We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cozy and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Main Street Inn to your Saves list
Main Street Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grenoble, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean, cozy and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Right in the heart of Blackburt, less then 5 minuts walk from campus, restaurants, pubs.....The personnel is reactive and wellcoming. Large confortable rooms with all you need (iron, microwave, fridge, Wifi...). Only downside, the double bed is actually not so big for a couple

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    41
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
47
37
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at the Main Street Inn for business but because of the great location it became a great mini vacation as well. The hotel is located in the middle of downtown Blacksburg near all the restaurants, bars, shops, etc. It's also right across the street from the farmers market and just a hop skip and a jump to the main campus.

The staff is super friendly. The front desks receptionists on Friday afternoon, Saturday, and early Sunday morning were beyond friendly. Clean rooms, cold OJ in the morning, and copnveneint parking. We will be staying here again for all of our future VT buisness related events.

Room Tip: Have a Fish Taco at Cabo Fish Taco and try one of their many margaritas. They are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
444 reviews 444 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Well this place had me from the moment I walked in the door with the Keurig machine in the lobby, and it remained there 24/7 so when you needed a great cup or coffee or tea it was available.
I was in the area on business and met friends for dinner nearby (Cabo Taco) and since I hadn't made hotel reservations, they reccommended the Main Street Inn next door. They thought it might meet my business travel budget since there wasn't a football game in town.
Jason was extremely helpful. Suites were decent sized but would be tight for two people, rooms did seem to have too much furniture.

Room Tip: They have limited parking at this hotel underneath, but I'm sure they allow additional parking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We slept really well. The layout of the room was a little bit cramped. It was arranged like a suite with a sitting room and sleeping area divided by the bathroom (shower only, no tub). The sitting room seemed to have just a little too much furniture for its small size. I don't know what the layout of all the rooms is like, so if you need extra space, definitely ask for a larger layout. In general, I'd say this hotel is doing it right. It was exceptionally clean and seemed to be well updated. The a/c worked very well, we were comfortable in the room. If we need a place to stay in Blacksburg again, this would be it. It's right next to an excellent spa called Eucalyptus, so you need only stumble out of your car from the long drive, check in, and head right next door to the massage therapist. A great set up all around.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Main Street Inn June 18-20, 2012 and had a great experience. Our corner room on the third floor had 3 big windows which let in tons of light. We loved the little sitting room and separate sleeping area. The room was very quiet, clean, and comfortable. I loved the fact that it was not a chain.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with lots of windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at the Main Street Inn May 17th and 18th, 2012. It was very warmly decorated and inviting. Our room was perfect- a lovely entrance, wet bar with mini fridge and microwave, and a separated sleeping area. We traveled with our 9 month old son, and the set up worked out perfectly for him to nap/sleep in the living room area away from the bed. The bed was comfy and the room was clean.

We missed our chance to have the room cleaned since our son napped from 11:15-1:30, though we were a little surprised that when we left and put the "service please" sign on the door that no one came back. It wasn't a big deal as there was no mess and still clean towels left, or we would have called.

The only downside to the hotel is the lack of sound proofing. It was a quiet weekend after graduation, and we could still hear TVs in other rooms, people talking both in the hall and in their rooms, and all traffic.If we had been in the back of the hotel, maybe it wouldn't have been a problem. Overall the place was cozy and nice, and if we venture back to Blacksburg in the future, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach VA
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We have stayed and many hotels in the Blacksburg area but this was our first time at the Main Street Inn. Because we failed to make a hotel reservation early for graduation, this was the only room available for the Thursday before the event. The hotel is very tastefully decorated and you can't find a much better location in downtown Blacksburg. Our reservations were in order and we checked in quickly. There is a small parking garage on the ground floor however we easily found parking. I believe we had a suite since there was a small living room. The room was nicely decorated and they left a Hokie glass filled with VT treats. The staff was very friendly, fast and helpful. Although we didn't use it, there is a beautiful lobby and relaxation area with TV, fireplace and newspapers. The biggest negative of this Inn are the beds. While ours was a king, it was VERY soft and we both slide toward the middle so it felt like you were climbing uphill all night. If you are a TV watcher, you will be amazed by the tiny 19" TV's. Never broke out the iPad to check for wifi, sorry. Because this was an "event weekend" our room rate was $260 plus taxes and such which sounds high but is in line with prices in B'burg for events. Under normal circumstances I would expect to pay in the $125-$150 range for such accomadations but we understand why they are higher so if cost is an issue for you, be prepared. I would like to say I would stay there again but that would only be in a pinch or if they replaced the beds.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face the town, ours faced down at a resturaunt where we could actually watch peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Address: 205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#6 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#6 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Main Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Blacksburg, Main Street Inn is within walking distance to Virginia Tech and all sports facilities. Guests can enjoy dining, music, theater and shopping ... all a short stroll away. Amenities include free WiFi Internet, plasma TVs (2 per suite), refrigerator, microwave and coffee service. When visiting for business or pleasure, the main place to stay is Main Street Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Blacksburg
Main Street Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.