We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place/Awesome Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Great Place/Awesome Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Great Place to stay. Clean and very nice rooms. Convenient to all the happening spots. They also have a shuttle that will take you and pick you up downtown

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSCI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Hi Reggleto,
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay with us. It’s great to see when guests take advantage of our value and location. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    53
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
112
40
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

The staff was very curteous and the beds were very comfortable. I like the indoor and outdoor pool options as well as the restaurant and bar on site. It is extremely convenient being directly across from VT Campus entrance and a host of other shops and stores near by. I'll stay here again on my next trip!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSCI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Doc 279,
Thanks so much for your thoughts. I am glad that you enjoyed the option of our indoor and outdoor pool. I am so glad that the location was a benefit to you. We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you are in Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

First, the hotel is in the best Blacksburg location by far. It is directly across the street from campus, so Virginia Tech and downtown Blacksburg are within easy walking distance. Second, the rooms are much nicer than a normal Holiday Inn. They were recently remodeled and include new cherry furniture, granite counters, large HD flat screen TVs and extremely comfortable beds and linens. Finally, the staff is very friendly and eager to please and goes above and beyond to make your stay great.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSCI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
MrFooz,
Thank you for taking a few moments to write such a fantastic contribution. We strive on a daily basis to provide excellent customer service to each and every guest. Thank you for mentioning our beautifully remodeled hotel rooms. Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richlands, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

I am a frequent visitor to the Holiday Inn Blacksburg. I began staying for Virginia Tech football games only but that quickly changed. Now I stay at different times almost year round. The location is unbeatable. Within walking distance there is shopping, restaurants, nightlife, beautiful surroundings, and of course the campus of Virginia Tech. Holiday Inn Blacksburg also has very clean and up to date rooms. I can't say enough about the staff, they are respectful, hard working, and well kept. I recommend Holiday Inn Blacksburg to all friends and family. To me it is definitely #1 in Blacksburg.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSCI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
BrandonTaylorVT
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your experience with us. Thank you for not only mentioning your great experience with us but also for recommending us, as well. We look forward to your return to Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Located practically ON campus and with the nicest of amenities, the Holiday Inn/Collegiate Inn is THE place to stay for Hokies games, other on-campus activities or in-town business. Service is friendly, courteous, and attentive to every need. The rooms are impeccable with large screen HD TVs and most likely the most comfortable bed in Blacksburg. For business or pleasure, for any thing related to downtown or campus this is the best by far.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSCI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
AlphaHokies,
Thank you very much for adding your thoughts about your stay with us. It is great to see when guests take advantage of our great amenities and location. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Blacksburg. We look forward to seeing you on your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Holiday Inn Blacksburg has a fantastic location, right across street from Virginia Tech. Once you park, no need for a car the rest of your visit.
Rooms are great with large screen TV and newly remodeled baths. Beds are comfortable.
Great to be able to park car right outside the room.
Food in dining room was excellent for both dinner and breakfast.
Staff is super friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSCI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Hi Rickandruth,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. We are pleased that we were able to enjoy some of our great amenities. We are glad that our location worked out for you, also. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

I stayed at the Blacksburg Holiday Inn for the first time since the rooms were remodeled and stayed in a Presidential Suite, and it was simply incredible. The property is located directly across from the Virginia Tech campus, the room was about 700 square feet and it was hard to believe it was a hotel room, much less a Holiday Inn. I was there for the VT vs. ECU football game and it was the best experience I have had in a hotel in the past several years. The staff was fantastic, as was the tailgate they hosted, service was impeccable, and the room was second to none - recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSCI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Mkjenkins,
Thank you for writing a review. I am so glad that you decided to stay in our Presidential Suite. We are very proud of all of our new renovations. We have some of the best staff in Blacksburg. We look forward to accommodating you on your next stay to Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Address: 900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#5 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Blacksburg is being redeveloped into a beautiful new site. That redevelopment has begun and the Holiday Inn is now closed. We look forward to serving you again in Fall 2016 as a brand new Hyatt Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Holiday Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.