We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to host event” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
“Perfect place to host event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We recently hosted an event at this venue that needed to accommodate approximately 100 people, including dinner, a dance floor and a DJ. We began searching for a venue in September, and the Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg was immediately very responsive and open to our needs for our organization. Angela, our contact in the sales office, was incredibly helpful and accommodating, starting from day one. She listened to what we needed, and did her best to see how their venue could best fit our needs. That hard work ethic and kindness continued until the day of the event. Every e-mail we sent, she quickly responded with an answer or saying that she would find out and indeed she did and got back to us very quickly. Our event could not have been as successful as it was without her. On the day of the event, the entire banquet staff, manager on duty and the front desk staff were so helpful. We had a few hiccups but they were there every step of the way to do what they could to help us. We just want to say thank you to Angela, Tom, Vimal, Helen, Ephraim, Mitch, Brooke, Olivia, and Alicia. We really appreciate it!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your event experience and for taking the time to thank our team. We are so happy you had a great experience!

Ken R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    53
    33
    13
    10
See reviews for
111
40
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falkville
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I don't typically stay at Holiday Inn's and usually it's because of price. However, a recent business trip had me staying at this particular location because all the events were being held here. I must say this is a very clean, comfortable, affordable, and up to date facility. The lobby and hallways were exceptionally clean. The staff were extremely pleasant and the rooms were very well kept. Clean, comfortable beds. Large screen flat TV's. Indoor pool that was clean and the area was well kept. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will stay again if I'm ever in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review after your recent business trip. We are happy you had an extra nice experience. We hope to see you again the next time your business brings you to Blacksburg!

Ken R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We used the hotel for our organization's largest function of the year. The staff was excellent from start to finish. People are still telling us they loved everything from the rooms to the staff and the space. We have not heard one negative comment from our guests. The staff was more than friendly and accommodated all of our needs above and beyond. Even when things were stressful and the hotel was packed full of people, the staff didn't miss a beat and kept a calm smile on their faces the whole time. Tom's banquet team (Carol, Brooke, Sam, Ben, Mitch, and Casey) were remarkable, and we could not have had the success we had during our event without their help setting up and breaking down rooms with lightning speed and precision. They anticipated our needs before we even knew them. Tom and his staff made serving hundreds of people for eight straight hours look easy and we cannot thank them enough. Also the front desk staff (Jessica, Helen, Melissa, Robert, and Zach) did a great job of taking care of our guest and their room needs. Once again they handled everything very well and greeted all of our guest when they walked by. We also want to commend Angela for making our event possible. We love her. We hope to use your facilities again in the future.

Room Tip: Pick this hotel! Best tip I can give.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so thrilled you had a great event and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Ken R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg during a brief trip to meet our brand new granddaughter and visit our son, his wife, and our grandson. This hotel is across the street from Virginia Tech University and only about 2 miles from our son's house. We had used points for our first night and had purchased 2 additional nights. Check-in was quick and painless. The room (a regular king room) was very spacious. It contained a large flat screen TV, sleeper love seat, desk, microwave and larger-than-normal refrigerator with a small freezer section. The bath was well appointed. The bed linens were very nice and the bed was comfortable. The room was very quiet, but the hotel did have very few guests. The cleaning staff were very friendly and efficient. They also cleaned the coffee pot and replaced regular coffee, creamer, and fresh cups each day. My only complaints were that getting one night with points and two others with regular payment, required two reservations on the Holiday Inn webpage and actually a separate check-in once there; and the fact that there was no complimentary breakfast. The small onsite restaurant did have a very reasonably priced and very tasty breakfast, however.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Congratulations on your brand new granddaughter! We are so happy to have had the opportunity to serve you while you were visiting your family. Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to serving you again during your next visit.

Ken R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I was in town for a college recruiting trip when the city was hit with a 20 inch snow storm overnight. It might have derailed our investment had it not been for the hotel staff. They helped us use their facility to keep out interviews going. But most important, they went above and beyond to make their facility accessible to guests, visitors and staff. They even had their staff of Matt and mark clean the snow off guests cars so they could try to venture out for food or other things. Not that it mattered because the hotels services didn't skip a beat from food to pool to warmth. They did it around the clock. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We appreciate you staying with us for your recruiting trip. We were happy to serve you during and after our snowstorm. We look forward to your next visit to Blacksburg!

Ken R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg when they had a devastating snow storm. I was stuck in my room for a few days, unable to travel for business. Fortunately, the staff, specifically Ashley, made my stay extremely enjoyable in this very unfortunate weather. My rent-a-car was buried in two feet of snow and the maintenance staff (Mark and Matt?) shoveled my car out. I'm sure that this was not in their job description, but they did it anyway. The hospitality at this hotel is unparalleled.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for complimenting our team! We were happy to provide you the extra services during the snow storm. We look forward to serving you again the next time you're in Blacksburg.

Ken R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We visit Blacksburg a couple times a year. We have found this hotel to be the ideal location. We love the comfortable beds, flat screen TV, fridge, nicely appointed furnishings, wifi and their breakfast buffet is great too before heading out of town. The hotel hosts a great tailgate and the shuttle service to and from the game is so convenient. The staff is very nice and helpful too. Our kids love swimming in the indoor pool. We have enjoyed having access to the courtyard from our room for fresh air and some pre-game cornhole. Don't be fooled by the exterior, this property is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you visit Blacksburg. We appreciate you taking the time to let everyone know about your experience. We look forward to your next visit!

Ken R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Address: 900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#5 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Blacksburg has to offer at the 100% smoke-free, convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn University. You are at the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance to Virginia Tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Holiday Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.