We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for an out-of-towner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gillie's Vegetarian Cuisine

Gillie's Vegetarian Cuisine
153 College Ave, Blacksburg, VA 24060-7401
540-961-2703
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 106 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good for an out-of-towner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stopped in after spending a few hours on the road. My companion was a vegetarian, so we thought this would be a good place to stop. The atmosphere is casual and pretty hipstery, and the waitstaff was very friendly. The menu was a bit limited, I was hoping for more comfort food, I guess? Nonetheless, my food was tasty and you can't beat the price. My only complaints were that they were out of biscuits (although the bread was delicious) and the potatoes that came with my breakfast were way too salty. Altogether, I would consider stopping in again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    43
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This little place was wonderful! We don't usually eat vegetarian, but walked by this place during our self tour of Virginia Tech. Everything was great! The most delicious meals we had: the BBQ Shrimp Pizza, The Sonoma Veggie Melt Sandwich, The Greek Pasta Salad. The pretty good meal was the Bleu Salmon Burger. We sat outside on a beautiful day. The tables were either in the shade or had umbrellas. The waitress was friendly and attentive. One of the best meals on our college tour and very inexpensive!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OK, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Based on the high reviews, we tried Gillie's. My daughter and I had the catfish and grits, but found the dish bland. My wife did enjoy a sobu noodle dish very much. The service, music, and deserts were just OK. We were hoping for something a little better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great variety of options, good food, casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Visited based on a recommendation by a local and was pleased with the number of really good options on the menu that would make meat eaters happy even without meat. We each ordered something different - salmon, veggie napoleon, pasta - and all were very happy with flavor, portion size and presentation.

Live music started as we were finishing our meal and we stayed a bit to enjoy the bluegrass. Was a little warm for the outdoor seating, but wished we could have enjoyed that too (part of which can't be served alcohol).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Want to try again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Service felt out of equilibrium at lunch. A couple near me seemed to be ordering later but getting their food out faster. The Sonoma veggie melt was very good. I kept the olive relish on the side and was glad to be able to put only a small amount on my food as it was concentrated with olive flavor. The veggies were roasted nicely and the bread toasted, yet fresh. Since I didn't want much olive relish, I might have enjoyed some balsamic vinegar or a mustard. Service was a little off, so I didn't try to request these items. The food was still good, the extras may have just made them better. Chips and fresh guacamole were also good. My favorite was the taste I had of my daughter's "to-go" tofu Reuben. I was bringing it back to her, but had to taste a corner while it was fresh and hot. Yummy! I want to go back next time I'm in Blacksburg and order the Reuben for myself.

Wait staff will leave you the bill and you take it to the counter to pay after dining.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gillie's Vegetarian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Gillie's Vegetarian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gillie's Vegetarian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.