We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what it is: simple standard hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3705 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good for what it is: simple standard hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

You get pretty much exactly what you'd expect from a budget travelers' hotel. You get: a room that's decent size and clean; TV that works and has some basic cable; plenty of hot water in the shower; and a breakfast with weak coffee, miscellaneous cereal, and a waffle machine. We checked in really late and the desk staff were polite. The place accepts cats without any special fees or problems, too, which was a plus for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    13
    11
    8
See reviews for
44
10
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I got what I paid for. Checking in...I'm in the middle of the process and suddenly the manager on duty feels the need to discuss a previous check in issue with my desk clerk. I almost said that I'd return when they were done. Room was...okay. Wife and me in one bed, son in the other. Sheets would not stay on the bed (either bed), either night. Seemed clean and housekeeping did a good job with the room. It was a busy weekend and our attempt to eat breakfast here was abandoned after visiting the dining area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Our 4-H club stayed here and at check in they went the extra mile to help us. The hotel was clean and the people very nice and helpful. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

My husband and I have spent numerous times at the Comfort Inn in Blacksburg since they first opened. On average a minimum of 2 to 3 nights every other month. We have not once had a bad stay. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are clean and well kept. Coming from me, that's saying a lot because the one thing I insist on is a clean bathroom! Every single staff member whom I've had the pleasure of meeting,from hotel manager, cleaning staff, front desk associates are friendly, courteous and treat us like family. Every time we go back we are greeted like relatives coming home for a visit and to us it's like going home every time. So, if you're ever in that area of southwest VA and looking for a place to stay, try the Comfort Inn in Blacksburg. It is COMFORT.

Room Tip: I always request a room on the first floor because I'm closer to exits and soda/snack machines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed here one night for a basketball game at Virginia Tech. Room furnishings were somewhat dated but the room itself was very clean. Exceptionally friendly staff. Would advise travellers to bring their own pillows as the pillows provided were literally flat with no poofiness to them whatsoever. Hair dryer did not work unless you kept the 'on' button pressed in which was somewhat awkward to do while trying to dry and style your hair (this was reported to the front desk upon our departure shortly afterwards).

Room Tip: Rooms on the mountain view side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying in this hotel. The staff was a joy to be around. One employee stood out for me, Jeanette is excellent in her duties when it came to my room. I will recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Virginia.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Hotel advertised king bed...no mention that it was a Murphy bed. The pillows were tiny and too soft. The floor was actually uneven. The closet next to the bathroom was off of its hinge and was jammed shut. The refrigerator was hanging by a bolt to the cabinet and rocked side to side when you opened it. The faucets ALL were backwards, in other words, hot was on the right and cold was on the left. This included the shower. The "jacuzzi tub" was actually a small part of the bathtub. We dared not try it out! There was a separate heat unit in the bathroom on the wall which either steamed you, fried you or froze you depending on where you put the dial. The toilet paper roll was way back behind you when you sat down so it made it impossible to get the paper unless you stood up which was quite unacceptable. And the strangest of all was the actual toilet itself. The tank water was heated so when you sat down on the toilet, you literaly got a steaming where you don't want one. Very very odd. And lastly, the tv was very difficult to use. The remote required you to scan thru countless options just to see regular tv. I just wanted to watch CNN and then the weather channel and it had me going thru hoops. Just dumb.
At checkout I explained this to the hotel clerk and she said she would tell maintence and management about the room and I quote her "put the room out of order". Now that is a laugh. My husband and I have traveled to many locations and this hotel was by far the strangest hotel we have ever encountered. Don't say I didn't warn you.

Room Tip: just don't stay here. period
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel

Address: 3705 S. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blacksburg Comfort Hotel Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Comfort Inn
The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.