We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast
1346 Reed Creek Road, Bedford county, Big Island, VA 24526   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Big Island B&B and Inns
Centennial, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I were fortunate to stay at the Cedar Post Inn during a trip along the Blue Ridge Parkway in October 2013. Our room was huge and immaculately clean, as was the bathroom. We had a lovely visit with our hosts Sally and Kevin, and learned about their inn and the area. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and plentiful. We would highly recommend the Cedar Post Inn for travelers with high expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I know that a B and B is a a little fancier than many thru hikers are looking for. But, for any hiker that has the resources to stay a little more upscale while hiking will be so rewarded by stopping at the Cedar Post Inn for the night. Sally and Kevin both went WAY beyond the call of duty to make my visit with them pleasurable, relaxing and inviting. I will be back to this part of VA to hike again and WILL be staying here!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I met my sister and her husband for a two night get together. We immediately felt welcomed and comfortable. We had such fun, delicious food,(even homemade shortbread) beautiful scenery and how we enjoyed the collections and art found at Cedar Post Inn. Sally and Kevin are excellent hosts and they provided input and directions to great eating places and the area's points of interest. Patsy and Doug

Room Tip: Both rooms are attractive and the beds are sooo comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had such a wonderful stay. Kevin and Sally made us feel at home with there kind hospitality, clean and comfortable rooms, and delicious and generous breakfasts. The pictures on the website are only a small look of the beauty that is all around. Their B&B is very nicely situated where you can really enjoy the views of the mountains and wildlife. It also is close to so many attractions near the Blue Rigde Parkway, if you want to take in more beauty and hiking and the historical city of Lynchburg. Lynchburg has an open farmers market on Wednesday and Saturday and Cao Artisan Chocolate can be tasted! During our stay we were celebrating our anniversary and they recommended the Millstone Restaurant, which was a perfect ending to a perfect day! We highly recommend this B&B to any who may be thinking about a stay in this area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stopped at this B&B after taking the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is in a slice of heaven in between two moutains. The hosts are very accomodating and made us feel right at home. The breakfast was incrediable. We will try to stop by this wonderful B&B again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We loved this place and the wonderful couple, Sally and Kevin, who own and run this beautiful piece of property. It is such a peaceful, serene atmosphere. The Inn is very comfortable and clean. We were totally relaxed five minutes after arriving. Instantly melted the stress of a busy week. We saw deer, bunnies, hummingbirds and other wildlife just walking around the house! I saw the sight on the web sight and even though it got my attention to want to stay there, in person, it exceeded our expectations! Sally and Kevin are so easy to be around, like we had known them forever. They thought of everything to make sure their guests feel comfortable. Sally cooks the best breakfast ever! We can't say enough about this place. I can't think of anything that would have improved this experience. We booked another weekend before we left. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our family stayed here with a last minute reservation. Most bed and breakfasts do not always welcome children but Sally and Kevin, the innkeepers, were more than welcoming to us! We had a room with beautiful views of mountains and we even saw the sunrise over one of the mountains. In the morning Sally and Kevin made blueberry pancakes, cheesy grits, scrambled eggs, sausage and fresh fruit. It was absolutely delicious! Our kids played outside watching the hummingbirds and butterflies, having a blast. We will definitely come again on our trip down to South Carolina next year!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1346 Reed Creek Road, Bedford county, Big Island, VA 24526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Big Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Big Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A log home located on 65 acres at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mtns. (Blue Ridge Pkwy.) In Bedford County, VA. Hiking, Biking, Picnic table by Bold Creek (native trout), fishing, bird watching, relax on the deck. Full breakfast served each morning. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list