We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Rooms were clean, up-to-date, t.v. was really nice, beds super comfortable, room and bath had granite counter tops and the service was great. Employees at the Inn were readily available whenever needed. Used conference space which always in good condition set up int eh right way. Overall a great relaxing experience. Only bad thing was internet was catch and go sometimes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed our service and rooms. Thank you for choosing our hotel and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    46
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
102
37
15
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

First, the staff working at the Holiday Inn are both incredibly helpful and nice. I had an extended stay for business and they made the experience for me. The rooms were clean, up-to-date, t.v. was a large flat screen, beds super soft, room and bath had nice granite counter tops and an area for getting ready. Had all of the amenities I could of asked for! Used conference space which was large enough to fit a large group of people, and everything was set up the right way when I arrived every morning and afternoon. Had the option to stay at any hotel in Blacksburg, and keep coming back to this one. Overall a great relaxing experience and I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hi Lily, Thank you for your wonderful comments about our team and amenities. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Awesome front desk service, conference room was really clean and always in good condition. Rooms were clean and great tv with HBO and showtime movies for free. Overall really comfortable stay and good service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We are so glad you had a great stay! Thank you for taking your time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to you staying with us again when you are in Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My whole wedding party including family, relatives, and friends had a wonderful experience at the Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg. I called numerous times to set things up, and the staff was more than accomodating, helpful, and polite. The rates were outstanding, especially considering the quality of the facility. My dad even said that was the nicest master suite they have every stayed in. I was just amazed how clean and modern everything was in the hotel. I could not have been more happy with my choice. Food was great, service was exceptional, beds were very comfortable, rooms were incredibly clean and organized, tv's were top notch, and the staff were very helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for such a special event and for your wonderful comments about our hotel and our team. We are very happy to hear that your many family members and friends enjoyed their stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were attending a basketball game at VT and chose this hotel because of its location and price. From the outside it was just ok but I was very pleased with our room. It was totally remodeled with hanging flat screen TV, granite countertops in the room and bath, awesome mattresses and was super clean. The staff was very pleasant and accomodating. The hotel was much larger than it appeared and you park outside of each side of the building not in one main, large lot. It is located VERY near VT and there is a shopping area on the street behind it with a grocery store, Rite Aid, Panera, and a few other places to eat.

If it pertains to you, the hotel is only 2 floors high and there is NOT an elevator in the hotel. You must carry your belongings up the steps.

If we ever have a reason to come back to the area, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Since parking surrounds the building, rooms on the first floor outside (versus courtyard) have cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for a VT Basketball game. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Staff was attentive, pleasant. The housekeeping was very friendly.
Room was clean, comfy.
The suite was spacious had two tv's, ample space for accomodating guests, nice couches.
The bar was nice cuz it had a billiards room, and an old fashion popcorn machine! Yum
Can't need more than that at a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Hi Garrett, Thank you for your wonderful comments about our team, hotel suites & amenities. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I went there with a number of my sisters and their families and we had a wonderful time. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms were great. I stayed in a Presidential Suite and it was simply fantastic - and was priced for Blacksburg. Definitely recommend it and will go again.

Room Tip: Get an Executive or Presidential Suite - they are usually only 25% more than regular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you and your family for choosing to stay with us! I am glad you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate your helpful tips. I hope we will have an opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Address: 900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#5 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Blacksburg has to offer at the 100% smoke-free, convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn University. You are at the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance to Virginia Tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Holiday Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.