We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel to your Saves list
The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3705 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Adequate, clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We originally reserved a room at the Comfort Suites University. That hotel overbooked and moved us to this hotel. It was about 10 miles away. It was adequate for our needs. it was clean. The bathroom was equipped with 4+ sets of towels which was perfect for 4 people. The breakfast was a typical Comfort Inn breakfast - waffle station, pastries, yogurt, etc. The eating area is very small. There were only a few tables and not much room to maneuver around the breakfast stations. There was a sign indicating more tables on another floor. Fortunately, we got a table in the main eating area. The hotel is about 10 miles from VA Tech. We checked in late and left early, so we didn't get to check out the hotel amenities or the surrounding area. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    14
    14
    12
See reviews for
49
10
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

For a low budget hotel experience I think that this hotel is pretty good. It definitely exceeded my expectations. I stayed here because it takes pets. The rooms are nothing special but they are clean. You get free breakfast, free wifi, a microwave and fridge in every room. Everyone that works here is extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I debated rating this property poor or average. This hotel defines the budget hotel class. The location, while convenient for my needs this weekend, is in an out-of the way area neither near downtown Blacksburg, the campus nor Christiansburg. The surrounding area is kind of dumpy and run-down, with closed businesses across the street and sort of a gritty industrial area.

Initial impressions were OK, but that ended on entering the tiny lobby. Kind of run-down and dated, with loose, stained ceiling tiles and dim lighting. The public use computer was also in the lobby and interfered with getting to the desk to check-in.

Once checked-in, guests are treated to the most unusual layout of a domestic hotel I had ever encountered, as we maneuvered our bags around maids carts and laundry carts through what we thought was the laundry room and maid service area but was actually a common waiting area for the one elevator.

Our room was adequate, but the lumpy mattress left something to be desired. I know these hotels get a lot of use - every hotel room in the area is booked on a football weekend in Blacksburg, but the furniture was worn and needed replacement - the upholstered desk chair arms were showing the padding and the back was broken making it unusable. The bathroom was clean, but spartan - loose showerhead (which was fine for anyone 5'-4" tall or shorter, but required gyration to get wet if taller than that), coarse towels better suited to removing paint from wood, no ventilation, etc.

If you are accustomed to what Comfort Inns offer and are looking for that experience, or if you are looking for a particular location and this is property has the only rooms available, by all means, consider this hotel. Otherwise....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We accidentally booked here instead of the Comfort Suites, and it was a huge letdown. The room was very dirty with hair on the bed, crumbs on the floor, and smudges on microwave. The shower curtain rod was also falling apart and the shower had stains down the wall. The breakfast would have been nice, but hardly any room in the small lobby. Staff offered a half priced room for the next night, but already booked somewhere else. Only positive: location!

Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Rooms are spacious enough for a couple and a teen, and quite clean; very short drive to V. Tech. Would stay here again. Complimentary coffee in lobby very good, and computer room so handy. TV reception is fine, too.

Room Tip: Remember: bed firmness is adjustable! some reviews indicate beds are too firm. There is a dial on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Was in Blacksburg for an event at the University and had a 2 night stay and was traveling with family and required 2 rooms. Staff was very friendly and can't say enough good things about my stay. Accommodations were excellent, I found the room clean and the heating and ventilation was very comfortable. Slept like a log and woke very rested which is not something that happens often when traveling and staying in hotels. Breakfast was good...overall a very nice experience and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Booked this hotel through a travel site; received emails stating everything was good to go. I had even called the hotel a month ahead to confirm reservation. When we got to the hotel, was told the reservation had been cancelled with no explanation as to why! Luckily, they still had a room for us though it was in sub-par condition- peeling wallpaper, mold over the shower, loose toilet, doors/furnishings scratched and scuffed, paint chipped around doorframes, etc.BEWARE! No more CHOICE hotels! This is the 2nd time having problems with this chain. I would have liked to have been able to give this place a better review- please improve!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel

Address: 3705 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blacksburg Comfort Hotel Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Comfort Inn
The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.