We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Comfort and Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Location, Comfort and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We visit Blacksburg a couple times a year. We have found this hotel to be the ideal location. We love the comfortable beds, flat screen TV, fridge, nicely appointed furnishings, wifi and their breakfast buffet is great too before heading out of town. The hotel hosts a great tailgate and the shuttle service to and from the game is so convenient. The staff is very nice and helpful too. Our kids love swimming in the indoor pool. We have enjoyed having access to the courtyard from our room for fresh air and some pre-game cornhole. Don't be fooled by the exterior, this property is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you visit Blacksburg. We appreciate you taking the time to let everyone know about your experience. We look forward to your next visit!

Ken R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    40
    28
    13
    8
See reviews for
92
35
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We spent last night at the Blacksburg Holiday Inn. Arrived around 9:30 pm and left early this morning. The hotel was packed. There was a volleyball tournament at the University so there were a number collegiate volleyball teams staying at the Holiday Inn last night. Surprisingly, it was relatively quit. We didn't hear any noise after 11:00 pm. Overall this is a great place to stay. Clean and comfortable rooms. All the rooms have been renovated. The staff was courteous, although we had little interaction with them. This is our favorite hotel in Blacksburg.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your overnight stay. We are so happy you consider us your favorite hotel in Blacksburg. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Ken R., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Love the location. Makes it convenient to get to favorite restaurants and of course to campus. The Kids of course love the big TV, but I appreciated the good night sleep in the comfortable bed. Our room had direct access to the parking which made getting luggage in and out of the room a breeze. The room was very up to date in regards to the finishes. The staff at check-in were very friendly and helpful. This is very welcome after a long car ride. Will definetly be returning when I come back to Blacksburg.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you and your family were in Blacksburg. We can't wait to see you again!

Ken R., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I enjoyed staying here as it is the regular hotel I stay at when I am in the Blacksburg area. During the football season, they have plenty of things to do and accommodate everything from a hotel tailgate to getting you to/from the game. When I come in for business, it has been great to use also. Within walking distance of some great restaurants and downtown to enjoy a few beers. The customer service is fantastic. I had very few problems with the hotel, but any that I have had have been resolved quickly by the staff. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted you enjoy staying here and have had fantastic customer service. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in Blacksburg!

Ken R., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed at the hotel over the recent Thanksgiving holiday. We had a suite with a kitchen area and family room, an adjoining king bed room, and an additional adjoining room beside the king that had 2 queen size beds. We loved the space, and the room seemed brand new. We were on the 1st floor and had a sliding glass door that led to the parking lot, which was great for easy access to the car. The full size fridge was a nice place for us to store the food that we brought into town for Thanksgiving. The bed was even more comfortable than my bed at home. Though we weren't there to visit the university, I could see that that this hotel would be in high demand during the school session due to its proximity. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for choosing to stay with us over the Thanksgiving holiday. We are happy you enjoyed your presidential suite and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Got in late and was greeted by a friendly front desk agent. My room was clean--the granite counters everywhere were a nice touch. The bed was comfy and I appreciated the assortment of hard and soft pillows. The room temp was tied to a thermostat on the wall, which was easy to use (although the room was cozy already and didn't need tinkering).

All-in-all, great stay.

Green Features: There were placards everywhere about towel reuse. Obviously environmental issues are important to them.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great location- walking distance to campus, Starbucks, and university bookstore. They host a pretty nice game day tailgate and run a (small) shuttle to the stadium. Big down-grade that 3/6 in our group (2 Rooms) had cold showers. The building is old- staff is nice. Overall a mixed experience.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our showers. We will certainly look in to this issue. We hope you stay with us again, so we have the opportunity to give you the best stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Address: 900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#6 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Blacksburg has to offer at the 100% smoke-free, convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn University. You are at the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance to Virginia Tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Holiday Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.