We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanliness/maintenance is a problem” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Main Street Inn to your Saves list
Main Street Inn
205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
POWHATAN, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cleanliness/maintenance is a problem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our room was right in front on a very busy street - noisy with "boom box" cars, loud mufflers, sirens, etc. Site was handy for most things, Had snacks in lobby, but no breakfast. I spent 25 years as head of hospital housekeeping departments. Take my word for it, this room was filthy - dust was "white " along carpet edges and in corners. Wrong vacuum cleaners in use for daily cleaning. Need vacs with hoses to get edges and corners. Complained about dust and an attempt was made to clean, but only a halfway job. One bulb over bathroom sink was burned out during entire stay. Cleaning personnel should be taught to ask themselves one question when they have finished cleaning -"If I were a guest, would I want to stay in this room?" If they can't answer with a truthful yes, then they should do whatever is needed for that to be so.

Room Tip: Get a room away from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for takin the time to write your review. This can be a very useful tool for our property as we are always looking to improve the guests experience. Our location in the heart of Downtown Blacksburg is the best in the area. Once you park your car, shopping, dining, theater and entertainment is but a stroll away. You can also walk to Virginia Tech and all athletic facilities. Along with the downtown location cames downtown sounds which we cannot control. Very sorry you were disturbed.
Housekeeping and maintenance issues are taken very seriously. I assure you that staff will be made aware of your concerns and take the steps necessary that this type of complaint does not happen again. Main Stret Inn received the Trip Advisor 2012 Award of Excellence and enjoys a great reputation. We will take your review as an opportunity to work harder to make the guest experience the very best possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    37
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
43
33
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I've stayed at a number of places in and around Blacksburg, and this was really the best for visiting VT. You can't beat the location, it's within walking distance of most everything you could want in town. The room we had was cute, clean, and had all of the expected comforts. The lobby was really nice with snacks and coffee all day long and a nice light assortment of foods for breakfast. I can't emphasize enough how convenient it was to get to all of the great local amenities like the restaurants, shops, and campus.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street may be noisy during game days or weekends, try to get one on the side or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

There is no other place to say when in town. The hotel is great. Room as large. The location could not be better. It is right in the middle of everything. The staff is always helpful and attentive. I am always surprised how quiet it is even in a college town. The only issue is parking, and even that is not bad as you the garage across the street. I will always stay here when in Blacksburg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

In town on a college visit. Rate was good, place was clean and rooms had all that you need. Very nice and attentive staff. Place was new.
The location is right next to VT. Can walk to anywhere on campus as well as all the athletic facilities.
Ample parking though not on first come first serve. Have to part across the street which is OK as parking is free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We went down to Blacksburg for VT orientation. This hotel had the best price and a perfect location. It is right on Main St. so you can walk anywhere on campus. It is fairly new, very clean. The rooms are a good size. They have coffee and snacks all day, which I find a plus. This will be our home away from home for the next 4 years.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

PROS:
The suites are decent sized. You have a small living room area with a sofa...
Read the rest here: http://stapledesign.com/2012/03/hotel-the-main-street-inn/

Room Tip: Complete review here: http://stapledesign.com/2012/03/hotel-the-main-street-inn/
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Main Street Inn offers exceptional accommodations right in the heart of Blacksburg -- walking distance from everything Va Tech! The king suite was comfy and clean. It was a bit tight, but enough room for 2 people. The windows facing Main Street might be a bit loud during football weekends though!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Address: 205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#6 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Blacksburg, Main Street Inn is within walking distance to Virginia Tech and all sports facilities. Guests can enjoy dining, music, theater and shopping ... all a short stroll away. Amenities include free WiFi Internet, plasma TVs (2 per suite), refrigerator, microwave and coffee service. When visiting for business or pleasure, the main place to stay is Main Street Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Blacksburg
Main Street Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.