third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed in Blacksburg last weekend for a night at the Main Street Inn. They had the best rates for a 1 night stay and with the location my wife and I decided to try it out. During football season all the hotels are more expensive, but here it would be close to $500 for the required 2 night minimum.

We had a Queen suite and it seemed sort of cramped. When you enter the room, there is a "sitting" room with a pull out couch, 2 chairs, wet bar, and mini fridge. To get to the Queen "bedroom" you walk down the hallway, passing the bathroom on the way. There is no door separating the two, but for us it was no big deal.

Location is great. For some reason cabs are hard to find downtown, and being able to walk all over campus/downtown is really nice. The lobby was nice, providing free coffee, tea, cookies, muffins, etc.

I felt like the room was cramped, as mentioned above. with 2 couples it would be really tight. Also, whoever got stuck in the front bedroom with the pullout couch would've been hot, as the AC unit is in the back bedroom and would have to be cranking full blast to get to the front, which would freeze out the back room.

My biggest issue with this was the minature TV's in the rooms. There was a 20" (maybe smaller) in the sitting room, mounted well above eye level, on an adjustable mount but padlocked so you couldn't tilt it down. The back bedroom had a 27" (maybe smaller) with the same issues. I know TV's should make or break a room and we don't spend a lot of time in there anyways, but I wouldn't want to deal with that for more then a night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#3 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel
2.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Address: 205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#5 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Main Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Blacksburg, Main Street Inn is within walking distance to Virginia Tech and all sports facilities. Guests can enjoy dining, music, theater and shopping ... all a short stroll away. Amenities include free WiFi Internet, plasma TVs (2 per suite), refrigerator, microwave and coffee service. When visiting for business or pleasure, the main place to stay is Main Street Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Blacksburg
Main Street Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.