We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent choice for visit to Virginia Tech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3705 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Decent choice for visit to Virginia Tech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed two nights while visiting Virginia Tech (VT). Hotel is located about 8 miles from the center of Blacksburg.

Hotel room contained the usual Comfort Inn amenities, such as coffee maker, in room safe, and our room also had a refrigerator and microwave. The room was clean and the two double beds, and roll away all comfortable.

Check in staff was friendly and the express check out convenient. Expanded continental breakfast consisted of cereal; make your own breakfast biscuits and waffles, yogurt, fruit, hard boiled eggs, and assorted pastries/bread.

During Hokie weekends at VT this hotel Is often more than 50% less than hotels closer to campus, making it a decent value.

Tip: The family run Mexican restaurant across the parking lot from the hotel offers very reasonably priced food and drinks. There is also a Dairy Queen across the street within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a mountain view room, as oppossed to the main road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron A, General Manager at The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Plantravel,

Your kind words concerning your stay at our hotel are greatly appreciated. We find that most people like the convenience of having a refrigerator and microwave so we have them in all of our rooms.
It's great to hear that our staff took good care of you during your stay. We constantly train each department to provide quality customer service for every aspect of your time with us. We also strive to be the very best value which is why the deluxe hot breakfast is included in our already reasonable rates no matter when you visit.

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again during your next visit to Blacksburg.

Sincerely,
Ron Alcorn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    13
    11
    8
See reviews for
44
10
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had to take our dogs with us this time to visit our daughter at Blacksburg. I was leery of this hotel with no pet fee but we were pleasantly surprised. It is a very nice hotel. Clean, quiet , comfortable.... and no pet fee! Amazing! I would stay here again anytime... also the price was good. $80 AAA rate. The king bed was super comfortable...

Room Tip: We had a mountain view room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron A, General Manager at The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Flossgloss,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud to be able to provide clean, comfortable pet friendly rooms at no extra charge. It's not only convenient but it allows you to keep your entire family together which certainly includes our pets.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again the next time you visit Virginia Tech.

Sincerely,
Ron Alcorn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our room had just been completely renovated. The person at the front desk seemed to take pride in the place, and greeted us with a smile. Pets are welcome, and there is convenient green space to exercise animals. Unlike most hotels today, Comfort Inn Blacksburg does not charge a pet fee! Bravo! The one and only negative was a very cramped, poorly laid out breakfast area. Can you think of a place you've stayed at recently where you had to ask someone where the coffee was in the breakfast room?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron A, General Manager at The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear BillyBatson,

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments and kind words about our rooms. Our entire staff works hard to make sure our guests enjoy clean comfortable rooms with each visit.
Please accept my apologies for the issues you had with our breakfast area. When the hotel is at a very high occupancy it can get crowded in the breakfast area. However, thanks to your comments we have taken measures to have our pool patio area and nearby meeting room available during busy times so you can enjoy your breakfast with plenty of space. Customer service means everything to us so thanks again for helping us improve our property.

Sincerely,
Ron Alcorn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I have stopped here twice in 2013 on our trips to see the grandkids in South Carolina. The rooms are always clean and the check in is super fast. We usually get in late so we are not concerned so much about the offerings in the area. Just using it for a night's sleep to continue on our way the next day. Breakfast is the usual free buffet that most of these types of hotels offer, but it's good enough to get us on the road as we like to get moving early in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

When staying at the hotel, I encountered several issues that could have created a nightmare trip. The staff at Comfort Inn Blacksburg stepped up and went above and beyond to assist and adjust to my needs. I was especially glad Eva and Stacy were able to help. They did an outstanding job. Two weeks later I had to return to Blacksburg and I again stayed at the Comfort Inn Blacksburg. And again I was treated to just what great service really is. I have stayed at 5 star resorts and not received the quality service I was given while at this hotel. Manager Ron Alcorn is to be commended for a staff that is second to none. Clean, pleasant and there to help when you find yourself away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Definitely not the best choice for a campus visit but the VTech campus is so big that even perching on the edge might not have been convenient. Besides, if you are visiting admissions they will give you a parking pass good for most spaces on campus.

Hotel looks better outside than inside. Very tired finishes. I was given a weird large room with a king Murphy bed (really?) on the top floor after the first room they sent me to was still unmade or perhaps occupied. Strange loud snapping noise from behind the bathroom wall but I wasn't going to move again. Not all the lamps worked but the view over the parking lot and past the distant freeway to the mountains was lovely. Also enjoyed watching some feral cats playing in the snow outside. Wildlife!

Breakfast was juice, pastries, sausage and biscuit, plus boiled eggs and yogurt cups. Small eating area but it wasn't full. My son was on campus else he might have gotten our money's worth out of that array of food. Coffee, hot chocolate and fresh fruit available at all hours. I had an apple when I checked in at 3pm. Crisp and juicy.

Staff was friendly for the most part. Well, one out of two ain't bad!

Room Tip: Ask to face away from Main St. if you want my described view. But it is over the pool (not an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Room was great, with a good view of the mountains. My son and I were visiting VT, and the hotel manager gave us great advice on where to go to find the most interesting parts of Blacksburg. If my son decides to go to school here, this will be the spot to stay when we visit.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel

Address: 3705 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blacksburg Comfort Hotel Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Comfort Inn
The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.