We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel cancelled reservation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3705 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hotel cancelled reservation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Booked this hotel through a travel site; received emails stating everything was good to go. I had even called the hotel a month ahead to confirm reservation. When we got to the hotel, was told the reservation had been cancelled with no explanation as to why! Luckily, they still had a room for us though it was in sub-par condition- peeling wallpaper, mold over the shower, loose toilet, doors/furnishings scratched and scuffed, paint chipped around doorframes, etc.BEWARE! No more CHOICE hotels! This is the 2nd time having problems with this chain. I would have liked to have been able to give this place a better review- please improve!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    13
    11
    8
See reviews for
44
10
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here last year for one night on a VT visit and thought it was quite acceptable for the price/etc.but we weren't there very long. Just got back from a 2 night stay for orientation and SO disappointed. Room was not nearly as clean and somewhat in a state of disrepair, A/C either made the room freezing or hot, no in-between, staff was not particularly helpful or friendly. Never could get the free Wi-Fi to work despite several calls to the front desk, who appeared to have NO CLUE about how it worked. This location needs to be updated with new bedding, new shower curtains, better Wi-Fi, larger breakfast area, and pay-per-view movies added to the TV selection. Won't be back unless this location undergoes a major overhall...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morgantown
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Kind of an average hotel-somewhat dated. The room was clean,the furnishings rather basic, and everything seemed to work well enough. In-room wireless worked but was somewhat slow to start. Okay place to stay and it is close to the action of Blacksburg. The staff were friendly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We are new VT parents and will be visiting Blacksburg frequently. This trip was for orientation. We will NOT stay here again. The hotel was not clean and was poorly maintained.... Doorknob falling off in bathroom, toilet seat loose, poor in room temp. control. The hotel smelled musty. The breakfast area was tiny, maybe 8 tables. The front desk staff were on their cell phones and chomping on gum when we checked in. The location is not especially convenient to campus. (With the address of S. Main St, we thought it would be close to town.) There are enough places to stay in Blacksburg that there is no reason to tolerate this. They cannot hold a candle to the Comfort Inn on Plantation Rd. That was great and we will return there. Photos later.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have stayed there once before and we made sure we stayed there again for our son`s wedding. The motel has a excellent location between Christiansburg and Blacksburg, VA. Right across from Lewis Gail Hospital. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean and well maintained. I will be sure to stay there again.

Room Tip: On our son`s wedding event the motel gave us a lower special rate. Be sure to ask. It does not hurt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable rooms with refrigerator & microwave which is handy traveling with teens, beds were great for sleeping. The staff was friendly and helpful with recommendations for dinner places. The property was pristine and easy to find from the highway. This is a historic college town town extremely well cared for. This hotel is pet friendly with no extra fees.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Location great for visitation to colleges in the area. close enough to both local towns; Friendly desk personel; clean rooms; quiet; very good houskepping group; ample hot breakfast well stocked and attended; spacious parking; We were more than pleased that we chose this location. It has been some time since we visited a Comfort Inn but happy we returned to the chain.

Room Tip: Higher floor and in rear of motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel

Address: 3705 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blacksburg Comfort Hotel Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Comfort Inn
The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.