We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful inn, Delightful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn

Save Saved
You added Main Street Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Main Street Inn
205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delightful inn, Delightful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I am a business traveler who likes to support the mom and pop businesses around my 5 state territory. The lovely folks at the Modern Language dept at Virginia Tech recommended this inn for my recent stay. It was very nice, spotless. The charm began with the 2 lovely students running the front desk. Great value for the $. No dining on site but Starbucks was across the road and a great Vegetarian restaurant around the corner (next to the movie theatre for breakfast too!). Very convenient to the nice eateries up and down Main Street. This is a keeper and my place of choice when on the road again to VT.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    37
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
32
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potomac Falls, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I called them up when I got into town for a VT basketball game. They gave me a holiday rate and let me check in early. Their Wi-Fi Internet was reliable and fast, and I was therefore able to work out of the hotel room until the basketball game.

I was surprised at how the rooms are set up like little suites with a living room area, a very nice bathroom with a spacious shower (complete with benches) and then a sleeping area near the back. Oh, and there are TWO flatscreen TVs in the suite! Sweet! (Only some pun intended.)

The best part about this hotel was the location. You can't ask for anything better than walking distance from all the restaurants and the various VT buildings. Parking was great, too. Location, location, location — this is the best location besides perhaps the Inn at Virginia Tech!

The only negatives I can think of about the Main Street Inn are just minor things — some noisy kids running the hall once or twice, likely while helping their parents unload the car. Not a huge deal, that could happen anywhere, and it didn't occur late at night. I could hear people talking from time to time, so I get the feeling the rooms aren't the most soundproof. The decor is refined, but pretty boring, in the suites themselves. The lobby and exterior are much better. The final knock would be the lack of amenities at this hotel. Unless I missed it, there's really no fitness center, business center, laundry facility, etc., that you could take advantage of like with some of the better chain hotels. If they do have these things, they need to do a better job of advertising/pointing customers to them.

Overall, if you want the best location in town for the best price and some really spacious, clean rooms with a comfy bed — and what more could you really ask for? — then this is a good place for you. Oh, and the guy at the front desk (Andrew? Can't remember the name for sure.) was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing South Main Street's direction have worse views — the top of some rusty buildings wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011 via mobile

Everything was just fine from front desk on arriving and leaving, and the room. Staff was very, very helpful. Cookies and coffee in the lobby along with newspapers and tv.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashiers, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

My son and I went to Blacksburg to visit my daughter. The trip fell on a VA TECH parent's weekend but we managed to get a Thursday night booking at the Main Street Inn. What a treat. Beautifully decorated, immaculate and right in the heart of town, this lovely Inn was perfect in every way. The staff was professional and attentive and everything was elegantly executed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Visited Tech for a meeting and decided to stay at this hotel as I hadn't stayed there in any other previous visits to Blacksburg. I am a VT alumni. This hotel is very nice. Super clean and well decorated. I arrived a little early and they had my room ready. There was a personalized letter to me on the coffee table in the sitting room, very nice touch. Being right on Main St was great. I walked right over to the VT bookstore across the street a block over. Starbucks directly across the street and convenient parking to get anywhere else on campus. Great to be able to just walk out the hotel and get to all the restaurants downtown. I'd love to stay here on a football weekend, but I'm sure it's tough to get a room as the hotel only has 34 suites. I will definitely stay here future visits to Blacksburg.

Room Tip: All suites very similar, difference is some of a queen others a King bed in main bedroom. there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for choosing Main Street Inn for your most recent visit to Blacksburg. Our excellent location to shopping, dining, theater, and of course, Virginia Tech is one of the many things that sets us apart from other lodging choices in the area. Once you park your car, you need never use it again. Friendliness of our staff, cleanliness, our comfy beds and our location is amoung our most frequent compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our Anniversary. It was reasonably priced, very clean, in a great location to walk to many restaurants. It was also very quiet. The service was friendly as well. We found it a charming place that we would visit again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights over a weekend while visiting friends in the area. No problems whatsoever, would definitely recommend as the rooms are nice, prices are good, and the hotel is near everything. The employees were very helpful. I needed a reservation for Friday - Sunday, but the hotels website said Friday was sold out. I called the hotel to enquire and they confirmed the hotel was sold out, butshe would call me if they got a cancellation. Sure enough, they called me back a few hours later.

The beds are very comfortable, and the rooms clean. As other reviewers have noted, the sitting area has no windows and can be a bit dark--but it was nice to have one so people could come visit.

The last night we were there, a Sunday, the hotel was deserted. I don't think there was anyone else on our floor, so we didn't feel too bad about turning up the music a bit when friends came over.

Will definitely stay here again. Nice hotel with friendly staff and a good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Address: 205 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#5 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Blacksburg, Main Street Inn is within walking distance to Virginia Tech and all sports facilities. Guests can enjoy dining, music, theater and shopping ... all a short stroll away. Amenities include free WiFi Internet, plasma TVs (2 per suite), refrigerator, microwave and coffee service. When visiting for business or pleasure, the main place to stay is Main Street Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Blacksburg
Main Street Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.