We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Very friendly and helpful people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

When we checked in Alex at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. He took the time to explain everything and to call us by name. A lot of people were checking in simultaneously, but he streamlined the process efficiently!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    51
    32
    13
    10
See reviews for
108
39
16
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Customer Service is exceptional - very accommodating and friendly. However, the room I was in was seeing its age - wall covering below sprinkler head was torn along its vertical seam; and the door to the room didn't seem to have a tight fit within the jamb and header. It closed securely and locked, but there was a gap on each side of the door of about 3/16" when closed - not good a strategy for soundproofing.

Room Tip: There are no elevators in this hotel and it is horizontally spread out. However, they are very, ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are so happy our service was exceptional. Your feedback will be shared with the appropriate staff to ensure that we take care of the items you mentioned. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clairsville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They have it all, plenty of parking even for big trucks. On site bar and restaurant. I was there for "wing night". Excellent bartender, very friendly, no minimum quantities on seperate wing flavors!!!
The on site breakfast is staffed by super nice ladies too.
The front desk guy helped correct some issues that I'd messed up on when making my reservations, all in all, very helpful and very hospitable

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for leaving us a five-star review and for complementing our team. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in Blacksburg.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice stop. Excellent value. Friendly and efficient checkin. Attractive property. Great location as it is in walking distance to the campus. Full service restaurant. Breakfast buffet was just OK. I would definitely stop here again as it is convenient to I81 for travelers using that highway.







  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you had a very nice stop and look forward to you staying with us again.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfy beds, clean, well-appointed rooms, nice bar for a drink all make this a great location for a visit to Virginia Tech. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again, hopefully for a football or basketball game in the future!









  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you the next time you are in town.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Great location across from Virginia Tech University provides easy access. The free tailgate on Campus complete with food and drinks is wonderful. No need to bring anything but yourself. The shuttle is very nice and efficient when you need a ride to or from town - especially late at night. I would recommend this hotel; however, just found out they are closing. So sad to hear this news.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, December 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for choosing to stay with us! We are happy you were able to join us for our tailgate. We look forward to serving you the next time you are in Blacksburg.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Room was NOT as depicted on website- I complained about the false advertising of the rooms and in 2 days time the pictures were removed from the website.
(proof they were misleading consumers on room amenities)
Heating/Air was only working in one room of the suite-I froze the entire night and had to use towels because the blanket was paper thin.
Room was not properly cleaned- went to make the bed on the pullout and sheets for the pullout were used by a previous guest and thrown in a ball in the bottom of the armoire, ice bucket was full of dirty water from previous guest, change and trash was strewn about on the floor.
Bar/restaurant was closed due to private party and this was not mentioned upon arrival, went to the bar right before going to bed to wind down only to find out it was closed. SO annoyed.
Refrigerator also did not work, only the freezer worked. I had to fill the bottom bin with ice and use bags of ice to keep our food cold that we had packed for the next day
Alex (the manager) was completely unhelpful and humiliated me when dealing with him trying to resolve my issue during check in. He only helped me when another manager was there later in the evening.
Not one thing was positive about this experience.
This was my first time at a Holiday Inn and as a Marriott Platinum member I will NEVER EVER stay in a Holiday Inn again.
Waste of money and with the 100% gurantee they should have cordially refunded me for the stay but did not.
100% guarantee is a lie.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
I am truly disappointed we were not able to recover from our shortcomings to make your stay more satisfactory. We work diligently to ensure our hotel is well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and superior accommodations. It was regrettable to hear your feedback regarding the issues with cleanliness and room condition and we have investigated every issue you mentioned. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the best experience in Blacksburg.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Address: 900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#5 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Blacksburg has to offer at the 100% smoke-free, convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn University. You are at the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance to Virginia Tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Holiday Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.