We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gillie's Vegetarian Cuisine

Gillie's Vegetarian Cuisine
153 College Ave, Blacksburg, VA 24060-7401
540-961-2703
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 106 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Leesburg, Virginia, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

For fellow vegetarians, you will find this a great place to eat in Blacksburg. They have a wide variety of meals and offer vegan selections too throughout the menu. The cook does specials most every night to tempt your taste buds. They also have non vegetarian selections on the menu, so everyone in you party should be satisfied with their visit. We like to go to breakfast at Gillie's as well, because they offer healthy and tasty alternatives to the typical restaurant breakfast menus.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    55
    36
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Purcellville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

When visiting my Virginia Tech student in Blacksburg, VA we always visit Gillie's for breakfast. Located within walking distance of the campus, Gillie's is an icon in Blacksburg and for good reason. Demand is clearly high as those happy to wait on Family Weekend Sunday were sitting on the steps across the street.

The decor is decidedly "unfancy" and the building is run-down but it is packed with happy diners. I had the poached eggs florentine and grits with cheddar. Even though the usual spinach was replaced by mixed greens, the meal was perfect. Everyone at our table was pleased with their meals and we left "happy (empty) plates."

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrific even for non-vegetarians”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Ate at Gillies while visiting Tech for Parents Weekend. Service was great. Michael was friendly and attentive. I had the shrimp and grits with okra-a special and it was fabulous. Perfectly spicy and full of flavor. Husband (a true carnivore) had the pacos nachos and loved it.

We will return every time we visit Tech!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore, Maryland
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Hurry Up Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We decided to go here for b'fast before the Virginia Tech football game on Saturday. Gillie's opens their doors at 8 and there was a line. The doors open and it's a rush to the tables as it is seat yourself. The tables immediately fill.

Then the staff goes into a hurry up offense... as service folks are running around delivering menus, water and coffee within a couple of minutes... to everyone. And then a servicer comes and takes your order. The quickest I've ever seen such an immediate response.

OK - the first thing that you notice on the menu is all the local products that are available. But... we're pancake folks and I went for the buttermilk and my wife the whole grain. Perfectly cooked... and hearty. All the items on the menu looked good, especially some of the egg combos.

This is a VT institution. And the best place for b'fast anywhere in the area. It's worth the wait, if you have to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hocking Hills, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A good restaurant in a college town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Based on ratings from TripAdvisor, we stopped in on our way to Pearisburg while on a short vacation. The food did not disappoint. Everything was fresh and delicious. I thought the prices were spot-on for quality food. We were there @ 2:00pm so there was no crowd and we were served promptly. If I am eve back in Blacksburg, I would go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gillie's Vegetarian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Gillie's Vegetarian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gillie's Vegetarian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.