We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit our needs perfectly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fairfax Station, Virginia
1 review
“Fit our needs perfectly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We needed a place close to Virginia Tech and this was perfect. We did not have a reservation but Adam at the front desk was able to get us in at a great rate! The room was spacious and clean. We plan to stay here again when we do the formal tour of Tech.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy we fit your needs perfectly. We can't wait to see you again during your next visit to VT.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    46
    29
    13
    9
See reviews for
102
37
15
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very clean rooms; perfect location to Virginia Tech. Front desk associate, Van, went above and beyond to assist in a personal matter on short notice. All front desk associates I worked with were very professional and friendly.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms won't have car lights and horns beeping from being locked, right outside your wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We hope to serve you again soon!

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I read most of the reviews of this hotel before writing mine because I wanted to see if our expectations were too high, or if others felt the way I did. We travel a lot and stay in hotels several times a year, so we know a good one when we find it. The Holiday Inn - University Blacksburg is the hardest hotel I've ever reviewed because it has so much going for it, yet fails on some of the most basic things.

The staff of the hotel are unfailingly friendly and helpful. In fact, I have the feeling they are working extra hard to please the guests and compensate for the hotel's other shortcomings. It almost works! It's hard to write an honest review when you see such nice and earnest people working so hard to make you happy.

The rooms are fine. The beds are soft and very comfortable, and we had all the amenities we needed. Yes, the A/C is loud, but that's typical in hotels this old and I never travel anywhere without ear plugs, so no problem. Cleanliness, however, is an issue.

The rooms are only getting quick surface cleaning and you don't need a white glove to see just where it stops. The dust was so thick on the TV cable box I could have written my name. While trying to find an outlet next to the bed to charge my phone, I was disgusted by the filth behind the nightstand. If you stay here, don't go looking for dirt because you will find it. The bathroom did seem clean, though.

It's the little things that niggle. The water from the melted ice in our ice bucket was there when we arrived, and never emptied by housekeeping our entire 3 nights in the hotel. The one glass drinking glass (plastic Dixie cups were plentiful) in the room was never replaced with a clean one, although it was clearly used each night. The bed coverlet was not replaced with a clean one after I'd dropped a small bit of food from room service on it. The phone in the room didn't work and it took 3 calls to the front desk from my cell phone to get someone to fix it.

The problem is, this hotel is way too expensive for what it is: an old facility with some housekeeping problems. If we come back to Blacksburg, I think we'll go elsewhere. However, I am sure we'll never find a friendlier place.

Room Tip: We didn't mind schlepping our luggage up the stairs to a second floor room with a courtyard view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your candid review and for complimenting our team. Please allow us to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity show you our improvements on your future visit to Blacksburg.

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I were in Blacksburg visiting our daughter and triplett Grands and chose this hotel for its location, being close to our daughter.

What a great experience! The staff was extremely welcoming when we arrived and check-in was a breeze. Special thanks to Ryan and Adam for their help in making our stay special! Thanks, Guys!

Room Tip: We were able to get a 1st floor room close to the fitness center and pool area.
See more room tips
Green Features: Not sure about policies;however, we did see where Recycling was practiced.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for the 5-star review and for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to serving you again when you visit your family!

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a great stay at the Holiday Inn Blacksburg. Ryan, Van and Adam made our vist so great. They were very professional and helpful!!!! The hotel was clean and the restaurant was good. Great location.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review. We hope to take care of you again soon!

Amanda M
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have been staying at the Holiday Inn University Blacksburg for the last month while completing a research program at Virginia Tech. My stay has excelled my expectations. From check-in, Adam, Ryan, and Van have greeted me and provided me with everything I need to make my stay most comfortable. They have had great recommendations for places to visit and eat, and have even provided the Holiday Inn Van to take us to and from dinner on a few occassions. This staff is so accommodating and kind. The rooms are clean, the breakfast buffet has a wide variety of choices, and the lobby and pool atmospheres are most relaxing. Even though I am not at home, the accommodations and friendliness of the staff have made me feel like family.

Green Features: The hotel allows you to choose whether you prefer to have your towels and bedding laundered nightly.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We love having you with us and are so happy you feel like family!

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I had a change of last minute sleeping venues During my orientation trip to VTECH with my daughter, due to VTECH affording me the much unwanted opportunity to sleep on a plastic mattress for $94.00...if you would have seen the look on my face when I saw my initial sleeping arrangements...you would have thought someone had stole my birthday!!! Needless to say Van at the Holiday Inn in Blacksburg was empathetic and sympathetic to my needs/wants and helped me during my DIVA moment breakdown!!! VAN was my HERO!! Plus I get to enjoy the super awesome breakfast that the Holiday Inn is known to have!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your review and look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you visit your Hokie!

Ken Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Address: 900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#5 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Blacksburg has to offer at the 100% smoke-free, convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn University. You are at the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance to Virginia Tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Holiday Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.