We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zeppoli's

Zeppoli's
810 University Blvd #2, Blacksburg, VA 24060
540-953-2000
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #8 of 103 restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Eastern Shore, Maryland
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Italian Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Blacksburg is a college town... and it rocks on a Friday night before a Virginia Tech football game. We got there at 6 and got the last table. When we left at 7:30 there were about twenty folks waiting... sipping wine in their wine store.

Very nice selection of reasonably priced wines to choose from... and if you buy a bottle in their store, they'll serve it for a small corking fee. We went Chianti and Pinot Grigio by the glass. Nothing spectacular, but both were good value.

I went with the Halibut special... grilled/sauteed with a caper wine sauce. The fish was fluffy and done perfectly. And my wife went with the seafood fettuccine. Very nice. Both dishes came out steaming.

Our server, Drew, was attentive, but not intrusive. And sometimes attentiveness is lacking when a restaurant is chockers on a busy night.

If we were local or in town during the week... this would be a place that we'd go regularly on a Wed or Thurs night... to enjoy a relaxing dinner.

And... they don't take reservations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    26
    28
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Italian value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This restaurant is in a building behind the building with frontage, so I missed it the first time driving by. Restaurant is low budget in the decor and looks department, which is ok with me because that was translated into food prices that were a tremendous value for what you get. The restaurant has a wine shop connected with it, so you go there to select your bottle which is at a normal "retail" price and then they charge a $2 corkage fee. The wine selection wasn't particularly broad, but certainly doing it that way allowed me to have a better bottle than I would normally have because they don't do the standard restaurant mark up. We had a white that was $10. My sister had the Caprese, which she praised as one of the best ever. I had the fettucini alfredo, which is a basic dish that is easy to mess up and it was wonderful - one of the best I've ever had. I will have occasion to be in Blacksburg again and I will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Decent Italian food. The staff was warm, welcoming and efficient. The restaurant itself could use a facelift. Decent prices. Marginal wine selection.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Accommodates large group, great food and wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

During the busy Family Weekend at Virginia Tech, our large group of students, parents, and friends wanted to have a nice dinner out. After being flat out refused at Sal's, I called Zeppoli's to ask if they would take a reservation. Although not a large restaurant, Doris happily accommodated our group of 14. Our waiter was superb, getting all orders correct, and bringing each course at the appropriate time. He even happily took a group photo after our delicious meal. Whether it was seafood or pasta, everything was lovely. We also enjoyed shopping for some wine to accompany our dinner in their little wine room. We will go back to Zeppoli's not only for their delicious food, but for being so welcoming to our large group on a busy VT weekend !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of my Favorite Resturants in Blacksburg!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have eaten at Zeppoli's several times! The homemade pasta is by far one of the best I have every had! Atmosphere is nice with a friendly staff.
Last week I requested two quarts of two different soups to take to my Mother in law! She just lost her husband and Zeppoli's soups were such a comfort not to mention delicious!!
Portions are great and the bread is fabulous!
Sign up for the Royalty Rewards and receive birthday discounts etc!
Headed to Blacksburg for VT football this weekend. Planning on dinner Friday night and using my $10 off coupon!
They do not take reservations and you purchase wine from a nice selection at the restaurant! While you wait have your wine opened and sit and enjoy! The wait has never been more that 15 minutes. On a game weekend my advise is get there early and be prepared to wait a short time!!






o

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeppoli's also viewed

 

Been to Zeppoli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zeppoli's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Zeppoli's to your Saves list