We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly acceptable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfectly acceptable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights for a conference at the Skelton Conference Center. Rooms were decent and everything appeared to have been somewhat recently remodeled. There were enough outlets for all of my electronics, which is a plus. The AC unit was very loud, as are the doors. I was woken up at 6AM every morning by doors slamming in the corridor. On my last day there, I arrived back to my room at 5PM to find that it had not been cleaned. When I called the front desk, they explained to me that there had been an all-hands meeting at 3PM and all the rooms weren't done yet. I don't think it's unreasonable to expect a clean room by 3PM, let alone 5PM and I found this very disappointing.

Overall, decent hotel. Staff was generally helpful and friendly. Would I stay here again? Possibly, but I'd probably try someplace else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your conference in Blacksburg. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and always strive to provide comfortable accommodations. We greatly apologize for the late cleaning of your room. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    50
    31
    13
    10
See reviews for
105
39
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The perfect place to stay while visiting the university or passing thru. Clean and quiet rooms. Food great in the restaurants. Pool an oasis in virginia. A total vacation from the momenti stepped into the hotel.

Room Tip: It would be hard to get a bad room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so happy we were the perfect place for you to stay. We hope to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a two story hotel with NO elevators, so be prepared to schlep your stuff up steps. In the suites, there's a wall unit AC that is noisy in a non-white noise way. Old, slow coffee makers in the rooms, thin, cheap sheets, same with towels. Small bathroom, although the shower is one of the best you can find in a hotel - NOT low flow. Almost made up for the lack of sleep due to the noisy AC unit. Outdoor pool was quite nice - indoor pool stinky. Exercise room a joke. One treadmill and 2 ellipticals. And the TV remotes do not have a sleep timer. Little, annoying things that will have me looking to another hotel next time in town.

Green Features: Asking guests to reuse towels doesn't save the environment. It saves the hotel money. Give us a discount for reusing my towels and I'll believe YOU want to save the environment.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are very sorry that your experience was disappointing. We have noted your feedback and this shall be considered for improvements needed as we take the confidence our guests place in us to rectify unsatisfactory circumstances. We hope you give us a chance in the future to improve your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My daughter was married on June 15th- We decided to have the reception at this hotel. We were working within a budget and the event coordinators (Josh, Angela and Rhonda) were terrific! As the guests arrived to the reception they were escorted to an outdoor patio area- where they had drinks at the open bar and small finger foods. a while later the reception hall was opened up. It looked AMAZING! It was the perfect size for 100 guests. The buffet dinner was not your average "wedding food" It was delicious! The guests could not stop commenting on how great the meal was. Thanks to Josh, the Bride & Groom were able to set up a food tasting event and chose everything they wanted (This included a carving station) Guests were also offered a discounted rate if they decided to stay. Thank you Holiday Inn Staff for making the day so special! Cindy D.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi Cindy, Thank you for choosing us for your special day and congratulations! We are delighted to hear your day was perfect. We hope we can serve you again the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Reading the reviews of others, my review is quite similar. Spent 2 nights at this hotel to attend orientation for Freshman students. Rooms were clean with the bare essentials. Their breakfast buffet although typical was OK, but needed a lot more fruits. Room rate was very competitive. Would stay there again if other primary choice was not available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback and for choosing to stay with us during orientation. We hope we can become your primary hotel choice in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, NC USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The new decor is lovely, the rooms have many shelves in the bathrooms, the entertainment centers in the rooms are very nice and the housekeeping staff were all very friendly and efficient. The location could not be more convenient to the University.

Room Tip: The rooms that open to the pool courtyard are very nice.
See more room tips
Green Features: I agree with their suggestions for guests to reuse towels and conserve energy.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Blacksburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was very happy with my stay here. I have literally never encountered a friendlier housekeeping staff anywhere! They were extremely considerate of my time during my stay and very polite and understanding when I ended up asking them repeatedly to come back to clean the room at another time (I was in town for a wedding and had a hectic schedule that kept changing).

I spoke with Rhonda Cooper, Director of Sales, before staying at this Holiday Inn and she sold me on this location over the The Inn at Virginia Tech or the more affordable Red Carpet Inn nearby, and I am extremely happy that she did. The location is extremely convenient to everything and every single staff member I encountered was very nice and very helpful. I will definitely stay again if I am in the area.

Room Tip: No elevator to the second level so if you aren't traveling light, try for the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Susan, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us all know how happy you were with your recent stay with us. We are so glad you chose to stay with us! We hope to see you again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Address: 900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#5 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Blacksburg has to offer at the 100% smoke-free, convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn University. You are at the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance to Virginia Tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Holiday Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.