We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel Near Va Tech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel Near Va Tech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Excellent stay in a very clean hotel with extremely nice staff. Love the location so close to the campus. Quiet room with a huge television made it very easy to relax. Plan on being a frequent guest in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to tell us about your positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    50
    31
    13
    10
See reviews for
105
39
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We usually travel south on Interstate 81 in the Spring because it is a beautiful drive. We stayed at the Holiday Inn University in blacksburg which is on the edge of the Va Tech campus and had a great time. Our room had been recently updated and the maintenanace of the hotel overall is first rate. The staff is very friendly nd helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Hi William B, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your I 81 Spring ride. We hope you had a wonderful trip and we appreciate your review of our hotel. We hope to see you next Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife and son stayed here on our visit to Va. Tech. This is the closest hotel to the campus, that is not on the campus. Our room was spotless and the service at the front desk was speedy and very friendly. Amanda, the reservation mgr. is awesome. She told me about their graduation room program, which works well for both the hotel and the customer. My son just got accepted to Tech so I will be planning many trips to blacksburg(with Amanda's help) and this hotel is where I will stay, It couldn't be more convenient and the staff really seemed to appreciate we had chosen their hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Hi ChesapeakeCoach, Thank you for your review. We are happy you decided to join our Parent's Key Club & Graduation Guarantee! We look forward to serving you in the next four years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We booked this hotel thru Hotwire, which had claimed we were entitled to a complimentary breakfast. Unfortunately this was not honored by the hotel staff. Our room had no toilet paper, which was promptly brought to our room upon request; I just do not feel the room should start off with empty rolls. Our room faced the road which was very noisey at night which then lead to a poor night's sleep. The indoor pool was COLD and small. There were no towels in the pool area and when we requested them, we were brought bath mats instead of towels. Needless to say, we were very frustrated by these series of unfortunate events. I did share our frustration with the young lady at the front desk, who simply said , "sorry". The hotel is very conveniently located near the college and within walking distance to some food establishments and other businesses. If you choose this hotel be sure to request a room that is not facing the road.

Room Tip: Request a room that is not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Hi Specedtcher, Guest feedback is a vital part of our success as we continue to strive to be a leader in service and amenities. We appreciate you telling us about your experience and we will address each of your concerns with our team. I hope you choose to stay with us again, so we have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

When traveling away from home, it's super important to me that the staff and facilities make me feel at home. The rooms, breakfast and staff were all amazing during my recent stay. I must say, Ashely was particularly warm when we first arrived, which definitely started our visit our visit off on the right foot. Will be back for future football games, and will be sure to recommend it to friends!

Room Tip: Talk to Ashley- she'll help you find the room that works for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Hi Janice, Thank you for your recent review and recommendation. We look forward to having you stay with us for the games - Go Hokies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My crew & I have stayed at this hotel for over a Month. The rooms are especially Comfortable and spotless! We stay at a Hotel throughout the year and this is one of our Top picks! Ashley at the Front Desk has made our stay more than comfortable and enjoyable helping with all of our needs while giving us a professional attitude while having a Smile on her face at all times!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Hi Justin, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. We love being one of your top picks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oilville, Va.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My wife and I travel to Virginia Tech Football games at least twice a year to the Holiday Inn University - Blacksburg, Va. and we love the location and the people who run this wonderful hotel. Everything from the wonderful room accomodations to the resturant to the really fun bar area. The staff is knowledgeable friendly and willing to address any issues that may arise. My favorite person is Amanda Melton who goes out of her way to address any reservation concerns
that are not easily resolved during the busy football season or any time during the year.
I also stay during the week for business travel a couple of time during the year and it is a very
restful place to accomplish my business objectives.

Room Tip: I like looking over the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Hi Randy S, Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your visit. It is so nice to hear you have had wonderful experiences while staying with us. We appreciate your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Address: 900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#5 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Blacksburg has to offer at the 100% smoke-free, convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn University. You are at the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance to Virginia Tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Holiday Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.