We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit or Miss” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami,FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Beautiful exterior landscaping except for tennis court area- too bad the interior doesn't match. Strange layouts with a little hidey-hole area near front desk area with it's own little sitting area and musty carpeted stairwell. Rooms were not ready until late in the afternoon after usual check in time. They need more housekeepers. Front desk staff were helpful and did change room after we complained outdoor muzak being heard in our room. Furnishings were dark and dated with a particularly bad stretch of ugly tan carpet separating the hotel rooms from the conference, dining and bar area. Attended a wedding rehearsal dinner; the staff and room decor were fine but unfortunately food quality was not. The bar area was lively with offers of free drinks and popcorn. Does have a guest laundry, tiny exercise room and large indoor/outdoor pool. Great location right across the street from Va Tech- don't miss the small but beautiful (in summer) horticultural garden with a Frank Lloyd Wright Wood Nymph statue in it. The hotel is also within walking distance to restaurants like Panera and McAdoo's.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear AdrianaKate,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and for staying with us. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide. Although your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    45
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
101
36
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton NJ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have stayed here 3 times because it is convenient to the residence of a relative and to the Virginia Tech campus.
The outside, lobby, and rooms are attractive and well maintained. The free computer access in the lobby is convenient. The free van service to local attractions and the VT Student Center stop on the SmartWay bus is a bonus, although the van is showing its age and the climb up to the seats is difficult for anyone with short legs or impaired mobility.
There are no elevators or bellhops, and luggage must be self carried up a steep flight of stairs to rooms on the second floor.
Speaking of limited mobility, the bathtubs/showers lack grab bars and the bottom surface of the tub is slippery.
The breakfast service is appalingly bad. The a la carte food arrives cold, overcooked, or badly prepared. The service tends to go at a snail's pace and the waitresses are indifferent and untrained. The buffet (on selected mornings) is better, but the decor is depressing and the scrambled eggs are milky and taste as if they have sat too long on the steamtable.

Room Tip: If you can't carry your bags up and down stairs, avoid the second level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn University Blacksburg and for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our amenities, as well as your feedback regarding our accommodations & breakfast. We take all comments very seriously, and we have shared your feedback with our management team. We strive to maintain high standards in quality and service. We apologize that we fell short of your expectations. Again, thank you for your feedback, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Holiday Inn University-Blackburg is very convenient to the Virginia Tech campus and offers a range of room choices and services you would expect to find in a full service hotel. The restaurant has a breakfast buffet that includes waffles, eggs, oatmeal, cereals, fresh fruit and bread. The bar area has a pool table and free popcorn and nuts with drinks at a reasonable price. The rooms and hotel were clean and the staff was very helpful at check-in and responsive when pillows for the sofa bed were found to be missing. An overall good experience.

Room Tip: The Executive Suite is a great option for parents with 1 or 2 kids, having a separate bedroom and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate your helpful tips. I hope we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Rooms are very nice, the renovations they did were great. Comfy beds with a quiet relaxing stay. Strongly recommend to anybody staying in the Blacksburg area. Right across from VT campus, shopping and dining within walking distance. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hi David, We are happy you liked our renovations and comfy beds. Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We hope to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Internet connection was failing for several days. It got better after 5 days but is slow and is a hassle this thing that you have to put the password over an over if you close your laptop, cellphone or tablet for 5 mins. The fridge was making big noises for 3 days until it was fixed. The front desk personnel is not friendly.mi asked to be out in wait list to extend my stay because the place was sold out. When I came back to check I notice that I was not in the list. I came back and check the next day if there was any update and I was told that everything was sold out without even checking my record, had to ask 3 times. Had to check my key programmed to times because it did not worked. Breakfast is not better than one you will get for free in other hotels. I use hotels a lot for business, and there are much better places for the value.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear MexKaz,

Thank you for your feedback. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I'm sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the internet services, loud air conditioning unit, breakfast and hotel staff services received. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

We appreciate your valuable comments and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here on a stopover while driving through to Washington. Great location (right near the University) and very reasonably priced.

Pros:
Close to plenty of food options
Clean, spacious rooms
Comfortable Beds

Cons:
Remote for TV took a bit of working through (even Mr Techno 15 yr old couldn't figure it out), more info in the room would be helpful?

Would definitely stay again and recommend this property for all types of visitors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation and review. I see you travel quite a bit and we appreciate you choosing our hotel and telling us about your experience. Based on your feedback, we will begin to put helpful remote tips in our rooms. Look for these September 1st. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I recently stayed in the Holiday Inn in Blacksburg and was more than pleasantly surprised by the whole experience. The location was great (right near campus), the staff was friendly, courteous, and knowledgeable, and the room was immaculate. I would definitely stay here again if I needed a hotel room in town!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed our location, service, & rooms. Thank you for choosing our hotel and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Address: 900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#6 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Blacksburg has to offer at the 100% smoke-free, convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn University. You are at the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance to Virginia Tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Holiday Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.