We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Executive Suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
“Great Executive Suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location across from Virginia Tech University provides easy access. The free tailgate on Campus complete with food and drinks is wonderful. No need to bring anything but yourself. The shuttle is very nice and efficient when you need a ride to or from town - especially late at night. I would recommend this hotel; however, just found out they are closing. So sad to hear this news.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    50
    31
    13
    10
See reviews for
105
39
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was NOT as depicted on website- I complained about the false advertising of the rooms and in 2 days time the pictures were removed from the website.
(proof they were misleading consumers on room amenities)
Heating/Air was only working in one room of the suite-I froze the entire night and had to use towels because the blanket was paper thin.
Room was not properly cleaned- went to make the bed on the pullout and sheets for the pullout were used by a previous guest and thrown in a ball in the bottom of the armoire, ice bucket was full of dirty water from previous guest, change and trash was strewn about on the floor.
Bar/restaurant was closed due to private party and this was not mentioned upon arrival, went to the bar right before going to bed to wind down only to find out it was closed. SO annoyed.
Refrigerator also did not work, only the freezer worked. I had to fill the bottom bin with ice and use bags of ice to keep our food cold that we had packed for the next day
Alex (the manager) was completely unhelpful and humiliated me when dealing with him trying to resolve my issue during check in. He only helped me when another manager was there later in the evening.
Not one thing was positive about this experience.
This was my first time at a Holiday Inn and as a Marriott Platinum member I will NEVER EVER stay in a Holiday Inn again.
Waste of money and with the 100% gurantee they should have cordially refunded me for the stay but did not.
100% guarantee is a lie.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I am truly disappointed we were not able to recover from our shortcomings to make your stay more satisfactory. We work diligently to ensure our hotel is well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and superior accommodations. It was regrettable to hear your feedback regarding the issues with cleanliness and room condition and we have investigated every issue you mentioned. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the best experience in Blacksburg.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Made our reservations last minute and had a wonderful stay. The only down side for me was foam pillows, while i understand why for allergy reasons they use them. The room was spacious and the front desk help was very friendly. A great place to stay in Blacksburg!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again soon.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a very well run facility. The rooms are well kept, state of the art furnishings (new TV's , granite counter tops, nice bed) and the customer service exceeded my expectations. Location is right on campus and central to Blacksburg. I like the room arrangement best and bar design least (dated).

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and leaving a five-star review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to be able to serve you again soon.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Stayed two nights to run in the Hokie Half Marathon. Front Desk and housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel location is right there near the campus with easy access to everything in and around Blacksburg and Christianburg. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast deal but will definitely do that the next stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the Hokie Half Marathon weekend and for leaving us a review. We hope to have you back soon!

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

An older hotel that is fairly well maintained. Were there for the weekend in late August, picking up our son at the end of New Cadet Week at VT, so the purpose of the weekend was simply for him to be able to chill out and relax for a day before the start of class. We found a TV that quickly stopped functioning, which was an inconvenience. Brought to the staff's attention but for some reason it was never repaired or replaced as expected. Since this was move in weekend at VT, the room rates were exhorbitant. That one uncorrected issue has really tainted my view of this Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: No elevators so skip the second floor if you have difficulty carrying your luggage upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our hotel. Our efforts are always to ensure our guests are satisfied. It is disappointing to know we did not correct your TV issues. We have taken note of your feedback as this will help us to continually improve the services and facilities we offer to our guests. We value your comments and we hope to have another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Rooms are pretty huge, the breakfast is ok. I got some issues with the shower's door that made the water leak through the entire bathroom. The wifi really sucks. Attendants are really charismatic. Everything is close to it. It's an ok hotel.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are happy your room was a good size and our attendants were charismatic. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements. We hope to serve you again soon!

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Address: 900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#5 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Blacksburg has to offer at the 100% smoke-free, convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn University. You are at the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance to Virginia Tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Holiday Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.