We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and warm, we'll certainly be back and recommend it to friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clay Corner Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clay Corner Inn to your Saves list
Clay Corner Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   401 Clay Street SW, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$30 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 4 Blacksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Homely and warm, we'll certainly be back and recommend it to friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Fresh linen, clean rooms including common areas, swimming pool is well maintained. Breakfasts being the best way to start the day, with variety and taste ( not just culinary but also aesthetic). A week of comfort, privacy & relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
54
10
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Wanted to write review for this hotel despite not booking it thru this website, because the place was so fantastic and my experience there so good that I'm delighted to recommend it.

It's on the edge of the university campus so great location, the staff are really friendly and attentive, the rooms lovely, breakfast superb (the cooked option and the cold stuff both amazing - always ate too much!), and so many great touches - cool bottles of water in fridges, cans of pop, a pool to sit by with power sockets for work (and wifi).

All in all - couldnt' recommend the place more highly!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

What a find! I feel so fortunate that I found this gem. It's just exactly what you would hope for -- clean, charming, cozy, great shower, fabulous breakfast, very professional, delightful owner and staff...they've thought of everything for your comfort."

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We decided to book this place after rave reviews from Tripadvisor and have to say we were not disappointed at all! My wife, dog, and I stayed in this fantastic Bed and Breakfast from July 22 - July 24 and have to say was very impressed. Really felt like we were guests at someone's house and since we were the only ones in our "section" felt like we had an entire house to ourselves! This was our very first Bed and Breakfast stay and have to say I would not hesitate to come back here next time we visit Blacksburg!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The bed was comfortable without being too soft. Loved the feel of the sheets and it's nice to have a light blanket on the bed. Parking is a little tough and you might have to juggle cars. The bathroom was clean, but could use some updating. We couldn't get our computer to work in our room and had to use the one downstairs. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We are three friends on the way to Williamsburg who stopped over in Blacksburg to see Smithfield Plantation. We loved staying at Clay Corner Inn. It was comfortable, convenient, and we even got to play with a wonderful yellow lab. We will stay at Clay Corner Inn everytime we come to Blacksburg. Thanks so very much to all. By the way, the food was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We only stayed one night, but the accommodations and service were wonderful. In the morning upon our departure, we had to send a package. Joanne directly us to the local UPS store, but it was closed until later in the morning as it had just started "summer hours". Joanne said "no problem"; she would send the package later that day and charge our credit card for the cost!!! Thanks Joanne!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clay Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clay Corner Inn

Address: 401 Clay Street SW, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clay Corner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Blacksburgs only Boutique Hotel focused on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting for Business & Pleasure trips.Our prices include: Gourmet hot breakfast & homemade cold buffet, complementary business center and wifi throughout the B&B, swimming pool from April to October, kitchen for guests to cook lunches & dinners, free parking as well as being pet friendly. One block to Virginia Tech and downtown Blacksburg. Comforts of home, amenities of a fine hotel, friendliness of a small inn. A home away from home feel throughout. Owners live on premises who will be there to look after you during your stay. Closest lodging to Virginia Tech stadium, dorms, Coliseum, athletic fields. The only locally owned and operated small business lodging property in town! Simply -- the best lodging in Blacksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Clay Corner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Corner Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clay Corner Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.