We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Main Street Inn to your Saves list
Main Street Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER SIZZLE DISCOUNT
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nice, new, clean. Located in Hokeyville, so right in the heart of things. Beds are comfortable. Had a little trouble with the Internet on our 2 nd day. No breakfast, just granola bars and coffee....we should have read the details more thoroughly regarding that. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    43
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
52
40
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was the first time i actually stayed here even though i have visited friends staying here. It was amazing! The rooms were nice, the hotel was quiet, the staff had everything ready to go upon checking in and checking out. You also can't beat the location, there is no other hotel more perfectly located next to downtown Blacksburg and Virginia Tech.

Room Tip: Make sure you book early, with only 30 something rooms, it fills up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Comfortable, homey accommodations, close to where all the "action" is, walking distance to everything, nicely laid out rooms, reasonably priced, exceptional staff. Rooms are laid out suite-like with small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and ironing board. Everything is exceptionally clean. Noise from hallway is minimal inside room. Bathroom is small but adequate. Two TVs per room. Nice to have a separate sitting area from the bedroom area. Mattresses are very nice. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

You couldn't ask for a better location. Within walking distance of everything downtown and an easy walk to campus. Using the 15% off discount from TripAadvisor makes it reasonably affordable. The room is split to provide a sitting area separate from the bedroom which is very nice. Each room had a flat screen TV, but very small. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Comfortable and clean. Staff very friendly. Be aware, if you are sensitive to smells, that the lobby is overwhelmed with scent (not sure whether it was "cinnamon" or some "fall scent" but it was VERY strong.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The staff, service, location--it just doesn't get better. The beds are comfortable and the refrigerator and microwave in the room work well for us. The parking is a bit tricky, and the layout of the suites is a little small, however, we return here again and again for the ambience.
There is dining all over within a very short walk and campus is a few blocks away.
The new manager is a sweetheart!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have stayed at the Main Street Inn twice while visiting VT, as well as other hotels in town, It is by far my first "go to" hotel in Blacksburg. It is small, with only 34 rooms and that gives it a nice feel. It is in town, walking distance to restaurants, shops in town and most importantly campus. It is clean, comfortable, less expensive than some other in town options and the staff is helpful. You have to park in the garage across the street, but it is covered and close and free with your stay. The suite set up is great, as long as you don't have more than 2 in your party and someone has an aversion to pull out sofas. On the flip side, when we go with a sibling to visit our college student, the set up is like we both have our own room and TV, with the bathroom between us. I like the privacy it affords. I have just booked 2 more stays for our next few visits. Plus, it is nice to walk to a dorm and not try to find on campus parking.

Room Tip: As far as I can tell, all rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#3 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel
2.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Address: 205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Main Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Blacksburg, Main Street Inn is within walking distance to Virginia Tech and all sports facilities. Guests can enjoy dining, music, theater and shopping ... all a short stroll away. Amenities include free WiFi Internet, plasma TVs (2 per suite), refrigerator, microwave and coffee service. When visiting for business or pleasure, the main place to stay is Main Street Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Blacksburg
Main Street Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.