We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Keep Coming Back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1346 Reed Creek Road, Bedford county, Big Island, VA 24526   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Big Island B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We Keep Coming Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I found this gem on the internet and we have been back twice. The hosts are kind, friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean, well-stocked and well-decorated. This is a recently-built home so bathrooms and fixtures are quite modern. Sally's breakfasts are delicious and hearty: shrimp and grits; huevos rancheros with real guacamole and fresh fruit; or sausage, eggs, pancakes, and greyere-cheese grits. You can't go wrong at this wonderful spot in the beautiful mountains of Bedford, Va.

Room Tip: Both rooms are suites with private baths, similarly appointed and with nice, newly constructed bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vidalia, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Cedar Post for the first part of our honeymoon while traveling north in the Appalachians. We found it to be peaceful and relaxing and also with plenty of activity in the surrounding areas (cannot get much better than a drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway). Kevin and Sally are very good hosts: thoughtful, hospitable, and they go out of their way to make the stay an enjoyable one. We will definitely look to go again. - Andy & Courtney Miller

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Honestly I can not say one bad thing about our Stay, the Hosts, and the atmosphere, of course including the amazing Breakfasts, that we experienced. The Hosts are an amazing Couple. Her Breakfasts are... indescribable. They are very conscious of any dietary restrictions, and cater to individual needs. We could not have enjoyed our Stay more. The Room was amazing and comfortable. The Hosts make you feel like Family more than just Guests. Your instant Friends from the time you say Hello. The view from the Deck, is breath taking. We will definitely be keeping in touch and hope to visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely B & B. It was our second stay & we plan to return again next year. The log home is beautiful as is the setting. The only hard decision is whether to sit on the back deck & enjoy the mountain view or to sit on the covered front porch & enjoy the hummingbirds - hard to go wrong. Sally's breakfasts are delicious & abundant. She & Kevin are friendly, excellent hosts. We highly recommend the Cedar Post Inn!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Get ready for a peaceful, relaxing stay that is sure to help sooth out any stress you bring with you! Sally and Kevin are wonderful inn keepers that are enjoyable to stay with. They made us great unique breakfasts carefully thought out & prepared beautifully and also an evening dessert that was so enjoyable to eat on their deck. The views are beautiful and the lodge is really warm & cozy. We did come as strangers and left as friends! Can't wait to go back. =)

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center, but I had trouble with this web interface and it wanted me to check somet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We just completed our second visit to the Cedar Post Inn and loved the experience as much this time as we did last year........as did our friends who reserved the second upstairs room. A beautiful setting on 70 or so acres of hills, forests and streams and more patio flowers and hummingbirds than I have ever seen in one place. Sally and Kevin are kind, gentle people who know when to give you some space, but are more than willing to step-up and join the conversation when appropriate. We plan to return to the area next July and have already asked that they pencil us in for both rooms! Keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Both rooms are private and upstairs at opposite sides of the cabin. Both are good picks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We spent four splendid nights with Sally and Kevin in June. They are the most welcoming of hosts, attended to our every need and offered extraordinary generosity during our stay. Take a walk in the surrounding woodlands in the early morning and you will feel refreshed! Just be sure to make it back to the Cedar Post to catch Sally's home cooking while it's still hot!

Room Tip: Both rooms are attractive and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1346 Reed Creek Road, Bedford county, Big Island, VA 24526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Big Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Big Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A log home located on 65 acres at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mtns. (Blue Ridge Pkwy.) In Bedford County, VA. Hiking, Biking, Picnic table by Bold Creek (native trout), fishing, bird watching, relax on the deck. Full breakfast served each morning. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.