We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect for a weekend getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clay Corner Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clay Corner Inn to your Saves list
Clay Corner Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   401 Clay Street SW, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Blacksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Millington, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect for a weekend getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was the perfect choice for us! The room was very cozy and comfy with everything we needed. (And the sheets are to die for!) The host was extremely friendly, accommodating and served a scrumptious breakfast. We took advantage of the referral program after a friend of ours recommended the Clay Corner Inn. We were visiting student at VA Tech, which is just a quick walk from the inn. If we are in the neighborhood we will definitely stop in for another stay. Perfect home away from home!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Please, please, please come again, it was fun having you here! You were perfect guests and are welcome back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
54
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The hosts were very welcoming and accommodating. The room was cozy, clean, and quiet and the break-fasts were fabulous. We loved being able to walk to restaurants downtown and to explore the nearby library and walking trail. A great place to stay!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Heather, Super cozy, comfortable & welcoming, what a title... thank you! Pleased you enjoyed the fact that you could walk to dinner but also enjoyed the quietness of the little street we are situated on! Look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here early in the fall and arrived late, but they accommodated for that very well. Very nice folks, we were travelling with our dog and they made him very welcome as well. Breakfast was just right, served on a covered porch. Very convenient location for VT or downtown.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We are so pleased you and your puppy enjoyed your stay, we enjoyed having you with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Imagine dreaming of finding a romantic, charmed bed and breakfast for 15 wedding guests from Macedonia, England, New York, Boston,and Virginia that provided exceptional ,friendly, casusal hospitality and service. And every guest was beyond belief with the cozy and comfortable decor,cleaniness ,delicious breakfasts, afternoon fresh baked cookies and rehearsal dinner buffet for 25 people.Our stay perfect !!

Room Tip: You have many unique choices to choose from . The larger rooms provided the extra rooms for a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Maryanne, you couldn't have been kinder with the words used in your review. My husband, staff and I cannot express how we appreciate seeing them :-) It was a delight having you stay with us for this very special event and more so to hear you enjoyed yourself so much! Everyone in your group couldn't have been nicer, what an International group indeed :-) We look forward to seeing you at the beginning of next year again and until then have a wonderful Thanksgiving & Christmas. Nicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catharpin, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Clay Corner Inn during VT Parents Weekend 2013. The room was very nice, clean and quiet. The grounds are very scenic and a great place to sit and enjoy a bottle of wine. It was great that the location was so close to the campus that we could just walk and not have to mess with traffic! Each morning we were served a great breakfast. Our only place to stay in Blacksburg is now the Clay Corner Inn!

We have already reserved a room for our son's graduation in 2017!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
And we look forward to having you back, time and time again until your Son graduates.. we have so much fun when you guys come. Pleased you enjoyed our breakfasts and Inn so all I can say now is thank you for your review and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed for one night after a football game and was amazed with the cleanliness of the place after all the foot traffic in and out over the weekend, I expected it to be even a little bit dirty. The overall atmosphere was great and very relaxing. There is a pool and zen garden and yoga area and the grounds are very scenic. The owners are extremely nice and live in their own house. You do not stay in their building and you can choose to eat alone or sit with others in the morning. Each room has a bathroom with a shower and the "Hokie Room" we stayed in was more than enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you found our Inn to be clean even after a crazy football weekend! We try our utmost that all our guests, whether during or after any event, find the Inn up to our standings and what each of our guests deserve :-) Rick and I remember you well and enjoyed having you here too. Thank you again for taking time to write this kind review. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My family with little girls enjoyed our stay very much. Lovely place to be. We stayed two nights during our trip through the eastern USA. The girls of course loved the pool, and the dogs Minky en Callypso. And we could relax too, with very tasty breakfasts and beautifull evenings at the terrace. We love to come again.
Laurette and Jan-Paul, Zeist, Netherlands

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Laurette & Jan-Paul, let me tell you that it was a delight for us to have you and your family here with us. Your young ladies were so amazing, their English was superb! Thank you also for sending me your follow up email, I really enjoyed reading it :-) We also would love to have you here again and hear all about your travels and life.... thank you for sharing your vacation time with us and until next time, have a wonderful life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Clay Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clay Corner Inn

Address: 401 Clay Street SW, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clay Corner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Blacksburgs only Boutique Hotel focused on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting for Business & Pleasure trips.Our prices include: Gourmet hot breakfast & homemade cold buffet, complementary business center and wifi throughout the B&B, swimming pool from April to October, kitchen for guests to cook lunches & dinners, free parking as well as being pet friendly. One block to Virginia Tech and downtown Blacksburg. Comforts of home, amenities of a fine hotel, friendliness of a small inn. A home away from home feel throughout. Owners live on premises who will be there to look after you during your stay. Closest lodging to Virginia Tech stadium, dorms, Coliseum, athletic fields. The only locally owned and operated small business lodging property in town! Simply -- the best lodging in Blacksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Clay Corner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Corner Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clay Corner Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.