We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Heart of Blacksburg” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn

Save Saved
You added Main Street Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Main Street Inn
205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Virginia Beach VA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“In the Heart of Blacksburg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We have stayed and many hotels in the Blacksburg area but this was our first time at the Main Street Inn. Because we failed to make a hotel reservation early for graduation, this was the only room available for the Thursday before the event. The hotel is very tastefully decorated and you can't find a much better location in downtown Blacksburg. Our reservations were in order and we checked in quickly. There is a small parking garage on the ground floor however we easily found parking. I believe we had a suite since there was a small living room. The room was nicely decorated and they left a Hokie glass filled with VT treats. The staff was very friendly, fast and helpful. Although we didn't use it, there is a beautiful lobby and relaxation area with TV, fireplace and newspapers. The biggest negative of this Inn are the beds. While ours was a king, it was VERY soft and we both slide toward the middle so it felt like you were climbing uphill all night. If you are a TV watcher, you will be amazed by the tiny 19" TV's. Never broke out the iPad to check for wifi, sorry. Because this was an "event weekend" our room rate was $260 plus taxes and such which sounds high but is in line with prices in B'burg for events. Under normal circumstances I would expect to pay in the $125-$150 range for such accomadations but we understand why they are higher so if cost is an issue for you, be prepared. I would like to say I would stay there again but that would only be in a pinch or if they replaced the beds.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face the town, ours faced down at a resturaunt where we could actually watch peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    37
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
32
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We have visited Blacksburg many times for football games or other school events, but have just recently discovered the Main Street Inn. The rooms were spacious, clean and quiet and the staff was friendly and helpful. The best thing about it is the location, we could walk to any store or restaurant downtown, very helpful when parking is an issue. If only we could get reservations for this coming graduation weekend!

Room Tip: All of their rooms are suites, however some of the suites are larger than others, I'm sure recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Great place to stay. If you are in Blacksburg it is most likely to visit Virginia Tech. This is a great place to stay within easy walking distance to VT (both academic spaces and sports complexes) and right in the middle of Blacksburg main street. The rooms are very nice, roomy and comfortable. My first choice on my twice a year trip Blacksburg. Parking is handy (although a bit tight to get in and out of) and even on football weekends there is easily accessible spaces (although you may have to park in the municipal lot across the street but still covered in the cost of the room). Several restaurants within walking distance as well (be sure to try Gillies for breakfast. about 4 blocks away on College Avenue).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very nice lobby and staff. Lobby had little items always set out to drink and eat. Provided complimentary rain poncho's when raining (and they were heavy duty, not just throw-away). Location is convenient to VT campus, restaurants, shopping, and grocery store. Parking is limited at hotel, but they provide free parking right across the street which is fine. Part of this is due to when the hotel was built - not much property. The rooms nicely furnished with a sitting area as well as a smaller bedroom. Inbetween in the bathroom and spacious and clean, nice towels, soaps, shampoo, conditioner and skin cream. Lighting is fine throughout and the sitting area has a wet bar, small refridge, and microwave. View out window on second floor is looking at a roof of a pizzaria, but didn't matter to us. Overall, room worked out great.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms on the southeast side. You will be viewing a pizzaria roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here (from Australia) while visiting my son at Virginia Tech. Its a great hotel, with very helpful staff, comfy warm beds and situated right in the middle of Blacksburg. Its walking distance from everything, in this pretty, college town in rural Virginia, a beautiful part of the world. With no restaurant breakfast is available in the form of Granola bars and coffee, which is fine, and there are plenty of cafes close by. The rooms are smallish, but well appointed, and have everything you need.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We have stayed here many times for VT basketball games. Hotel is very convenient to VT and for downtown activities. Outside nightlife can sometimes be noisy so not the best if you are a light sleeper. Rooms are nice with granite in the bathrooms and two flat screen tvs - although they are very small. They have a nice separation between a small sitting area, the bathroom and then the sleeping/bed area. We stayed here for my son's graduation from VT in December, and they kept making us move our vehicle (SUV) to a parking garage across the street - even though there was plenty of parking. They were very rude about it, so even though we like the convenience and have had good experiences in the past, for the prices they charge and the rudeness of the staff, I doubt we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

Location is good, but...

Bad service-the lady checking us in was very strange and not friendly at all, they never said welcome back or Helped us with our bags.

Awful rooms- it looked to be a 15 inch flat screen on the wall, and the room was very very very small and had an awkward layout. It smelled of cigarette smoke.

Bad parking situation- there are only a few spaces on property, otherwise you have to park in a garage a block away, this was unappealing

No amenities- no pool, no restaurant, no breakfast to speak of

High prices- other places are much better and less expensive like the hilton Garden inn or inn at Virginia tech

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Address: 205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#5 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Blacksburg, Main Street Inn is within walking distance to Virginia Tech and all sports facilities. Guests can enjoy dining, music, theater and shopping ... all a short stroll away. Amenities include free WiFi Internet, plasma TVs (2 per suite), refrigerator, microwave and coffee service. When visiting for business or pleasure, the main place to stay is Main Street Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Blacksburg
Main Street Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.