We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay while visiting new granddaughter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montgomery, Texas
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay while visiting new granddaughter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg during a brief trip to meet our brand new granddaughter and visit our son, his wife, and our grandson. This hotel is across the street from Virginia Tech University and only about 2 miles from our son's house. We had used points for our first night and had purchased 2 additional nights. Check-in was quick and painless. The room (a regular king room) was very spacious. It contained a large flat screen TV, sleeper love seat, desk, microwave and larger-than-normal refrigerator with a small freezer section. The bath was well appointed. The bed linens were very nice and the bed was comfortable. The room was very quiet, but the hotel did have very few guests. The cleaning staff were very friendly and efficient. They also cleaned the coffee pot and replaced regular coffee, creamer, and fresh cups each day. My only complaints were that getting one night with points and two others with regular payment, required two reservations on the Holiday Inn webpage and actually a separate check-in once there; and the fact that there was no complimentary breakfast. The small onsite restaurant did have a very reasonably priced and very tasty breakfast, however.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Congratulations on your brand new granddaughter! We are so happy to have had the opportunity to serve you while you were visiting your family. Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to serving you again during your next visit.

Ken R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    41
    28
    13
    8
See reviews for
92
35
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I was in town for a college recruiting trip when the city was hit with a 20 inch snow storm overnight. It might have derailed our investment had it not been for the hotel staff. They helped us use their facility to keep out interviews going. But most important, they went above and beyond to make their facility accessible to guests, visitors and staff. They even had their staff of Matt and mark clean the snow off guests cars so they could try to venture out for food or other things. Not that it mattered because the hotels services didn't skip a beat from food to pool to warmth. They did it around the clock. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We appreciate you staying with us for your recruiting trip. We were happy to serve you during and after our snowstorm. We look forward to your next visit to Blacksburg!

Ken R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg when they had a devastating snow storm. I was stuck in my room for a few days, unable to travel for business. Fortunately, the staff, specifically Ashley, made my stay extremely enjoyable in this very unfortunate weather. My rent-a-car was buried in two feet of snow and the maintenance staff (Mark and Matt?) shoveled my car out. I'm sure that this was not in their job description, but they did it anyway. The hospitality at this hotel is unparalleled.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for complimenting our team! We were happy to provide you the extra services during the snow storm. We look forward to serving you again the next time you're in Blacksburg.

Ken R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We visit Blacksburg a couple times a year. We have found this hotel to be the ideal location. We love the comfortable beds, flat screen TV, fridge, nicely appointed furnishings, wifi and their breakfast buffet is great too before heading out of town. The hotel hosts a great tailgate and the shuttle service to and from the game is so convenient. The staff is very nice and helpful too. Our kids love swimming in the indoor pool. We have enjoyed having access to the courtyard from our room for fresh air and some pre-game cornhole. Don't be fooled by the exterior, this property is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you visit Blacksburg. We appreciate you taking the time to let everyone know about your experience. We look forward to your next visit!

Ken R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We spent last night at the Blacksburg Holiday Inn. Arrived around 9:30 pm and left early this morning. The hotel was packed. There was a volleyball tournament at the University so there were a number collegiate volleyball teams staying at the Holiday Inn last night. Surprisingly, it was relatively quit. We didn't hear any noise after 11:00 pm. Overall this is a great place to stay. Clean and comfortable rooms. All the rooms have been renovated. The staff was courteous, although we had little interaction with them. This is our favorite hotel in Blacksburg.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your overnight stay. We are so happy you consider us your favorite hotel in Blacksburg. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Ken R., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Love the location. Makes it convenient to get to favorite restaurants and of course to campus. The Kids of course love the big TV, but I appreciated the good night sleep in the comfortable bed. Our room had direct access to the parking which made getting luggage in and out of the room a breeze. The room was very up to date in regards to the finishes. The staff at check-in were very friendly and helpful. This is very welcome after a long car ride. Will definetly be returning when I come back to Blacksburg.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you and your family were in Blacksburg. We can't wait to see you again!

Ken R., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I enjoyed staying here as it is the regular hotel I stay at when I am in the Blacksburg area. During the football season, they have plenty of things to do and accommodate everything from a hotel tailgate to getting you to/from the game. When I come in for business, it has been great to use also. Within walking distance of some great restaurants and downtown to enjoy a few beers. The customer service is fantastic. I had very few problems with the hotel, but any that I have had have been resolved quickly by the staff. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted you enjoy staying here and have had fantastic customer service. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in Blacksburg!

Ken R., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Address: 900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#6 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Blacksburg has to offer at the 100% smoke-free, convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn University. You are at the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance to Virginia Tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Holiday Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.