We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunan King

Hunan King
801 University City Bvld, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 107 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Falkville
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is a college town, so the food better be good or the business will die. This one "hit the spot". The service was fast and the food was delicious. It seems to be a very popular place with the college kids too.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Definitely slipping”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I used to love this place and it was the only Chinese place I really ate. The last few visits though have been very disappointing. After recommending this place to my mom, she ordered dinner for us only to receive a dinner full of what tasted like burnt garlic. It made the entire meal taste burnt. She called to complain and instead of an apology or anything like that, the personshe spoke with argued with her that she was wrong and that there couldn't have been anything burnt in her meal. A few weeks later we decided to give them another chance only to again get meals with burnt something in them, although it was not as bad as the first time. The most recent event was the most frustrating. Myboyfriend and I ordered a couple of dinners tonight and after waiting for around an hour and a half for our meals we called to find out where the food was. The person on the phone seemed surprised that we hadn't gotten anything yet and said it should be here soon. Less than 10 minutes later we got a call saying that we had not provided the right address and that supposedly they had tried to call us several times but the call didnt go through. This seems fishy to me since our phone never rang but we could call them without issue. Then we were told that our food would have to be remade and sent back out. Now, after more than two hours of waiting we still have no food. It seems to me that the management is letting standards fall and they are unwilling to admit mistakes or do anything about them. While the food is still pretty good, I will not be eating here for a while.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Insect in the food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I don't usually make such public complaints, but this situation was just so unprofessionally handled that it makes me very sad to even write such a review.
Our visit was good until one point..
The interior is rather pretty with live turtles and fishes in a small pond. And big Chinese red signs in the hallway walls which looked pretty nice.
We were rather late - it was 9:20pm and we were the only guests. We ordered two vegetarian dishes that were overall good.
First, I still found a piece of bacon, though I don't eat meat (that's why I order vegetarian). But I was like Ok...everything happens, maybe they were cooking something right next to our dishes and it accidentally got in there. Though, I don't know what they were cooking if we were the only and last guests there.
We ate half and took the rest to go. After coming home we found something disgusting in that box inside the food.. It was some weird insect in our meal - it was obviously (yikes) cooked with everything. That's just gross..:(
More than that was gross, the insects and overall poor hygiene and food quality control are likely to jeopardize the health of guests of that restaurant. Especially students. As it's located in the heart of the university mall and many students dine here.
As it was late we called them up the next day and explained the situation. We did not want anything from them (though a good restaurant would do anything just for the sake of their reputation).. We didn't get any satisfactory response... It was kind of " ah, ok..."
Seriously ????????
Later, we realized maybe we spoke with someone who is not competent (new host or a server). So we gave them another chance and called them again explaining the situation and asking to talk to the manager or the owner. But the guy speaking to us said "oh, I can handle it".
hmmm...ok. We were still not sure who we were talking to, though..
He obviously was very unprofessional in dealing with the situation. It didn't seem as he was honestly shocked that something like this could happen in their restaurant and as whatever happened to us was an exception rather than a common practice...
He just said " I appreciate your feedback and, oh yeah, we are sorry it happened to you." We had a feeling that he just opened a manual on "what to do in such cases" and automatically read the phrases out from there.
He also said if you want you can come here with the photos of the insect you found (and we did took photos) and then we can talk about it. But.... Seriously. You make your guests come there again and prove that it really happened..??? Sorry, we are not wasting our time. And we are definitely not coming back.
We sincerely hoped that they just acknowledge that this case is 1 in a billion. And they make sure it will never happen with other guests. But no...
Sometimes it is just a matter of dealing with the situation. We understand that sometimes things happen at restaurants but.. If you don't deal with that properly, if you don't make your guests sure that such things never happen at your restaurant, then... you just don't want to keep your guests... And when such guests spread the word you lose even more potential guests. In a student town like Blacksburg with other excellent Chinese and other Asian restaurants around the competition is very high. It is very disheartening to see that some restaurants just take guests for granted and don't try to keep up with high standards. Even being an affordable (not high-end) type of restaurants.
Very disappointed...:(

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Great Chinese restaurant in college town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I dropped in Hunan King today while visiting the annual YMCA Craft show conducted in the surrounding shopping mall. This was my first visit - I'll be back.

The entrance to the Hunan King is through a long curved hallway, giving it a somewhat mysterious/adventuresome feeling. Around a corner and you meet the cashier/hostess who promplty shows you to a table. The inside decor is simple with a definite oriental ambiance. Interestingly, most of the other diners were Chinese students from Virginia Tech who seemed at home with the various dishes and using their chopsticks. I take this as an endorsement by the students that this restaurant is authentic and fits the students budgets.

We were offered the choice of the luncheon buffet or ordering a la cart from menus. Not knowing much about Chinese food the buffet was a safe choice for me. It was stocked with many meat dishes ranging from pork, chicken, duck and beef. I didn't realize there were so many kinds of egg rolls, they were serving 5 varieties today. The number of selections is not as large as I've seen in other Chinese buffets, but was more than adequate.

Total cost for 2 buffets and a beer was about $20. We'll be back not that we've ventured in for the first time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quick take out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Craving chinese and this was the perfect place. Generous quantity for the $$. Food was delicious and will go there again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan King also viewed

 

Been to Hunan King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunan King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.