We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night in Blacksburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Great night in Blacksburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Got in late and was greeted by a friendly front desk agent. My room was clean--the granite counters everywhere were a nice touch. The bed was comfy and I appreciated the assortment of hard and soft pillows. The room temp was tied to a thermostat on the wall, which was easy to use (although the room was cozy already and didn't need tinkering).

All-in-all, great stay.

Green Features: There were placards everywhere about towel reuse. Obviously environmental issues are important to them.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    50
    31
    13
    10
See reviews for
105
39
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great location- walking distance to campus, Starbucks, and university bookstore. They host a pretty nice game day tailgate and run a (small) shuttle to the stadium. Big down-grade that 3/6 in our group (2 Rooms) had cold showers. The building is old- staff is nice. Overall a mixed experience.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our showers. We will certainly look in to this issue. We hope you stay with us again, so we have the opportunity to give you the best stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Cliff, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

A large group of friends, alumni, and their familes stayed here in October 2013 for a Hokie football weekend. They had a two night minimun, reservations were not accepted on-line, and the rate was steep for the area, but all understandable due to high demand for rooms during the season. The bonus is the free tailgate the hotel puts together up on West Campus Drive, close to the stadium, with free food and beverages for hotel guests. They also have a shuttle van to bring you to the tailgate (even though we ended up walking), and also to drop off and pick up downtown for the bars and restaurants at night. The hotel bar was a great place for us to put a big table together and catch up with our friends - the prices were very reasonable and service was excellent.

Breakfast was fine, standard hotel buffet set up, with hot and cold items and a waffle maker. A bit pricey for what you're getting but still convenient. There are also a number of restaurants, and a Starbucks for those with that habit, just around the corner, as well as the Volume II bookstore and a great Kroger.

King room was spacious and clean and included a mini-fridge. Friends had suites, with kids on the pull out sofa and a separate bedroom for the adults. They also had a fridge, microwave and sink area, which was very convenient.

Overall it was very clean and comfortable, with great service, and perfect for our football reunion weekend.

Room Tip: No elevators, but not a big deal for us on the second floor.Rooms on the front side were convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during a home game. We appreciate your review and look forward to serving you next time you are in Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I recently had a business meeting scheduled at the Holiday Inn University. The option for dinner was extra, but I decided to partake. The food was marvelous! I expected the food to be good for "hotel food", but I was pleasantly surprised with the caliber of food that was presented. It is my understanding that the restaurant also has a new menu. I cannot wait to go back to be able to try something new! The wait staff was very polite and efficient.
Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your business dinner. We are happy you enjoyed the new menu and hope to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The location was perfect for our visit to Virginia Tech. The hotel is older but the rooms are great. You forget that it is an older building once you step into the rooms. Rooms are spacious and quiet. Front desk was a little rushed at check in but very pleasant at check out. Would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy we had a great location for your visit to Virginia Tech and that our rooms were spacious and quiet. We appreciate your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We came to an admissions open house at Virginia Tech so we chose this hotel because you can't beat it for its proximity to the campus. I had stayed here once before several years ago for the same reason. We chose a queen suite to have a comfortable space for two teenage girls with my husband and me. First the good news. The room was a good size and attractively furnished. The overstuffed faux leather chairs and couch were very comfortable (except when the sofa bed was opened but what can you expect from a sofa bed). The queen bed was very comfy and seemed larger than most queens. Lots of pillows but they were a little too fat for comfort. Good sized desk with a power strip suited for multiple chargers. Kitchenette with a very weak microwave and decent sized mini-fridge/freezer. The basics were available for eating (flatware, mugs, etc.). My pet peeve for these kitchenettes is why don't they every have any paper towels available for guests? We had to microwave our breakfast biscuits wrapped in a tissue. The bathroom was adequate but a bit of the grout needed a little elbow grease. The bad news? It was freezing in the room. Both rooms had adjustable thermostats that seemed to do nothing. Perhaps it was the fact that the outside "walls" were primary sliding glass doors (which made for a good bit of road noise). We were glad the queen bed had generous bedding which kept us warm enough but the girls on the sofa bed and Aerobed had to keep adding clothes to stay warm.

Room Tip: A room that is not on the Prices Fork Rd. side will probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our executive suite and for choosing to stay with us again. We always use the feedback we receive to improve our services and amenities. Thanks again and we hope we can serve your family in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Holiday Inn, located on Prices Fork Road in Blacksburg VA, is a wonderful place to stay or hold an event. The staff is always professional and the rooms are beautifully renovated. The exterior of the hotel is a little dated, but the inside has been beautifully re-done. We have booked the Ballroom for numerous events ranging from our own Wedding Reception to hosting corporate events. Our family is from out of town, and this is the only hotel they even consider. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast is lovely. We also choose to dine in the Attitudes restaurant and have held private parties there. If you are looking for a hotel that treats you like you're family, with a staff that is ready to help you, this is the place to stay. 5 stars are not adequate for the service this hotel and its staff provides.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your loyalty. We look forward to taking care of you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Address: 900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#5 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Blacksburg has to offer at the 100% smoke-free, convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn University. You are at the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance to Virginia Tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Holiday Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.