We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Holiday Inn is conveniently located near Virginia Tech. I spent several days here as we prepared for and attended a family wedding. Ryan and Van were extremely helpful in working out logistics of transporting family members and friends to and from the rehearsal and ceremony. Van even took the bride to pick up her wedding gown. The rooms were clean and the grounds well kept. There seems to be quite a range of room rates for the same room type. I was charged more for my room than another family member who had the same type room. When I questioned this with management my room rate was reduced.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your recent review and for staying with us for such a special event. We are pleased to hear that our team was helpful. We hope you stay with us again the next time you are in Blacksburg.

Ken Rogers
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    46
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
102
37
15
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Ryan and Andy at the front desk were fantastic, check in was quick and they gave us great tips on best places to eat. The suite was perfect, newly remodeled. no complaints at all! Will stay here again when visiting our college student. Thanks!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone and for complimenting Ryan and Andy. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Thanks to Mike, Ryan and Andy for taking care of us.
Had a last minute check in after a long trip, and they provided best deal,
Included breakfast and for being a rewards member included goodie bag.
Great job guys!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your five-star review! We would love to have you as our guest again the next time you are in Blacksburg.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were in Blacksburg moving our son in to his sophomore year at Virginia Tech. After an exhausting day of in and out and back and forth to various stores we checked in to the Holiday Inn. Since our younger son was invited to stay with our college student at his new house we inquired about a room change to a king size bed instead of two doubles. Ryan at the front desk was more than accommodating and asked if we would enjoy a free upgrade to a suite since there were no king size beds available. Marissa was more than happy to complete our upgraded reservation and we enjoyed a relaxing evening after a long day of moving. The next morning we enjoyed two complimentary breakfast buffets also thanks to Ryan. We really appreciated the upgrades and the wonderful service provided by Ryan and Marissa.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor and because the room opens to the parking lot via a sliding glass door i...
See more room tips
Green Features: We really didn't stay long enough to evaluate the environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while moving in your Hokie and for complimenting Ryan and Marissa. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This was our first trip to Blacksburg as we were moving our son to medical school. We stayed two nights at the Holiday Inn and spent a lot of time in the room and around the pool. We were upgraded to a suite which was so nice as we met family for a pizza dinner in the room. We rode the bikes (provided for free) around the Virginia Tech Campus and slept in the most comfortable bed. Adam was working at the front desk both days and was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again for the White Coat Ceremony.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments for everyone to see and for choosing to stay with us during such an exciting time! We can't wait to have you back.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek GA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

This is our half way point between PA and GA and we will definitely stay here again. Rooms were clean, restaurants close by and the employees are great. Adam was super accommodating and even fixed our TV. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with everyone and for choosing to stay with us during your trip. We are thrilled we will get to see you again the next time you are in our area.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very convenient to Virginia Tech and one of the most friendly and accommodating staff I have ever seen. The only reason for a four rating is that, although the hotel has only two stories, there is no elevator, and the stairs to the second floor are fairly steep. As a senior citizen this was a problem for me when we checked in and found our rooms were on the second floor. This was remedied immediately when I asked if there was anything on the first floor. If this is an issue I recommend you mention it when making reservations. In the future we plan several trips to Blacksburg, and this will definitely be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Our entire team would like to thank you for the compliments in your review. We hope we have another chance to serve you again soon.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Address: 900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#5 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Blacksburg has to offer at the 100% smoke-free, convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn University. You are at the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance to Virginia Tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Holiday Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.