We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Closed, NO NOTIFICATION” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Closed, NO NOTIFICATION”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a room at Holiday Inn-Blacksburg on 10/28/14 for our stay on 05/2/15 to move our daughter home from college. We received a confirmation email today, THREE DAYS before our trip, with a different confirmation number. Upon contacting Holiday Inn customer service we were advised that this Holiday Inn is no longer a member of the Holiday Inn chain and CLOSED last month. Holiday Inn refused to take any responsibility for their notification failure, stating that their hotels are "independently owned." Wonder if they'll notify the families with reservations for next weekend's graduation???

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    53
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
112
40
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Our family continues to stay at the Holiday Inn Blacksburg when we visit our daughter who attends Virginia Tech. We're tried other hotels, and this hotel is our favorite. Pricing, IHG points, location, cleanliness, staff, amenities, and service - they've got it all. My only recommendation is to change out the Folger's coffee.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, March 26, 2015
Thank you for staying with us while you are visiting your Hokie! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGaheysville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We went here last minute because the other hotel we tried to stay at (Main Street Inn) had a pipe burst and flooded in the winter hotel storm.

And we were very pleasantly surprised! The Holiday Inn was much cheaper, had plenty of parking, had a restaurant and bar with a very friendly bartender, and a free breakfast that was delicious - mmm, bacon.

Would definitely return - great value for the money. Well done!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us. We are very glad you were pleasantly surprised and hope you stay with us again next time.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Our non-profit organization frequently schedules meetings at this location for a catered dinner and presentation from a guest speaker. The staff is always very attentive to our needs, the food is always very good, and we've enjoyed having our meetings here. I highly recommend this location!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Thank you for choosing to have your banquets with us. It is our pleasure to serve you and your guests. We look forward to our next event.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

The overall quality of the stay was very good. The staff from the front desk to room service to the restaurant to the lounge went above and beyond to accommodate our needs whether business or personal. The only areas that I had issues with are the noise levels on the rooms exposed to the street sides and the beds were not very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for leaving us a review. We were happy to serve you and we are sorry to hear you thought our bed was uncomfortable. Please let us know what we can do for you during your next visit to give you the most restful experience. Thank you again for your review.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hockessin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Hotel rooms are just ok. Rooms were updated but only a 3 star at best. Great proximity to VT. Wonderful helpful staff. Nice football tailgate for guests staying at hotel. Heard that this hotel would be torn down soon to make way for 2 hotels on this large piece of real estate.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, February 4, 2015
Thank you for staying with us during a football game weekend and for complimenting our team. Your feedback is really important to us. We look forward to your next stay.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

We've stayed at this location a number of times because of it's close proximity (within walking distance actually) to VT and have never been disappointed. If I were to have a complaint it would have to be that continental breakfast is not covered with an overnight stay. The restaurant is nice. The food and service are both very good with moderately priced breakfast items. A bit more time consuming than grabbing a cup of coffee and danish on the go however.

Room Tip: There are some lovely ground floor rooms which have sliding glass doors in back which open providing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, February 4, 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to serving you again soon.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Address: 900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#5 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Blacksburg is being redeveloped into a beautiful new site. That redevelopment has begun and the Holiday Inn is now closed. We look forward to serving you again in Fall 2016 as a brand new Hyatt Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Holiday Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.