We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clay Corner Inn

Save Saved
You added Clay Corner Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clay Corner Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   401 Clay Street SW, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 4 Blacksburg B&B and Inns
Crofton, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We only stay one nite but it was very pleasant and cozy. Location is great and it was well worth the money. The room is large and roomy, it was nice to have a private bathroom in the room. We plan on staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are themed, so if you have a preference book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi Laura, the best part of your review is that you plan on staying with us again! We'd love to have you back, can't wait :) and don't worry all our rooms have private bathrooms so you can stay in any you like.... so let's just say.... "See you Soon!" and thank you for this great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
49
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Nicky and Rick are great! I planned a romantic getaway for my boyfriend's birthday and I couldnt have made a better choice! The room was wonderful, clean, comfortable, and most of all romantic. The overall staff was helpful, friendly, and attended to all our needs. Nicky helped with all the details for the evening from the beginning to the end. Rick makes delicious burgers and the breakfast was out of this world fantastic. I would HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone who wants to experience a great stay in Blackburgs. I stand behind it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
NO you were the perfect surprise planner and your boyfriend is a very lucky man (I think he knows that though). We are so pleased you enjoyed your Candlelight Dinner & Lovers Package. Oh dear you've created a monster......Rick is now walking around bragging about his burgers.... what have you done!! Seriously, we are so delighted you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again on another trip... Thank you for your kind words in this review you guys are wonderful people :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Our stay was so relaxing and comfortable.The room was great and so clean!The specially made breakfast served each morning was a treat. We felt very welcomed especially traveling with our dog. Looking forward to a return visit

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you in our home and we are pleased that your travels were made easier stopping off with us. Look forward to seeing you on your return visit :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from yet another amazing stay with Nicky and Rick. Have stayed at least 4 times in the past year and wouldn't stay anywhere else. We are always made to feel welcome and comfortable. We were dropping our Hokie off for the start of his 2nd year and he was able to join us for a wonderful breakfast. Once you finish reading these reviews, book quickly. You will wonder why you ever stayed anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Yes you are now part of the Clay Corner Inn family and we can't wait to see you again.. pleased to see you enjoyed breakfast and even though we do seem to be booking fast we will always do our best to have a room available for you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Second time stay at the Clay Corner Inn. We moved our daughter into a new apartment for her third year at VT, and we needed a comfortable, quiet place to stay with our dog. The Clay Corner Inn was wonderful, and we enjoyed the tranquility after a long day of driving and moving. We all slept like babies and enjoyed breakfast on the patio before departing for home. Hope to stay here every visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Oh no your third year, that means we only have 1 more year with your visits... not fair you guys are awesome!!! Thank you for the review and see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was my third stay at the Inn. My daughter was involved in a VT program and remained in the dorms so I had the room to myself. However, Rick and Nicky were ever the attentive hosts and invited me to the main house for pizza and wine to watch the Opening Ceremonies of the Olympics on the large flat screen. It is truly very comfortable being in their company.

The room was bright, airy and comfortable. Everything was clean and fresh as before. The pool and deck were refreshing and restful. Breakfast was delicious as ever. It was amusing to chat with Nicky about her culinary ideas for the next day's breakfast as she uses fresh produce each morning which allows her to tweak her recipes and menus.

I look forward to returning with my husband this fall!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hey it was delightful enjoying the Opening Celebration with you and trying to decipher many of the sections of this wonderful ceremony... Pleased to hear you liked some of the breakfast ideas so next time you come I'll be using you as a guinea pig to try them out (if you like of course) :). Look forward to seeing you soon and thanks for this wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My 17 year old son wanted to take some of his friends to spend the weekend in Blacksburg and the Clay Corner Inn was the perfect venue! Even three teenage football players appreciated the ameneties and the excellent, gourmet breakfast! They played for hours in the pool/deck area and later enjoyed the festival downtown! A more restful weekend I could not imagine. The afternoon cookies were also well-received! Close to campus, but quiet and secluded. My highest recommendation!

Room Tip: Staying in the main house is more quiet than the other two houses, but the 2nd and 3rd houses are ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Let me tell you your son and friends were awesome! so polite & respectful of the Inn and other guests... well, apart from the time one of them tried to knock me over when playing "Frisbee Pool" .... I think I got him back though :) Anyway thank you so much for picking our Inn for his Birthday and can't wait for you to return for some fun time with your husband....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clay Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clay Corner Inn

Address: 401 Clay Street SW, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clay Corner Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Blacksburgs only Boutique Hotel focused on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting for Business & Pleasure trips.Our prices include: Gourmet hot breakfast & homemade cold buffet, complementary business center and wifi throughout the B&B, swimming pool from April to October, kitchen for guests to cook lunches & dinners, free parking as well as being pet friendly. One block to Virginia Tech and downtown Blacksburg. Comforts of home, amenities of a fine hotel, friendliness of a small inn. A home away from home feel throughout. Owners live on premises who will be there to look after you during your stay. Closest lodging to Virginia Tech stadium, dorms, Coliseum, athletic fields. The only locally owned and operated small business lodging property in town! Simply -- the best lodging in Blacksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Clay Corner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Corner Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clay Corner Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.