We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in Blacksburg!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Franklin, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay in Blacksburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Once again, our stay at the Holiday Inn University was WONDERFUL!
Our check-in process was very smooth and friendly.
The location is stellar...plenty of places within walking distance.
The newly renovated rooms are simply lovely, and I really like what has been done in the lounge area. We even took advantage of the hotel shuttle to and from VT Campus, during our stay. We will definitely make this hotel our home when we are in Blacksburg!

Room Tip: The rooms that adjoin the courtyard, offer nice scenery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for your positive and detailed review! I am so glad you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    50
    31
    13
    10
See reviews for
105
39
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pembroke
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This was the location of my wedding and we could not have been happier. Not only was the staff incredibly helpful and friendly but during the set up it was raining and we were to be married outside, so they patiently waited for a break in the clouds and once they saw their chance they ran outside put he chairs and decorations out, the ceremony went off without a hitch!

Once we got inside for the reception everyone from the manager to the bartender was curtious, friendly and went far above and beyond to make sure that our day was special. The room we stayed in was a king room and it was beautiful, there was a big flat screen tv and a mini fridge, the bed was very comfortable and the furnishings luxurious. I would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone just traveling through or looking for a wonderful location for their wedding.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Hi Sarah, Thank you for choosing us for your special day. We were happy to be a part of it! We hope to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

Staff was very courteous, rooms very clean and a beautiful campus atmosphere! Highly recommend staying on your business or leasure trip to Blacksburg Va or nearby surrounding area!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Hi Hokiemania, Thank you for your recommendation. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We recently spent a night here and although the woman who checked us in was very nice, we felt the hotel to be subpar, especially for the price.

We were assigned a ground room with two double beds. First of all, hotel security is non-existent. There are many entrances to the ground floor, all of them equipped with a room key entry box BUT all the doors we tried were wide open. Every ground floor room also has sliding glass doors to the outside. The interior doors are thin and although equipped with a small door hook, look pretty easy to access.

Our room smelled like cleaning fluid upon entry, was cold and we found that turning up the thermostat heated the far half of the room and left the bathroom ice cold. There had been some renovations to this hotel according to the telephone agent and they appear to be the granite counter and new sink in the bathroom. Very nice but small counter space. A plus was the raised counter height. The bathroom itself was very small. There is no ventilation. There is a curved shower curtain bar which is always nice, allowing for more elbow room.

The TV was flat, HD and very nice. The bureau contained a small empty frig, MW and safe.
The beds were comfortable to me but not my husband (it's a personal thing) but the pillows were very lumpy. Walls are very thin....easy to hear toilets flushing and even conversations in adjoining rooms and in the hall.

We have stayed in many Holiday Inns in the past and if we had paid about $120 for this room or so we would have dealt with the conditions. But we were charged $180. It is clear to us that we paid for the convenience of being located across the street from the university. The value in this hotel is just not there for the money.

Room Tip: Choose a room on an upper floor and check to be sure you get the bed configuration you reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Hi dogwoodlady,
Thank you for your feedback. We strive constantly to exceed our guest’s expectations and your candid response allows us to address guest concerns. We will share your comments with our team. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Blacksburg and will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My family of two adults and a two year old stayed here for two nights in a presidential suite. The room was fairly clean with basic furnishing. The classification of "Presidential" is a bit of an exaggeration. There are two flatscreens, but no DVD player or pillows on the furniture. There is a large kitchen, but know dishes or silverware included.

We were given a surprise discount to be used at the restaurant on property, which we did use since we checked in late and were hungery. The food was hit and miss, but the discount and the free drink coupons we were given by other workers at the hotel made the meal acceptable.

I would recommend this hotel due to its good location near campus, but do not set your expectations too high.

Room Tip: Request the first floor if you have a lot of baggage. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Hi C0mp0ster,
Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. We currently offer dishes, silverware, and DVD players by request. We will begin to add these items to our suites for the convenience of our guests. Thank you again for your contribution. Our guest feedback does make a difference. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

This hotel is near downtown Blacksburg, VT, the University Mall, and a nice Kroger store. The hotel has some age on it, but the facilities and rooms are well kept. The only thing lacking is that I don't think they offer breakfast, at least not for free. Staff seemed friendly and the room was stocked with cups, paper towels, etc from the beginning.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Thank you for your response. We are happy you enjoyed our convenient location. We have a breakfast buffet located in our restaurant, just past the lobby. We hope to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Va
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Rooms have been renovated with flat screens and granite. Was convenient for open house program. Great staff!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for your comments, we love to hear feedback from our guests. We take pride in our beautifully renovated rooms and wonderful staff. Thank you again for choosing Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg

Address: 900 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#5 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Blacksburg has to offer at the 100% smoke-free, convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn University. You are at the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance to Virginia Tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Holiday Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn University-Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.