We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true "accidental" find...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Choctaw,OK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A true "accidental" find...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Planned to stay in Roanoke, but there was absolutely no availability anywhere! Kept driving, decided to try Blacksburg and stopped at the Holiday Inn...oh, my, gosh, did we ever luck in! Yes, they had rooms, and it was a beautiful hotel. Only two-stories but very large, with many halls, gardens, a pool, tennis court, a restaurant and plenty of parking. Our room was, as asked for, in the back but facing inside to the gardens and clean as a whistle. Refrigerator, coffee set ups, the usual bathroom extras...ONLY complaint was that the tub didn't want to drain, sure to be an easy fix for the next guest. Had a rate that included the breakfast buffet - hot scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, waffle maker, oatmeal, cold cereal, fruit, yogurt...if you couldn't find something to eat, you had a problem! Good service with to-go-cups offered without asking. Great experience...See review of Bull and Bones restaurant.

Room Tip: We went for the back of the hotel, facing the inner court, #189
See more room tips
Green Features: The usual "save the towels", always a good idea.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    40
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
93
36
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

So this hotel is not bad, reasonable price, clean room what you would expect for a Holiday Inn. However, the nice, man working here is ALL ALONE. Apparently they had an employee quit this morning so the hotel management has him here solo after a root canal today of all things! All that being said, Ryan handled it all with a very capable, pleasant, humorous attitude which made it all work out fine. Kiddos to Ryan, he is likely an indispensable employee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Most stay at hotel in Blacksburg. Conveniently located and the staff was fantastic. Rooms were very clean. Very good stay after a 10 hour drive. Virginia Tech is within walking distance and Downtown is a short ride away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We love hearing feedback from our guests and are so happy you had a very good stay! We hope you visit Blacksburg again soon.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After a 10 hour drive checking in with Van and Ryan behind the desk made the trip worth the hours! Nice friendly and funny, just what you need after a long drive.
Great pool area to enjoy while the kids took a dip

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for complimenting Van & Ryan! We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Amanda
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My sister got married this past weekend at the Blacksburg Country Club, and she and her fiancé blocked off several rooms for myself (the maid of honor) and other family members and members of the wedding party. Let me say first and foremost - Van and Ryan were AMAZING. They had great personalities and amazing customer service skills; they accommodated a last second request for bridal party prep that had not come up before (I think Todd helped out..?) with the utmost helpfulness. The front desk staff assisted in an emergency trying to retrieve things from a room that was missing it's keys (music for the big day left in the bride and groom's suite) and upon checkout, the lovely young woman who helped me was gracious and professional when dealing with several of us checking out at one time. I've stayed here twice, with the previous stay being last fall for the same bride's shower, and will only stay here again in the future. The room service food was delicious, the shuttle service and driver were FANTASTIC, and it really is conveniently located to all downtown amenities. Thank y'all from the bottom of my heart for helping to make this past weekend memorable and special for my little sister!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for sharing this special time with us. We were delighted to host your friends and family and are so happy to be a small part of the special weekend! We hope to welcome you back soon!

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The apartment I just moved into started leaking massive amounts of chemical water from a leak in the sprinkler system. My leasing company tried to tell me that they could only get me a room at the holiday inn university for Thursday night because it was fully booked. The construction was going to take 5 days. Ryan, Van, and Adam were so helpful! They helped me keep my sanity haha! Ryan and Van were able to find me a king room for all 5 nights, easily. Their customer service skills were exceptional. I really appreciated the great hospitality when I am dealing with a leasing company who doesn't even know what the word means. Definitely suggest staying here.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for sharing your experience and for complimenting our team!

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here many times over the last 2 years and will stay here many times again for the next 2. This is a very well run property. Rooms are clean and spacious, beds are very comfy. The pool area is nice and the restaurant is fine for a cocktail or breakfast. If your son or daughter attends VT, they are only a short walk away. Coffee is served in the lobby where you will find very friendly and helpful employees. Walking distance to several restaurants and stores and a 2 minute drive to campus and downtown. We have stayed at several other Blacksburg hotels if the Holiday Inn wasn't available and we always come back to it.

Room Tip: you can park your car right up to some of the first floor rooms-great if you have alot of stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for leaving us your review and for your loyalty! We are so happy to serve you and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Address: 900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#6 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Blacksburg has to offer at the 100% smoke-free, convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn University. You are at the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance to Virginia Tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Holiday Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;