We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay - Directly across the street from VT Campus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Haymarket, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay - Directly across the street from VT Campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

I stayed at the Blacksburg Holiday Inn for the first time since the rooms were remodeled and stayed in a Presidential Suite, and it was simply incredible. The property is located directly across from the Virginia Tech campus, the room was about 700 square feet and it was hard to believe it was a hotel room, much less a Holiday Inn. I was there for the VT vs. ECU football game and it was the best experience I have had in a hotel in the past several years. The staff was fantastic, as was the tailgate they hosted, service was impeccable, and the room was second to none - recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSCI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Mkjenkins,
Thank you for writing a review. I am so glad that you decided to stay in our Presidential Suite. We are very proud of all of our new renovations. We have some of the best staff in Blacksburg. We look forward to accommodating you on your next stay to Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    45
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
101
36
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

They've done a great job renovating this hotel. It was really nice to be able to stay there again now that they've finally fixed it up. Very very nice room and great staff. The location is great, so I'm glad to be able to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSCI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Hi Cristielee, We are pleased that you were able to stay in our newly renovated rooms. We are very excited about all of the new changes. We look forward to accommodating you the next time you travel to Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed here for a high school graduation. I was pleased with the updated room and beautiful grounds. Our room was spacious, clean, had grantie topped furniture and a flat panel TV. The grounds were beautiful with blooming flowers, outdoor pub height tables, and indoor and outdoor pools. The entire family enjoyed the stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSCI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Hello Melneric,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are very excited to have all of our rooms fully upgraded. Thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasonville, MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

This is an old Holiday Inn right on the edge of the Virginia Tech campus, but they are renovating and upgrading the rooms. If you stay here, make sure that you stay in one of the renovated rooms. They call the rooms suites, but they are really just hotel rooms with an upholstered chair. The rooms are very small. However, they are modernized and comfortable. The bedding is very comfortable and we slept well. There were some issues with the HVAC, because of the age of the facility. It was hard to control and the room was either very cold or very warm. However, that was not a big problem because we slept well under the very comfortable bedding. They have a great outdoor pool, which we didn't use, but was really enjoyed by a number of the people staying there. The two best things about this hotel, is (1) the staff are the most friendly and accommodating; typical southern hospitality and (2) location, location, location. This is the closest hotel to campus and accessible to everything. You can walk across the street to the Panera Bread for breakfast. In Blacksburg, all of the hotels( and there are a lot) are totally booked and raise their prices for the premier nights; move in and move out for students and football games. Expect to pay premium prices for those times. So fas far as value it was expensive, but not considering that I made my reservations 2 months in advance and the whole town was booked. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSCI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Hi Bayshorelife,
Thank you for writing a review. Your comments will help us improve our property. All of our rooms are now renovated, we have standard rooms, executive suites and presidential suites. We look forward to accommodating you when you travel back to Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

This is a hard one to write: the customer service at this place went above and beyond my expectations.
The room was seriously gross though. I have never actually seen food on a hotel floor before, the cups were actually dirty, mold in the shower, the breakfast menu actually had orange juice on it. I actually felt the need to put towels on the floor to stand on to change with bare feet.
I understand they are refurbishing, but come on, you stop housekeeping because you are redecorating?
The worst part? One of the beds had not been changed. There were actual fresh hairs (not after laundering, like someone had just slept in it) and you could tell that the bedding had just been pulled back up, but not actually changed.

It was bad. If the rooms matched the service this would be a 5 star review.

My daughter will be going to VT in the fall and I was really hoping to be able to stay at this hotel since it is dog friendly....now I will have to find another hotel around that accepts pets.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSCI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
Hi treebw,
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you had great service. We are using this opportunity to address this with our staff. We hope you visit us again. The rest of our room renovations will be complete this week, we will have new furniture and completely new bathrooms in every room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Va
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We were there for a graduation and thought the hotel and staff were terrific they couldn't been more helpful. They had great suggestions for thing to do and various restaurant in the area. Our room was lovely,nice plaza television with a great choice of stations. I was really impressed with the bed linens also the toiletries. The weather was awful so the indoor pool got a lot of use. if it weren't so far away I think it would be a fabulous destination for a weekend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSCI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Hi Valuseeker, Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed several of our wonderful amenities. I am sorry that the weather wasn’t the best but glad that you could take advantage of our indoor pool. We look forward to accommodating you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

All staff were very friendly and the services offered were well maintained and extremely cared for.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSCI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Hi 1Fuzz, Thank you for your recommendation. We are very happy that we could go above and beyond your expectations. We look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Address: 900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#6 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Blacksburg has to offer at the 100% smoke-free, convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn University. You are at the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance to Virginia Tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Holiday Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.