We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place in Blacksburg, VA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clay Corner Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clay Corner Inn to your Saves list
Clay Corner Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   401 Clay Street SW, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Blacksburg B&B and Inns
West Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
“Excellent place in Blacksburg, VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay in the best tradition of B&Bs where you almost become part of the family. This was a business trip so I cannot comment on the price of the rooms which I do not know. It is located next to the Virginia Tech Campus. The room has no microwave, coffee machine etc. but you are allowed to use the kitchen facilities of the house in which you are staying so there is no problem with that (there are several separate houses with 4 rooms in each I believe). I wish I could stay there if I'm back in the area.

I highly recommend staying in the Clay Corner Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and letting us know that we could cater for your Business Trip and were able to make you feel comfortable and ready for work. It was a pleasure having you in our home and we definitely look forward to seeing you here again on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
52
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our second time staying at this hidden jewel ! My husband and I will never stay any where else when we visit our 2 sons at Va. Tech. It is quaint, homey, sparkling clean, blocks from campus with fabulous food and the sweetest owners you'll ever meet!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you have trouble with stairs choose one on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi and thank you for your kind review. It was great seeing you more settled in with your boys being away at college and it's great having you stay with us. We really enjoy your visits, maybe we could break away and have dinner next time you are down here... see you soon and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at the Clay Corner Inn while visiting our son at Virginia Tech. The accommodations were first rate, the bed was very comfortable and our hosts were warm and charming. The breakfast was fabulous both days we were there. It is easy walking distance to town and campus. We would love to come back again sometime!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a shame you couldn't stay longer :( We definitely look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future... Take care Nicky & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d.c.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Enjoyed a one-night stay at Clay Corner Inn with friends on our way to NC. Nicky & Rick (and pups Callie & Mokie) couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Our first floor suites were wonderful - king-size beds with a roomy sitting room attached with a TV (one in the bedroom also) - and a communal, fully-equipped kitchen and living area right outside our bedroom. There's a lovely deck area for having breakfast outside, as well as a little "Zen" area for quiet time. A pool is incorporated into this peaceful area. A delicious breakfast in the main house completed the stay. Have already started spreading the word about this lovely B & B and would stay here again if visiting the area.

Room Tip: First-floor suites are a comfortable, good value if you want to spread out a little. Children could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
It was a delight having you and your friends stay with us on your travels, you definitely are a wonderful bunch of people :) loved to hear your travel stories and hope you'll stop by again during another trip... we will definitely look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

No better place to stay in Blacksburg! We love staying here for our Virginia Tech weekends. We love meeting our old friends here. We were there on the first weekend Rick and Nicky took over as owners last September. They have made some great changes to the place. It hasn't looked better. It is so much more homey with them in charge. We had a great tailgating party right at the B&B. Rick was the real "Master of the Grill". Breakfasts were awesome!
Clay Corner Inn is with-in walking distance to downtown and to the football field/school.
Can't wait until next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
It was so great having you guys back celebrating a VTech football game with us again! It was nice also to be able to spend some downtime with you during the tailgate party. Thanks for coming and look forward to having you again next year..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We only stay one nite but it was very pleasant and cozy. Location is great and it was well worth the money. The room is large and roomy, it was nice to have a private bathroom in the room. We plan on staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are themed, so if you have a preference book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi Laura, the best part of your review is that you plan on staying with us again! We'd love to have you back, can't wait :) and don't worry all our rooms have private bathrooms so you can stay in any you like.... so let's just say.... "See you Soon!" and thank you for this great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Nicky and Rick are great! I planned a romantic getaway for my boyfriend's birthday and I couldnt have made a better choice! The room was wonderful, clean, comfortable, and most of all romantic. The overall staff was helpful, friendly, and attended to all our needs. Nicky helped with all the details for the evening from the beginning to the end. Rick makes delicious burgers and the breakfast was out of this world fantastic. I would HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone who wants to experience a great stay in Blackburgs. I stand behind it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
NO you were the perfect surprise planner and your boyfriend is a very lucky man (I think he knows that though). We are so pleased you enjoyed your Candlelight Dinner & Lovers Package. Oh dear you've created a monster......Rick is now walking around bragging about his burgers.... what have you done!! Seriously, we are so delighted you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again on another trip... Thank you for your kind words in this review you guys are wonderful people :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clay Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clay Corner Inn

Address: 401 Clay Street SW, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clay Corner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Blacksburgs only Boutique Hotel focused on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting for Business & Pleasure trips.Our prices include: Gourmet hot breakfast & homemade cold buffet, complementary business center and wifi throughout the B&B, swimming pool from April to October, kitchen for guests to cook lunches & dinners, free parking as well as being pet friendly. One block to Virginia Tech and downtown Blacksburg. Comforts of home, amenities of a fine hotel, friendliness of a small inn. A home away from home feel throughout. Owners live on premises who will be there to look after you during your stay. Closest lodging to Virginia Tech stadium, dorms, Coliseum, athletic fields. The only locally owned and operated small business lodging property in town! Simply -- the best lodging in Blacksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clay Corner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Corner Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clay Corner Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.